We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (437)
Filter reviews
437 results
Traveler rating
337
70
19
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
70
19
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family run hotel busy junction old town free air con small and friendly hotel year after year hotel is spotlessly clean rooms are small greek yogurt lovely family run two weeks boiled eggs family owners long sandy beach within easy walking distance watching the world fantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 437 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Just come back from a week's stay at this hotel and can only recommend it. It was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was good with fresh bread every day, juice, cereal, eggs, cheese, jams. All members of staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much bother for any of them. The hotel was also in a very good location, just down the road to the beach and within walking distance to the old town and bus station. All in all a great place to stay and would return.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seleus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Great location for what was needed from holiday. Could not fault hotel - room lovely; so clean. No shortage of towels or attention re-room. Breakfast area spotless - so pleasant. Met nice people staying at hotel. Last but not least, the staff were wonderful. So friendly and welcoming; they made our holiday special. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timetaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We have stayed at Porto Rethymno 5 times now but got fed up with the prices and also the service (don't drink in the bar - the barman will rip you off (after buying? you raki), also reception could never process my card at the end of our stay and twice I was charged double on my credit card. Also rip off in the restaurant with the wine. Could give more negatives but won't). Love Rethymnon and have made friends there (especially Birais Bar - Vlad & Costas) so booked at Astali. We had a wonderfull time, and will never go back to Porio Rethymno. I would totally recommend Astali for friendliness and comfort and would not hesitate to go back. The beach is the same beach but you just need to get your own brolly and mats.

Date of stay: September 2009
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank LilyBBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Well established family run hotel been here for over 40 years. Good sized rooms, very clean, we stayed in a double that had an extra bed for teenage son - it was a little cramped but fine for the week. We had a 1st floor room with a balcony. Breakfast was bread, cheese, eggs, cereal etc, standard cold buffet. We didn't find it too noisy at all although it is in the centre of town and there is traffic at the usual times. 5 minute walk to the beach and harbour, 10-15 minute walk to the old town and the majority of the restaurants. Pleasant seating areas indoors and out, good well stocked bar, 24 hour staff (several family generations!) always ready to help with anything. Fantastic raki from the owners estate is available to purchase! All in all we had a good stay here but I wouldn't choose the hotel for a main holiday.

Date of stay: August 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jakkisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Before you book, remember you are booking a 2* hotel situated on a busy junction.

However, the hotel is in an ideal position for those travellers wishing to explore the Old Town and is only 100 metres from the beach.

Any traffic noise is negated by closing your balcony doors and switching on your air-conditioning - if too hot.

The rooms are spotless and cleaned everyday, together with change of towels, if required. The downstairs/bar/restaurant areas are also spotless and reception is open 24 hours. Breakfast is the same everyday but the bread, yoghurt and jams are delicious - however, the fruit juice appears to be powdered.

The owners and their 2 sons cannot do enough to make your stay a pleasant one and are always willing to give advice and directions.

When travelling to Greece and its' Islands, we normally stay in 4* hotels but, when next in rethymnon, we will book the Astali.

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cliveNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews