We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantis Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Atlantis Beach Hotel
Ranked #27 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
LANCS
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at The Atlantis for one week mid June 2013. The hotel was very clean and comfortable, very well laid out. It is just across the road from the lovely beach and is about a 30 minute slow walk along the promenade to the town. The food at breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. The staff are exceptional, all so friendly and helpful. The housekeeping was excellent with some thoughtful touches. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OBRIENLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    104
    17
    14
    4
See reviews for
100
162
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in Atlantis Beach mid-May; beach was not yet too crowded but the hotel was already fully booked. Mostly middle-aged and elderly people, and a couple of families with small children.

We arrived just at 9 pm, just before the dinner time ends. The staff waited for half an hour extra, just enough for late arrivals to get food, thanks for that! and after that we got to our room. That was hot and stuffy, probably because it had been closed all day without any air conditioning. Moreover the sheets were full of sand - I had to get up and brush them, and even then the first night was very uncomfortable due both to the sand and to the heat. There was a fridge but nothing to drink, not even a complimentary bottle of water. Of course there was a supermarket next to the hotel, but that we did not know, and were far too tired after travelling all day to find out. Water does not cost a lot and would really be a nice gesture.

Otherwise the hotel was nice, especially the staff who were great (thanks Hara for choosing the best wines for our taste!), and made us feel welcome every day. Almost like being in somebody's home as an expected guest. Pool area was clean and pool bar served not only drinks but also some food.

Dinner improved every day, and if we had stayed in this hotel longer we would definitely have gained more weight than we really hoped for. Walking on the beach and Mili gorge (wonderful place!) luckily made part of the extra piece of cake melt away.

There is a road with quite a lot of traffic between the hotel and the beach, but that is normal in Crete, and the noise from the road did not disturb us as we had room with pool view, rooms with sea view might have some problems with the Greek way of driving.

The room decoration was not exactly to my taste, but I could understand the point in having a glass wall between the bathroom and bedroom, the bright orange colour was actually quite nice in the morning when the sun was shining to the bathroom. A soft light to wake unto.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjatta6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located for a beach holiday whilst also being able to enjoy the delights of the pool. It is ideal for local eateries and restaurants while giving you the option to venture further for more choice into the nearby centre. Moreover, what really makes this a place to recommend is the staff who are outstanding; helpful and friendly at all times. Nothing is too much trouble for Yiannis, Georgia, Chryssi, to mention a few.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel had only just opened for the season (end Apr) so was quiet but that suited me.

The layout is great with the bar and main restaurant positioned to take in the great views (sunrises and sunsets) with the pool, bar and afternoon restaurant tucked behind. The pool area is well positioned with plenty of space for loungers. The rooms were clean, spacious with plenty of storage and an all important fridge - most had views of the pool or the sea.

Both breakfast and dinner buffets were plentiful. Dinner was varied every night with plenty of options. My only small criticism would be that I would have liked to have seen some more authentic hot dishes in the evening (moussaka, souvlaki, kleftiko) and some fruit based desserts (simply fruit salad would have done) rather than just the sticky sugary offerings.

The staff are what lifts this place from very good to exceptional. It is clearly a 'family' run place where everyone takes pride in hotel and the services they offer.

I will certainly go back, maybe towards the end of the season, to see some old faces.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JJ_Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed for a week end April. Chose Atlantis Beach because of the good reviews and wasn't disappointed. Cannot find anything to fault. Nice position on the outskirts of Rethymnon beside a beautiful beach. Good size rooms, spotlessly clean, lovely buffet each evening. Friendly atmosphere with the best staff ever - cannot do enough for the guest. Loved watching the sunset over Rethymnon Fort on the outside terrace while having a glass of wine. Will be coming back and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IreneRichardS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We have had a beautiful two last days of our holiday on Crete. Nice, clean room and very friendly service. Breakfast and lunch were excellent and we walked to the old town centre for dinner. The pool is situated in a nice garden and was very clean.
The beach was across the street, which is a bit busy but cannot be heard as you are on the beach near the sea.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Erwin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huskvarna, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Closeness to sea and clean ,well cared for pool.Nice garden even with a playground for children. Wonderful breakfast and dinner buffet.
Very helpful , friendly and nice staff.Walking distance to city center and other restaurants for a change.Rooms overlooking sea or garden.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ulla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.0 mi away
Kriti Beach Hotel
Kriti Beach Hotel
#28 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bio Suites Hotel
Bio Suites Hotel
#23 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swell Boutique Hotel
Swell Boutique Hotel
#24 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#9 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.2 mi away
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
#8 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Beach Hotel

Property: Atlantis Beach Hotel
Address: Ari Velouchioti Street 28, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#18 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis Beach Hotel in Rethymnon is an A category 4 Star hotel. Built in classical bungalow style with a main house and 6 smaller buildings, two stories high, ATLANTIS Beach Hotel is situated at the Rethymnon beach promenade. The hotel has been fully renovated in 2008. With its private sandy beach opposite of the large front terrace, with its 90 comfortably furnished rooms with balconies and sun terraces, large gardens and swimming pool, bars, restaurant, sauna, fitness room and a large enchanted children's playground, the hotel offers its guests comfortable accommodation in Rethymno at reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Atlantis Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Beach Rethymnon
Atlantis Beach Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing