We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Host Ever!”
Review of Hotel Byzantine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Byzantine
Ranked #47 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Rethymnon
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the Byzantine Hotel for 4 nights. Its an old Venetian mansion in the old city of Rethymnon. The rooms were quite big, very very clean and the bathroom was very spacious. From our rooms window we had a really beautiful view, as you could see an old minaret.

The gem of the hotel was Mr. Nikos of course! We went to the breakfast room and we were confused as we didn't see any breakfast! Suddenly, Mr Nikos comes in with a huge tray with fresh orange juice, hot homemade bread and cheese pies and coffee. The next day, he gave us strawberry jam, which he had made the previous afternoon by himself! He was such a wonderful host, we gave us the best advice and directions and he was always so helpful and willing to serve us! On the last day, he put light jazz music during breakfast, such a wonderful taste and ambience!

I would definetely go back to Byzantine! I highly recommend it, its an authentic example of the cretan hospitality!

Room Tip: the hotel doesnt have an elevator, it has a wooden staircase that goes up to the 2nd floor, but dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank effie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 54 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated at the entrance to the old town . Actually , we never felt that we were staying in a hotel , more in a friends house . The building and fittings are Venetian and very impressive with high timber ceilings .The owner is utterly charming and available to assist in any way required . It's not a large bustling hotel , rather a boutique one but without the feeling of preciousness often attaching to these kind of places . A nice bar and excellent breakfast are worth mentioning but the one thing that stays with you is the coolness and tranquility of the hotel after the heat and bustle of the town . Ten minutes walk from the bus station and no matter how lost we ever got we always found our way back relatively easily .We stayed there in September 2012 and booked again it May this year.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Travellingirish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

As first time travellers to Crete, the 6 of us (my wife and i with 2 adult sons and 2 girlfriends) stayed at the Byzantine for an unforgettable week in August, 2012. The hotel, all 9 rooms, gets 5 stars for character in my book. Nikos, the owner was the perfect host, recommending day trips and good restaurants. We had no idea what to expect when arriving in Rethymnon. The town and surrounding area (we rented a car for a couple of days) are great fun to explore. Lots of beautiful beaches, shopping and restaurants but the small town has not lost any of its wonderful Greek character. Walking around the narrow alleyways, streets, parks and beaches, we had great fun. All the small cafes and restaurants were all different and we never had a bad meal.

Looking back though it was the Byzantine and Nikos the owner that made the stay so special. If you want that personal attention and charm that you only get from the truly unique boutique hotels, make this your choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Rosalba F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jeanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank micheline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Elizmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#5 of 177 in Rethymnon
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
657 reviews
4.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pepi Boutique Hotel
Pepi Boutique Hotel
#4 of 177 in Rethymnon
629 reviews
2.5 mi away
Calergi Residence
Calergi Residence
#1 of 2 in Atsipopoulo
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 177 in Rethymnon
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Byzantine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Byzantine

Address: 26 Vosporou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Rethymnon
Price Range: $78 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Byzantine 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Byzantine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Byzantine Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing