We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astali”
Review of Astali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astali Hotel
Ranked #7 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Astali”
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We have stayed at Porto Rethymno 5 times now but got fed up with the prices and also the service (don't drink in the bar - the barman will rip you off (after buying? you raki), also reception could never process my card at the end of our stay and twice I was charged double on my credit card. Also rip off in the restaurant with the wine. Could give more negatives but won't). Love Rethymnon and have made friends there (especially Birais Bar - Vlad & Costas) so booked at Astali. We had a wonderfull time, and will never go back to Porio Rethymno. I would totally recommend Astali for friendliness and comfort and would not hesitate to go back. The beach is the same beach but you just need to get your own brolly and mats.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LilyBBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    61
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
251
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Well established family run hotel been here for over 40 years. Good sized rooms, very clean, we stayed in a double that had an extra bed for teenage son - it was a little cramped but fine for the week. We had a 1st floor room with a balcony. Breakfast was bread, cheese, eggs, cereal etc, standard cold buffet. We didn't find it too noisy at all although it is in the centre of town and there is traffic at the usual times. 5 minute walk to the beach and harbour, 10-15 minute walk to the old town and the majority of the restaurants. Pleasant seating areas indoors and out, good well stocked bar, 24 hour staff (several family generations!) always ready to help with anything. Fantastic raki from the owners estate is available to purchase! All in all we had a good stay here but I wouldn't choose the hotel for a main holiday.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jakkisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Before you book, remember you are booking a 2* hotel situated on a busy junction.

However, the hotel is in an ideal position for those travellers wishing to explore the Old Town and is only 100 metres from the beach.

Any traffic noise is negated by closing your balcony doors and switching on your air-conditioning - if too hot.

The rooms are spotless and cleaned everyday, together with change of towels, if required. The downstairs/bar/restaurant areas are also spotless and reception is open 24 hours. Breakfast is the same everyday but the bread, yoghurt and jams are delicious - however, the fruit juice appears to be powdered.

The owners and their 2 sons cannot do enough to make your stay a pleasant one and are always willing to give advice and directions.

When travelling to Greece and its' Islands, we normally stay in 4* hotels but, when next in rethymnon, we will book the Astali.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cliveNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

I can not say enough about how helpful Marios and his family were. We had a terrible mishap in Crete -- my 80 year old mother broke her wrist. We needed assistance daily. Whether it was finding a doctor, borrowing plates for a picnic on the balcony, or a recommendation for a nice drive that wouldn't be too taxing on our frazzled nerves, we were always taken care of. They were very accommodating, giving us rooms to suit our needs (including a spacious balcony where my mother could relax) and were able to extend our stay without any problems. The rooms were very tidy. The breakfast was good. The location was perfect for us -- just a block from the beach and the promenade. But the best thing about this place is the family who runs it. When you find yourself in a tough situation in a foreign place, you need kindness more than anything else. That was the most remarkable thing we found staying at the Astali -- true kindness.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pensuesil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gelderland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed in Astali on the last week of August and the first week of September, and really enjoyed every moment both in hotel and in Rethymno.
First we got a room facing the street and replaced it with the one facing back yard, quiet and with *free grape threes in front of the terrace. I used to travel a lot, staying in all kind of hotels and I don't like hotels in general, but the atmosphere in Astali is really pleasant. Owners are nice and with the great sense for guests. Rethymno is a prefect mixture of a beautiful town, the old town and a long sandy beach, where you can chose to be either lazy or being very active, but never bored. Crete in general is a prefect holiday destination. Zoran&Vida

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myNotRealScreenName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

we have just got back from a 2week stay at the astali hotel and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the family who own it were amazing.the hotel itself is very clean and tidy.you have your room cleaned every day and the maid puts your nightwear on the bed in the shape of a bow very nice,the family who own the hotel are amazing very friendly and make your stay much more enjoyable,by the time you leave they are like your friends.the breakfast in the hotel is really nice as well and you can have as much as you like.
the hotel itself is about a 2minute walk from the beach and 10mins from all the shops and restaurants. one restaurant that i must mention is the agrimi in the old town(but not the harbour part) we went there 4 times as the food is amazing and the staff are really nice.another place we went to is georges crazy golf real fun and fills a morning in.
i would definately reccomend the astali hotel as is it small and friendly and close to every thing and you cant meet a nicer family we will definately be going back again fantastic thanks to marios,yiannis and their mother xxxx

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilywayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Been back a month now and still can't stop talking about our fab holiday.Went with young daughter leaving son and other half behind(due to school exams).Bit nervous as this was our first time abroad by ourselves but those worries disappeared the second we arrived at hotel.Welcome fantastic-room more than spacious and breakfasts exactly what you want when it is so hot(don't know what some people are complaining about!!).
Rethymnon itself is beautiful.
What made the holiday for us was the lovely,friendly family who run the hotel.
See you all next year with the whole family.
Love Claire and Lydia xx

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank girls0nly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.2 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 165 in Rethymnon
1,043 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
592 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 165 in Rethymnon
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 165 in Rethymnon
546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 165 in Rethymnon
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astali Hotel

Property: Astali Hotel
Address: 1 Papandreou Georgiou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Astali Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Astali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astali Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing