We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable family run hotel”
Review of Astali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astali Hotel
Ranked #11 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable family run hotel”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed at end of October, so only a few other guests as end of main holiday season. What really made our stay enjoyable was the warm welcome and lots of information provided by the family who run the hotel. We will definitely stay again if we return to Rethymnon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kiddynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    62
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
43
260
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have just returned from Rethymnon having stayed in the Astali hotel. The weather was kind to us - temperatures around 24 degrees - very pleasant for us. What was equally important was the comfort, cleanliness and friendliness in the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and high standards are very important to the family to ensure that guests enjoy their holiday. The breakfast was buffet style providing a good selection and which we were able to enjoy at a leisurely pace. Holiday advice on local services, interests and places to eat was all happily given. We ate well at breakfast, explored or sunbathed during the day, selected an evening meal at one on the numerous eateries and returned to a good nights sleep in a comfy bed. The hotel is as described: Small & Friendly but we have to add: superbly well run. We hope to be able to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Astali Hotel in Rethymnon. The hotel has every facility except a pool. It has free air conditioning, flat screen TV with Sky New channel, safety deposit box, hairdryer, free fridge and a very powerful shower with plenty of hot water. Hotel is spotless, staff very friendly and helpful and is within walking distance of all the delights of the town. Would definitely recommend and will revisit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hall, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

i have stayed here many times the hotel is spotlessly clean and has a fabulous location for the beach harbour and old town. The rooms are adequate with air conditioning fridge and balcony. breakfast buffet style eat as much as you want which includes eggs meat cheese bread yogurt fruit and home made jams. When the sun is shining and Greek music played in the backgroundi it is a perfect start to the day. I highly recommend this hotel. It is family run and you could not meet a nicer family. For the 2 weeks I was there I felt as if I was part of th family. I also have to mention many restaurants you are spoilt for choice will definitely go back

Room Tip: the rooms at the back are quiet, as the front is on a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

For us, this was an ideal holiday. The hotel has a good atmorphere and the people running the place are very friendly and helpful. We felt at home and will certainly come back!
Anne and Marcel van Heijzen

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just back from a week in the hotel and cannot speak to highly of our experience. We arrived in the small hours and were greeted in a very fiendly manner with "I that you have had a long journey go up to your room and come and have a drink". We all did that and bonded as a group for the week. The rooms were very clean and tidy. The air conditioning worked efficiently and quietly. And there was a fridge. The bar, terrace, lounge and breakfast areas were welcomimg and comortable and many of the guests got together there to talk about their day creating a great atmosphere. The family that run the hotel could not have been better on our last night we were all treated to a Cretan delicacy which they had specially prepared and they made a point of being there to see us off when we departed. The lift was however very small so we elected not to use it other than on arrival and departure. The only other slight niggle is that at breakfast there was no meat of any description available. Hiowever as we ate well at other meals throughout our holiday this was not a big problem. If you want to stay near the old town and the beach it is well worth considering.

It is however sited at a bust crossroad so at certain times of the day there is a lot of traffic noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Resp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We first visited the Astali in Sept 2011 and had a great holiday, due to the excellent location and friendly, hardworking family running the hotel. Just had another great holiday for exactly the same reasons. Met several guests at the hotel, who had returned to the Astali time and time again. Even though it was two years since our first visit, Chrisanthi recognised us as having previously stopped at their hotel.

The friendly cleaning staff make up the rooms every day and always greet guests with a "kalimera" each morning. Sheets and towels are changed daily and the rooms are spotless.

We stayed for two weeks and had a good sized room, with a balcony overlooking the main road and internet cafe. It was very entertaining people watching and counting the tourist hire cars heading the wrong way up the one way street. The rooms have safes, but we found everyone so honest that we didn't feel the need to use them. Cars are often left with keys in the ignition, with engines running whilst owners go shopping.

All rooms have complimentary fridges and airconditioning. There is wifi and flat screen tvs, if you want to keep up with world affairs. There is adequate hanging space in the wardrobe. The double glazed balcony doors are very effective at cutting out the traffic noise, enabling us to have a sound night's sleep. The rooms are well maintained, without the dodgy wiring which is familar in many Greek hotels

The Astali is manned 24 hours a day, ready to attend to your needs.

Even though it is the second time we have visited Rethymnon, we still got lost in the myriad of streets within the old town, stumbling across tavernas we had not discovered before. Away from the harbour, the prices for food and drink are reasonable and had not changed in the last two years.

For those anxious about driving abroad there is no need to hire a car. There is sufficient to explore within Rethymnon and a good beach just down the road. There are plenty of trips to places like Chania, local villages, walks in gorges and a good bus service, with a stop just outside the Astali.

Without reservation, we would recommend staying at the Astali.

We hope to return again

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the Astali tend to be larger, but you will need to close the double glazed win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MercAlmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 175 in Rethymnon
1,091 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 175 in Rethymnon
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
549 reviews
0.5 mi away
Minos Hotel
Minos Hotel
#20 of 175 in Rethymnon
361 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astali Hotel

Property: Astali Hotel
Address: 1 Papandreou Georgiou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Astali Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astali Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing