We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crete has lost its magic” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Astali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Astali Hotel
Ranked #7 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crete has lost its magic”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Hotel good location it was clean but breakfast was very poor not that friendly never judge a book by its cover as read on trip adviser great reviews 2star over rated glad to be back home reasons no greek music or atmosphere even sitting at the bar drinks over p. d noisy if u did not have the great location u would be heading for Heraklion m

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    58
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
41
240
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Astali is a likeable small clean family run hotel. Location is excellent for the beach and for the town. The woman who owns the hotel is very pleasant and friendly and works hard, always buzzing around. My room was far better than most I have had to put up with as a single traveller- lots of space and a large double bed. Standards of cleanliness are very good. I personally cannot really understand why anybody of sound mind would knock this hotel. For the money I paid ( on a package holiday) I was not expecting The Ritz.. The ambience is pleasant.

On the downside, breakfasts were basic and rooms at the front of the hotel appear to be noisy as it is on a main road junction with a busy sideroad. Fortunately I was given the choice of two rooms and I chose a room at the back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quieter. None of them will have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madcardisease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Astali, our first visit to Crete. The hotel is simple, very clean, good breakfast of local food. It is excellently located, near the sea, a few minutes' walk from the fascinating Old Town, and near a very long promenade (plenty of seats!) by a lovely beach. But the best thing by far was the kindness and helpfulness of the family who own the hotel, creating a welcoming and 'home from home' atmosphere (never intrusive). Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. We had asked for a third floor room, which we were given, but found it a bit noisy, and were changed without fuss to a pleasant, albeit on the small side, room at the back, where we slept almost better than at home. Plenty of restaurants nearby - try 'Maria's' for genuine, good and simple food (an invitation to the cooking pots to decide on what we would like - and we speak no Greek). Bus to the other side of town, where the inter-town bus station is, stops right outside the hotel. We have brought back some lovely olive oil produced by the family, which will keep our very happy memories topped up until our next visit, hopefully next autumn.

Room Tip: Rooms seem all to be similar, smallish, size. Rooms at front maybe more interesting, with views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryctomj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Two star is what it is , but breakfast is only one star , always the same every day . Bar prices were steep . But was a clean comfortable hotel . Would I stay here again ? Sorry no ! .......... .......

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Astali is a small family run hotel within easy walking distance of the beach and the old town, with its numerous restaurants.We have stayed at the Astali for a number of years and it just gets better! The hotel is spotlessly clean. The shaded terrace and bar makes a lovely place to end the day.The breakfast is continental buffet style, with a wide range of choices. The staff (mainly the family) are friendly, helpful and very knowledgable about the local area. We will certainly be going back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary2683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We also chose the Astali Hotel based on the good reviews here on TA and thought that we got good value for our money. Our room wasn't very big, but it had everything we needed (like free wi-fi and a fridge) and most importantly it was very clean. The hotel is right next to the beach just a hop and a skip away from the old town, so the location is really good. A nice feature is the small library cart on every floor, where you can find (mostly English) books left by other visitors.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talvi29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We decided to stay at the Astali mainly due to the overwhelming good reviews.
At the risk of repeating previous reviews,It's All True.
This is a lovely 2+* Hotel,with 5* service.You are treated like long lost family members,although our first time at this hotel,we felt really welcome.The family who run the hotel cannot do enough for you,nothing is too much trouble any time of day or night.We met lots of guests who had been coming to the Astali for donkeys years and they were all lovely.
There's no pool,but this is a city centre hotel,close to the massive beach,Venetian Harbour and Old Town,so ideally situated.
A good buffet breakfast is available with plenty of choice,there is a lovely terrace with seating and bar area and there is free air-con and Wi-Fi.The hotel is kept spotlessly clean throughout with towels and linen changed daily.
You just can't go wrong here,we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astali Hotel

Property: Astali Hotel
Address: 1 Papandreou Georgiou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Astali Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Astali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astali Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing