We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and very friendly”
Review of Astali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Astali Hotel
Ranked #10 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just returned from 10 day stay at the Astali , late deal through Thomsons and proved to be a great choice. We have holidayed around the Greek Isles several times, usually self catering so know to expect that accommodation can be small and basic, beds generally hard, showers very small! The Astali is good 2 star family owned accommodation, the welcome was warm and friendly, and everyone we met on the team was extremely helpful. Our first visit to Crete and Rethymnon, and location of the hotel was good for us, handy for beach, old town and bus station. We had a front room so had traffic noise but as said by others, double glazing and air con helped, and we did not have any disturbed nights. Our room was small and comfortable enough for our ten days, and kept spotlessly clean throughout. Breakfast choices suited us- not regular cooked breakfast eaters. Only small criticism I would make is regular serving of canned peaches in syrup - it is not difficult to make a fresh fruit salad with healthy syrup........ But a very minor point.....
Rethymnon old town offers some historical interest, nice atmosphere, and plenty of places to eat. Harbour front restaurants more obvious and more pushy, but also plenty of places to eat along the beach front going right from the hotel.
The long, long beach is two minutes from the hotel, sandy , clean and safe swimming. Beach volleyball matches also kept us entertained daily, teams playing late afternoon onwards.
On previous Greek isle trips we have usually hired a car, this time we travelled by bus to sight see. The bus station is about 15 minutes walk away, Marios gave us a timetable and once we had this sussed we ventured to Chania, Hereklion, and Knossos, have to say better public transport experiences than at home!
Although we like to try new places when we travel we would consider a return to the Astali if we ever wanted a short foreign break in familiar surroundings! The warm and friendly welcome makes the difference!

Room Tip: If easily disturbed request a room at back of hotel. We had twin room on first floor at front, ample...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosep132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 399 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

We returned last Sunday from a two week stay at the Hotel Astalis & to put it into three words:-
WHAT A FIND!!!
5 Star hospitality service ***** from our hosts namely Christanthi & her Sons Marios & Yannis. All of whom were really lovely, so very friendly & helpful in fact nothing was too much trouble for them.

Our air-conditioned bedroom was situated at the front of the hotel & it was always kept to a high standard by the lovely “smiley” cleaner. Sheets & towels were changed on a very regular basis. Fridges are supplied at no extra cost. The well fitted balcony doors cut out all traffic noise, hence ensuring that we always had a peaceful nights’ sleep.

The Hotel Astalis is an ideal place for couples to stay.

It is situated approximately a five minute walk to a wonderful long beach. The centre of the Old Town is a fifteen minute stroll away.

The majority of Astalis’ clients are “Repeaters”. Most evenings the courtyard at the front of the Astali comes alive with holidaymakers meeting up for drinks after their evening dinner.
A lovely added touch is when Christanthi serves her homemade cakes and sweets. A special
mention must also be given to her homemade lemonade! Mmmmmmm - I could just drink a glass of it now.

Most of all our hosts gave us the kind of personal service we will never forget. In fact I cannot speak highly enough of all the staff!!!
We have stayed at higher graded hotels & the Astali tops the majority of them in respect of friendliness.
As previously advised, nothing is too much trouble for them they are extremely obliging.
One of the few places we have visited that was exactly as described

It is most definitely a place we want to return to.

The only downside is that it is not ideal for wheelchair users.

Special love to the Kyrimakis family
.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Jays200810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just arrived back from Rethymnon staying at the Astali Hotel for two weeks.
This holiday goes down as one of the best not only did the resort offer all that we needed but
the hotel was great we cannot praise the family, Christanthi,Marios and Yanis too highly.
From the moment we arrived to the very last moment of departure they made us welcome.
The hotel is immaculate, the rooms have all the amenities you need including a 'free' fridge.
Could not fault the breakfast, sometimes a break from the 'Full English ' is a welcome change.
What no Pool!!!!! A five minute walk and you have the biggest swimming-pool going.
Thomson classes the Astali as 'Small and Friendly' we suggest 'Small and very very Friendly'

Ann & Phil

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnandPhil3055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is close to the center (10 min walk) and close to the sea (although I do not know how the beach is).
The room was quite comfortable, not great, but with a nice little balcony overlooking the garden.
The breakfast was quite extensive and good.
In front of the hotel there is a nice veranda where you can rest.
I recommend it especially for families or people looking for a quiet place without leaving the city.
some parking problems.
Overall, I suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerio_ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Another wonderful holiday at the Astali. This is a family run hotel in easy walking distance of beach, medieval town and many restaurants.Air conditioning and fridge in the room are free of charge. The breakfast is buffet style, no hot food but plenty of variety. The family work very hard to provide everything their guests need. We shall go again soon.

Room Tip: We always have a room at the front, which can mean traffic noise, but when the double glazed windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary2683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Arrived home yesterday after 2 weeks at the Astali Hotel. This is the first time we have booked a hotel without a swimming pool but we did not miss it one bit. The family work so hard to ensure their guests are happy and the hotel is extremely well run and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. We had an early pick up for a trip and merely enquired if cereal could be ready for us but when we came down the full breakfast was available for us. There was always a nice chat on our way in or out and we learnt a few words of Greek and offered a few words of Welsh in return. The position of this hotel is ideal for The Old Town, beach or harbour. We had a comfortable room and once the balcony doors were closed we heard no traffic noise. We had a wonderful holiday and will return. This holiday is probably the best value we have had anywhere in Greece and we wish them a successful season. From room 206 - 6-20th June 2013.xx

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank she19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday at the Astali Hotel. It was recommended by some friends of ours and certainly lived up to our expectations. It is superbly run by Christanthi and her sons Marios and Yanni, who cannot do enough for you. The rooms are spotlessly clean, as is the whole hotel, and the towels are changed daily, also the bedding is changed every other day. The breakfast has a good selection. There is a nice seating area outside if you want a drink when you return in the evening, or at any time. It is in a good location for the beach and for many restaurants. We will definately use the hotel again if we visit Crete.

Room Tip: We had room 302 at the front, but when the balcony doors were closed we had no problem sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#8 of 175 in Rethymnon
1,198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Achillion Palace
Achillion Palace
#40 of 175 in Rethymnon
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 175 in Rethymnon
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astali Hotel

Address: 1 Papandreou Georgiou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#12 Best Value Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $56 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Astali Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astali Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing