We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astali Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Pepi Boutique Hotel(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$406
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Aquila Porto Rethymno(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$351
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$162
$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Leoniki Residence(Platanias)(Great Value!)
$56
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveler rating
309
67
18
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
67
18
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily run hotelold townbusy junctionfree air conyear after yearsmall and friendly hotelhotel is spotlessly cleantwo weeksrooms are smalllovely family runlong sandy beachwithin easy walking distancegreat positionwatch the worldfantastic hotelsea frontcleaning staff
Filter
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 405 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2009

I can not say enough about how helpful Marios and his family were. We had a terrible mishap in Crete -- my 80 year old mother broke her wrist. We needed assistance daily. Whether it was finding a doctor, borrowing plates for a picnic on the balcony, or a recommendation for a nice drive that wouldn't be too taxing on our frazzled nerves, we were always taken care of. They were very accommodating, giving us rooms to suit our needs (including a spacious balcony where my mother could relax) and were able to extend our stay without any problems. The rooms were very tidy. The breakfast was good. The location was perfect for us -- just a block from the beach and the promenade. But the best thing about this place is the family who runs it. When you find yourself in a tough situation in a foreign place, you need kindness more than anything else. That was the most remarkable thing we found staying at the Astali -- true kindness.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pensuesil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed in Astali on the last week of August and the first week of September, and really enjoyed every moment both in hotel and in Rethymno.
First we got a room facing the street and replaced it with the one facing back yard, quiet and with *free grape threes in front of the terrace. I used to travel a lot, staying in all kind of hotels and I don't like hotels in general, but the atmosphere in Astali is really pleasant. Owners are nice and with the great sense for guests. Rethymno is a prefect mixture of a beautiful town, the old town and a long sandy beach, where you can chose to be either lazy or being very active, but never bored. Crete in general is a prefect holiday destination. Zoran&Vida

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myNotRealScreenName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

we have just got back from a 2week stay at the astali hotel and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the family who own it were amazing.the hotel itself is very clean and tidy.you have your room cleaned every day and the maid puts your nightwear on the bed in the shape of a bow very nice,the family who own the hotel are amazing very friendly and make your stay much more enjoyable,by the time you leave they are like your friends.the breakfast in the hotel is really nice as well and you can have as much as you like.
the hotel itself is about a 2minute walk from the beach and 10mins from all the shops and restaurants. one restaurant that i must mention is the agrimi in the old town(but not the harbour part) we went there 4 times as the food is amazing and the staff are really nice.another place we went to is georges crazy golf real fun and fills a morning in.
i would definately reccomend the astali hotel as is it small and friendly and close to every thing and you cant meet a nicer family we will definately be going back again fantastic thanks to marios,yiannis and their mother xxxx

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lilywayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

Been back a month now and still can't stop talking about our fab holiday.Went with young daughter leaving son and other half behind(due to school exams).Bit nervous as this was our first time abroad by ourselves but those worries disappeared the second we arrived at hotel.Welcome fantastic-room more than spacious and breakfasts exactly what you want when it is so hot(don't know what some people are complaining about!!).
Rethymnon itself is beautiful.
What made the holiday for us was the lovely,friendly family who run the hotel.
See you all next year with the whole family.
Love Claire and Lydia xx

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank girls0nly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Our first impression was that the hotel was small and this was confirmed when we saw the size of our room. However once we had settled in the room size wasn't ever na issue for us. There was enough space for everything. We had a rear facing room and so didn't have the traffic noise issue others have mensioned. In fact it was quiet. The hotel is spotlessly clean. Some parts look a little dated but that's only something that is noticed when first seen. The TV in the room provided a few english channels. The small fridge was adequate to keep cold drinks and some snack food. The aircon was a blessing for the first few days while we acclimatised to the heat. The showers provided hot water at a good flowrate for a decent shower. As other people have said the buffet breakfast was the same every day but the selection was enough to have a variety of breakfasts over the week. The best part about the hotel was the family that ran it who couldn't have been more helpful. All together if ur looking for a 2* you wont find better than this.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlackbirdBlackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews