We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astali Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ionia Suites(Rethymnon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cosmos Hotel(Rethymnon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Achillion Palace(Rethymnon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bio Suites Hotel(Rethymnon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveler rating
308
67
18
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
67
18
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily run hotelold townbusy junctionfree air conyear after yearsmall and friendly hotelhotel is spotlessly cleantwo weeksrooms are smalllovely family runlong sandy beachwithin easy walking distancegreat positionwatch the worldfantastic hotelsea frontcleaning staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
284 - 289 of 404 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Just come back from a week's stay at this hotel and can only recommend it. It was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was good with fresh bread every day, juice, cereal, eggs, cheese, jams. All members of staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much bother for any of them. The hotel was also in a very good location, just down the road to the beach and within walking distance to the old town and bus station. All in all a great place to stay and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seleus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Great location for what was needed from holiday. Could not fault hotel - room lovely; so clean. No shortage of towels or attention re-room. Breakfast area spotless - so pleasant. Met nice people staying at hotel. Last but not least, the staff were wonderful. So friendly and welcoming; they made our holiday special. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timetaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We have stayed at Porto Rethymno 5 times now but got fed up with the prices and also the service (don't drink in the bar - the barman will rip you off (after buying? you raki), also reception could never process my card at the end of our stay and twice I was charged double on my credit card. Also rip off in the restaurant with the wine. Could give more negatives but won't). Love Rethymnon and have made friends there (especially Birais Bar - Vlad & Costas) so booked at Astali. We had a wonderfull time, and will never go back to Porio Rethymno. I would totally recommend Astali for friendliness and comfort and would not hesitate to go back. The beach is the same beach but you just need to get your own brolly and mats.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LilyBBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Well established family run hotel been here for over 40 years. Good sized rooms, very clean, we stayed in a double that had an extra bed for teenage son - it was a little cramped but fine for the week. We had a 1st floor room with a balcony. Breakfast was bread, cheese, eggs, cereal etc, standard cold buffet. We didn't find it too noisy at all although it is in the centre of town and there is traffic at the usual times. 5 minute walk to the beach and harbour, 10-15 minute walk to the old town and the majority of the restaurants. Pleasant seating areas indoors and out, good well stocked bar, 24 hour staff (several family generations!) always ready to help with anything. Fantastic raki from the owners estate is available to purchase! All in all we had a good stay here but I wouldn't choose the hotel for a main holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jakkisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Before you book, remember you are booking a 2* hotel situated on a busy junction.

However, the hotel is in an ideal position for those travellers wishing to explore the Old Town and is only 100 metres from the beach.

Any traffic noise is negated by closing your balcony doors and switching on your air-conditioning - if too hot.

The rooms are spotless and cleaned everyday, together with change of towels, if required. The downstairs/bar/restaurant areas are also spotless and reception is open 24 hours. Breakfast is the same everyday but the bread, yoghurt and jams are delicious - however, the fruit juice appears to be powdered.

The owners and their 2 sons cannot do enough to make your stay a pleasant one and are always willing to give advice and directions.

When travelling to Greece and its' Islands, we normally stay in 4* hotels but, when next in rethymnon, we will book the Astali.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cliveNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews