We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
336
70
19
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
70
19
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family run hotel busy junction old town year after year free air con small and friendly hotel hotel is spotlessly clean two weeks greek yogurt rooms are small lovely family run boiled eggs watching the world within easy walking distance fantastic hotel sea front long sandy beach
Filter
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 436 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2008

great location.very clean and tidy.breakfast ok but same every day,no varation no good for children. same people go every year,cant see why!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank chancerjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

The Astali in Rethymnon is ideally situated for the beach and
old town restauarants.
The owners are helpful and friendly and make the stay a real pleasure.
Rooms are neat and clean and well serviced.
We are going on our third visit in September, and we seldom go anywhere twice [too much of the world to see!]
There is also a cake shop/cafe to die for 50 kilometres away.

Derek and Janis Novell

2  Thank delios_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We had read many reviews of this hotel before we booked and were certainly not disappointed whan we arrived and got to our room. The family who run the Astali are most friendly, welcoming and helpful. The hotel is spotlessly clean and well maintained throughout. Our room had an excellent, modern air conditioning unit which came in very useful from time to time. A small fridge was also provided which kept water and beers cool. Breakfast is plentiful if somewhat repetitive and a little occasional variety would not come amiss.
The hotel is located on the corner of two roads, both of which are quite busy so there is some traffic noise; however the double glazing was most efficient at shutting out noise, if you are happy to have your balcony doors closed. A room safe (rent the key) is provided.
The hotel is a few minutes walk from a good beach and ten minutes or so to the old town with its many shops, tavernas and restaurants. We found several good places to eat, and you don't have to spend a fortune. Incidentally, many restaurants have a 'greeter' stationed outside to lure you in, but they are generally pleasant and not over-zealous and can easily be shaken off, if appropriate!
Hotel and resort thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BennJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

The hotel is located 100m from the beach, and 150m from the old city, the area is quite.
We stayed on a 3rd floor back room, that had a nice balcony, with vines all over.
Next building has a nice traditional restaurant (Maria's home cooking).

The only 'problem' is that the shower is a bit small, but that is really nothing.

A nice tip - you can take a taxi to Arkalion bus station (10 Euros), and then take the bus (once a hour) to Rethymnon bus station, 6 Euros per person, taking an hour to get there.
From there 5 Euros taxi to the hotel.
This is intead of a 65 Euro taxi from Arkalion to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2007

we've been staying at this hotel since 1992 and it only gets better. it's a family run hotel which makes guests feel like family. the rooms are spotlessly clean, and include a fridge , air conditioning and double glazing. it is only a couple of minutes to the beach and all the shops and tavernas. we wouldn't stay anywhere else and most of the guests are ones that return year after year

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank milliemolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews