We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, friendly service, amazing view”

Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food
Ranked #4 of 362 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: STAY INFORMED WITH THE LATEST NEWS AND EVENT ALERTS, ON OUR FACEBOOK PAGE! Welcome ! Choosing THAVMA for a short getaway, or for your holiday, you will discover a fantastic destination of stunning natural beauty that combines all the elements that will fulfill your dreams. Maroulas, is one of the finest historical villages in the majestic prefecture of Rethymnon , where our place is located. Thavma, is characterized by its stunning views, offering visitors the unique opportunity to escape from their daily routine and experience happy moments with their family and their friends. Taste pure local treats, accompanied by home made Raki. Enjoy your coffee or drink and "feel" the relaxing peace that surrounds our place, silence which is occasionally interrupted by the singing of the birds. Taste our Cretan traditional home made food, accompanied by home made wine. In case you are charmed by all the mentioned above and want to stay, a wonderful apartment is at your disposal as you can see on our website ! Our place THAVMA is only 15 minutes away from Rethymnon on the way to Maroulas from the western side. You are more than welcome ! Maria Bounialetou
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, friendly service, amazing view”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We went to this restaurant with our 3'children on 2 occasions during our stay in Crete. The service was very friendly, the food was home cooked and beautiful. The children played and used the binoculars to look at the view.
We were staying within a 15 minute walk towards the bottom of the mountain so the owners kindly lent us a small lantern to get home.
Highly recommended great food and a very friendly service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 11christine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria-Bounialetou, Owner at Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello ! Thank you very much for your lovely review..it was a great honor for us to come twice to THAVMA with your lovely kids... we are so happy whenever we see children in our place! Hope to see you again this summer! Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    71
    26
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cesena, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing experience.”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I really did enjoy my time here, it was so beautiful and delicious, and everybody was so friendly. Recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria-Bounialetou, Owner at Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hello! Sorry for the delay to respond ... Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Be sure that whenever you come to THAVMA we'll do our best for you to have an enjoyable time! We hope to see you again in summer...Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“fantastic location. very friendly hosts”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Had a lovely visit up here. Quite a long trek to get there but well worth it if you have car. Very homely feel and food. Meatballs are very tasty. Highly recommended to anyone visiting the area and make sure you have a chat to the lovely owners.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Freespirits182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria-Bounialetou, Owner at Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hello ! How are you doing? What a lovely surprise to have this wonderful review in the middle of the winter! Thank you so much for this! You must have been here last summer... We are so glad that you 've had such a lovely time at THAVMA ! We hope to see you again next summer ( we reopen in spring). Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Breathtaking scenery... Best out of all in Rethymnon”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Absolutely stunning views, food and service! Family restaurant that offers you warm welcome and hospitality that cannot be found anywhere else! Food- to die for! Good portions for even better value, classic Cretan dishes, freshly made. The menu is relatively small but for what we know it only means that all dishes are freshly cooked every day as we visited more than once and found new dishes to choose from every time. We would recommend going there lunch time or late afternoon as catching sunset around 6pm is simply breathtaking!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank xFoodAndTravelLoverx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria-Bounialetou, Owner at Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review which is full of love! It's a great pleasure for us to hear that you 've had such a lovely time at THAVMA. We hope to see you next summer again... Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous View, heartwarming Hosts”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Adele, a small village near Maroulas and got a hint from our Hosts to eat at the "Thavma Taverna", which ist a little outside of the beautiful village of Maroulas, situated at the hilltop with a fabulous view over the coastline and Rethymno. Maria, the young owner of the tavern, welcomed us with a heartopening smile and the traditional cretan cuisine was fantastic. If you are visiting Crete and looking for an authentic place to eat don't miss it!!
André & Lena from Germany

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena160283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria-Bounialetou, Owner at Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello! Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! We are so glad that you 've had a lovely time at THAVMA. Hope to see you again next summer! Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food also viewed

Platanias, Rethymnon
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Thavma Coffee Drinks & Cretan food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing