We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Astali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astali Hotel
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Astali in room 305. This was our first visit. This is an excellent 3* family owned hotel. You get an excellent greek style buffet breakfast, but don't expect an "English fry-up". The couple in the next room to us were on their 21st visit which says a lot. The owner and her family were very welcoming and the rooms were spotlessly clean. The bathroom was a little small but we managed. The hotel is in a good situation for visiting the Old Town, 5 minutes from the beach and very handy for the open top red bus tour (90 minutes and very good). We also went on 2 trips on the yellow road train which were very interesting. Lots of good places to eat close to the hotel. If you like a damn good ice cream try a place called "Muai" next to "chocolat". When you leave the hotel turn right down to the sea front, then turn left .It is a few yards further along on the left hand side. Ther are many places to book up day trips and the prices were much lower than those quoted by our tour operator.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staffsgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    61
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
42
259
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Just back from another great holiday. Thanks again for a great time food and hospitality first rate very friendly family run hotel would definately recommend it for a relaxing and friendly stay as always we will definately be back soon John & Barbara


  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojonat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We recently spent a week at this hotel which could only be described as excellent. The family running the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. It is well positioned for both the beach and the old town . We took 2 trips . First to Knossos - 32euro which I would recommend since to do it yourself would cost about 25 euro and you would need a guide to give you information - our guide was first rate. The second trip was to Matalla - also 32 euro which was to the south of the island. We also caught the bus to Chania 6.20 Euro each way which was also well worth doing. We ate several times in the old port and found that the meals and drinks were no more than in the town but the setting is perfect.
One final thing about the hotel - there were several different couples who had stayed there year after year which should in itself be a good recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2013

good location,,,, very clean ..everybody cant do enough for you ... breakfast excellent good greece healthy but dont expect english breakie ie bacon and eggs ,,, but if your looking to try different it ticks all the boxes .... i couldnt really find any thing to say bad about this hotel ... If your looking for quite lovely family run home from home this is the one for you ....... made our stay all the more pleasant ,,,, excellent value for money ,,,,

Room Tip: we had three rooms for the six of us and they were all good ,,,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Visited summer 2012, I don't very often write reviews as so much depends on individual expectations, however I chose this hotel based on the extremely good reviews so have been prompted to re-dress the balance a little.

Yes it is reasonable clean, however that should be a given. I found housekeeping and linen change tailed off the 2nd week, however they are good at re-folding the sheets so they look as if they are fresh ones! On that note, the only hotel I have ever stayed in where one is expected to make the bed every day. Just a top sheet provided which was way too small for the double bed, on request a dingy green blanket was brought out of the top cupboard. A bedspread would have made a huge difference to the look of the room.

Room very, very small, as was bathroom, lost count of how many times I stubbed my toes, and I am very petite, room totally inadequate for anything more than an overnight stay, you could do nothing in the room but sit on the bed.

Hotel owner is certainly bustling about all day, and quite obviously does not welcome guests spending time in the hotel during the day. With temperatures in the high 40's I found late afternoons/early evenings a difficult time to fill, being unable to relax in the room or the "lounge" where AC was usually turned off. Bar understocked and pricey, breakfast very poor.

All in all - very small clean rooms OK for a max 2-3 days, nowhere near good enough for a 2 week holiday. Good location, but this is a B&B, not a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scoobydoNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Hotel good location it was clean but breakfast was very poor not that friendly never judge a book by its cover as read on trip adviser great reviews 2star over rated glad to be back home reasons no greek music or atmosphere even sitting at the bar drinks over p. d noisy if u did not have the great location u would be heading for Heraklion m

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Astali is a likeable small clean family run hotel. Location is excellent for the beach and for the town. The woman who owns the hotel is very pleasant and friendly and works hard, always buzzing around. My room was far better than most I have had to put up with as a single traveller- lots of space and a large double bed. Standards of cleanliness are very good. I personally cannot really understand why anybody of sound mind would knock this hotel. For the money I paid ( on a package holiday) I was not expecting The Ritz.. The ambience is pleasant.

On the downside, breakfasts were basic and rooms at the front of the hotel appear to be noisy as it is on a main road junction with a busy sideroad. Fortunately I was given the choice of two rooms and I chose a room at the back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter. None of them will have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madcardisease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.2 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 175 in Rethymnon
1,072 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
607 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 175 in Rethymnon
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#3 of 175 in Rethymnon
543 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#4 of 175 in Rethymnon
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astali Hotel

Property: Astali Hotel
Address: 1 Papandreou Georgiou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Astali Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astali Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing