We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a friendly hotel.”
Review of Astali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astali Hotel
Ranked #11 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Such a friendly hotel.”
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights. Very clean hotel. The owners & other guests were very friendly. Some of the guests have been coming to Crete, and this hotel, for many years and they were really helpful in advising us what to see & how to get there.
Breakfast was the usual continental with eggs, cheese, olives, jams, honey.
We did not find the the beds very comfortable but that could be a personal preference. The hotel is on a busy corner but the windows must be double glazed because the traffic did not disturb us at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margarite8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    62
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
43
260
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

My partner & I stayed at the Astali from 7th Oct to the 17th Oct, my comments on the hotel are not what you would normally expect from a review.The hotel itself is a small family run bed & breakfast establishment which is perfectly situated for a stroll to beach, marina or the old town. The rooms are all you need for your stay, comfortable beds, clean linen, towels changed on a daily basis and a small balcony. What is exceptional about this hotel is the family that run it,Chrisanthe and her two sons , Marios & Yiannis. On the second day of our holiday I had the misfortune of tearing the ligaments in my ankle and spent seven days with my leg in plaster.The family could not have been kinder, when we got back from the hospital Chrisanthe rushed out and got me a walking stick, this consideration continued throughout our stay, to further emphasise this point Marios took me to the hospital to have my plaster removed, went into the hospital with us and made sure we were in the right department with the correct paper work before he left. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone, not only because of the building or it's facilities or it's location but for the people that run it, they are the hotel. Testament to this is the number of people we met during our stay who had been coming back year after year.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KevinPanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

i have made many visits to the Astali over at least 20 years together with my late husband,my daughter and grandson and lately with my sister,this should speak for Itself.We are greeted like family on each return.Practically,the hotel is perfectly placed and is spotlessly clean,although there is no pool the beach is at the bottom of the street.There are restaurants and cafes in abundance to suit every price and taste within 5 to 30 minutes walk.The real attraction though is the fact that the hotel is still family run and that they care about their guests.By the way,each room has a fridge and a good hairdryer !

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MAZZA1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Have just returned from two weeks at the Astali - would recommend it to anybody, it is spotlessly clean, exceptionally friendly and very close to a nice sandy beach and the shops and restaurants of the resort. The owner Chrysthanie makes everybody very welcome and cannot do enough for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pathugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The rooms in this hotel are very clean and nice. Clean towels, clean sheets. The breakfast is good organized. The location could not be better! Close to everything, the beach and the centre of Rethymnon. Family Kyrimakis that's running this hotel, will make sure you will have you need. When you need something, just asked it. They make you feel at home on your Holiday! The're naturall friendly people. I certainly will go back to this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hendriks2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We have stayed at the Astali several times now, and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Rethymno. The family are unbelievably friendly and helpful. The provision of free wi-fi access is a bonus, particularly after being expected to pay 15 euro a day in a 5-star hotel in Italy..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cm324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

The Astali hotel is a small freindly hotel. The staff are always very welcoming and help where every possbile. Ther knowledge or the area and of the island is good. The room is a good size and cleaned daily. It is within walking distance of the beach - literally just down the road, and is between the beach front and the old town. Both areas are within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BMaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 175 in Rethymnon
1,091 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 175 in Rethymnon
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Minos Hotel
Minos Hotel
#20 of 175 in Rethymnon
361 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astali Hotel

Property: Astali Hotel
Address: 1 Papandreou Georgiou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Astali Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astali Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing