We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveler rating
326
70
19
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
70
19
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily run hotelbusy junctionold townyear after yearfree air consmall and friendly hotelhotel is spotlessly cleantwo weeksgreek yogurtrooms are smalllovely family runboiled eggswatching the worldwithin easy walking distancefantastic hotelsea frontlong sandy beach
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 426 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful 3 weeks at the Astali. The welcome from the family is genuine and you are immediately made to feel like you are among friends. The hotel is very conveniently situated for the beach, the old town and the many restaurants that Rethymno has to offer. We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Crete and will be back next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cm324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We returned from a fantastic 2 weeks holiday in Crete,staying at the truly wonderful Astali Hotel in Rethymnon.We can only agree with Keith and Wendy(whose company we enjoyed during our stay) in saying the family run hotel is friendly and welcoming.It felt like home from home.Everyone in the hotel team was a pleasure to talk to.The location is perfect,ideal for the beach,harbour or the old town.We never missed a breakfast,even though we had quite a lot of late nights enjoying Ouzo and Lemonade at the hotel bar,enjoying the wonderful warm company of our friend Anestis who looked after the desk and bar at night time.We have been trying to replicate the delicious Greek yoghurt with Honey served at breakfast time,since we came home,but the sun and atmosphere of the Astali is missing.This was our best holiday in 26 years of marriage,we will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 210,at the rear of the building.It had a balcony with grapevines,complete with bunches of grapes,close to the railings.The room was spacious and quiet and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunburnkid09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have just returned from a fortnight staying in the Astali Hotel. The family who run the hotel are very friendly and welcoming. Krisanthi, Yanis or Marios are always on hand to help with any queries, or just for a friendly chat. The hotel is very clean, with fresh towels daily and bed linen changed on alternate days. The location is handy for both the beach and the resort centre. The people staying here were also very friendly, we spent a few late evenings having a drink on the terrace chatting with fellow guests, several of which have stayed here many times.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeithandWendy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just back from two weeks in the Astali Hotel, which we thoroughly enjoyed as we did two years ago. The family are so kind, cannot do enough for you. The Hotel is spotlessly clean, clean towels every day and linen every second day. Centrally located, an ideal place to spend a relaxing holiday. Anybody worrying about the trouble in Greece should not be put off visiting Crete as we saw no evidence of any unrest whatsoever. The people are as kind and friendly as they have always been in the 20 years we have been visiting Crete.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugh495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We've recently returned from a 2 week holiday in Rethymno staying at the Astali Hotel (last 2 weeks in June) travelling with Thomson on a B&B package. We'd read the reviews on here before going and felt that the hotel had a lot to live up to.......and it certainly did!
Positives:
Lovely owners who welcomed with a smile everytime and a "Kalimera" or "Kalispera".
The breakfasts which are simple but just perfect, my favourite being the Greek yoghurt with peach halves.
The other guests; we don't usually mix with other guests but this hotel seems to attract some very nice people. Everyone gathered in the bar of an evening to watch the Football (Euros) and Krisanthi would come round with Ice cream or other treats. I enjoyed the football banter with Yanis whose knowledge of football is immense.
The hustle and bustle and street noise; I didn't know so many different things could be carried on a scooter!
The close proximity to the beach and old town and tavernas.
The rooms which are simple and very clean with daily cleaning and regular changing of sheets and towels by the very pleasant cleaning staff.
Negatives: None
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cumbrian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews