We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$175
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bellagio Boutique Hotel(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$156
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$383
$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Minos Hotel(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
$120
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
323
69
19
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
69
19
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily run hotelbusy junctionold townyear after yearfree air consmall and friendly hotelhotel is spotlessly cleantwo weeksgreek yogurtrooms are smalllovely family runboiled eggswatching the worldwithin easy walking distancesea frontlong sandy beachcleaning staff
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 422 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We returned from a fantastic 2 weeks holiday in Crete,staying at the truly wonderful Astali Hotel in Rethymnon.We can only agree with Keith and Wendy(whose company we enjoyed during our stay) in saying the family run hotel is friendly and welcoming.It felt like home from home.Everyone in the hotel team was a pleasure to talk to.The location is perfect,ideal for the beach,harbour or the old town.We never missed a breakfast,even though we had quite a lot of late nights enjoying Ouzo and Lemonade at the hotel bar,enjoying the wonderful warm company of our friend Anestis who looked after the desk and bar at night time.We have been trying to replicate the delicious Greek yoghurt with Honey served at breakfast time,since we came home,but the sun and atmosphere of the Astali is missing.This was our best holiday in 26 years of marriage,we will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 210,at the rear of the building.It had a balcony with grapevines,complete with bunches of grapes,close to the railings.The room was spacious and quiet and very comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunburnkid09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have just returned from a fortnight staying in the Astali Hotel. The family who run the hotel are very friendly and welcoming. Krisanthi, Yanis or Marios are always on hand to help with any queries, or just for a friendly chat. The hotel is very clean, with fresh towels daily and bed linen changed on alternate days. The location is handy for both the beach and the resort centre. The people staying here were also very friendly, we spent a few late evenings having a drink on the terrace chatting with fellow guests, several of which have stayed here many times.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeithandWendy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just back from two weeks in the Astali Hotel, which we thoroughly enjoyed as we did two years ago. The family are so kind, cannot do enough for you. The Hotel is spotlessly clean, clean towels every day and linen every second day. Centrally located, an ideal place to spend a relaxing holiday. Anybody worrying about the trouble in Greece should not be put off visiting Crete as we saw no evidence of any unrest whatsoever. The people are as kind and friendly as they have always been in the 20 years we have been visiting Crete.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugh495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We've recently returned from a 2 week holiday in Rethymno staying at the Astali Hotel (last 2 weeks in June) travelling with Thomson on a B&B package. We'd read the reviews on here before going and felt that the hotel had a lot to live up to.......and it certainly did!
Positives:
Lovely owners who welcomed with a smile everytime and a "Kalimera" or "Kalispera".
The breakfasts which are simple but just perfect, my favourite being the Greek yoghurt with peach halves.
The other guests; we don't usually mix with other guests but this hotel seems to attract some very nice people. Everyone gathered in the bar of an evening to watch the Football (Euros) and Krisanthi would come round with Ice cream or other treats. I enjoyed the football banter with Yanis whose knowledge of football is immense.
The hustle and bustle and street noise; I didn't know so many different things could be carried on a scooter!
The close proximity to the beach and old town and tavernas.
The rooms which are simple and very clean with daily cleaning and regular changing of sheets and towels by the very pleasant cleaning staff.
Negatives: None
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cumbrian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This family run hotel is a great place to stay. It is located only one block from the beach and is an easy walk to the old town of Rethymno. The hosts are absolutely excellent and cannot do enough to help you. The rooms are very clean and the restaurant and bar areas (inside and out) are extremely comfortable. Very relaxing to sit in after a day of exploring the island.
We can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It definitely helped make our stay in Rethymno even more enjoyable and when we return to Crete we will be returning to Astali Hotel for our accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KarenBergan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews