We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good. Ticked all the boxes - and more.”
Review of Pepi Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pepi Studios
Ranked #6 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good. Ticked all the boxes - and more.”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Location

We wanted the charm and atmosphere of the old town by the harbour. Pepi is well situated in the old town and just one street back from the harbour with its waterfront restaurants and bars. The old town is a maze of cobbled streets with plenty of good bars and restaurants to choose from. The old town has also kept plenty of traditional shops.
The organized (umbrellas and sun-beds) beach is a ten-minute stroll away. There are also plenty of bars and restaurants along the beach front.

Staff

As many other contributors have said, the staff at Pepi were excellent. They were very good at their job and nothing was too much trouble. The reception process took only moments and we were escorted to our room and given a quick teach-in about the room with useful stuff like how to operate the (free of charge) air-conditioning.

The room

Our [superior] room was obviously recently and tastefully redecorated, it was spacious and spotlessly clean - as was the crockery, cutlery and refrigerator. The beds were made daily and the floor was also washed daily. Our towels and bed linen were changed regularly. There was also some nice attention to detail like the origami-style folding of towels into bows and rosebuds like you see in higher-end hotels. I know this isn’t essential but it gives you confidence that everyone at Pepi’s cares.
We didn’t actually do any cooking - always choosing to eat out, but it was good to have the facilities in the room to keep fruit juice, wine, beer…. .
It was good to see that the safe in the room was not charged extra.

The courtyard

The entrance to Pepi nestles alongside Bistro 22. It leads to a courtyard with palm trees and sun-beds. In front of the reception area is a small plunge pool for when the shade of the trees is not enough - it was 35 degrees when we were there.
The sun-beds are popular and while we were there, some people chose to spend their whole days on them.
All rooms seemed to have either a small terrace or table and chairs at their front doors which meant you could have drinks and meals al fresco.

Bistro 22

We booked on a room-only basis. We had our first breakfast at Bistro 22. We tried another couple of places in the next two days but returned to Bistro 22 because it was the best breakfast place we found. The quality was very good, and had a good selection to choose from. The waiters were attentive and the atmosphere was good. Plenty of locals used it at all times of day, and the prices were very fair.


Value for money

Excellent. The studios were well above what we were expecting. We would most certainly come again.

Tips

Nothing to do with Pepi, but the only advice we can offer regards the old town is that sometimes its streets are closed to traffic so you could have a 200 metre walk along the cobbled street from the nearest drop-off point in the main car park. This happened to us but it really wasn’t a problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GandE2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    125
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
63
382
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Actually I was not expecting such a great service when we booked it. Upon arrival we were upgraded to the superior room. The room was spacious, very clean and really nicely done. We stayed only 2 days but I can see myself spending the whole week there. It was nice to have even small swimming pool in city center. We have spend our 2 days near the pool, under the palm trees, reading books. Fantastic
If you are coming with a car try to park it near the castle as its free of parking and you can leave it as long as you want. We left our car for 2 days. Its about 5 - 10 min walk from Hotel.
I would definately recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: I heard 2 girls were complaining about the size of the room, but if you book a standard room you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goshke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Came here for a relaxed family holiday and got exactly what we came for and more. Stayed in superior double on ground floor and they had an upstairs bedroom which was fine by us but might not suit everybody. Only thing missing in room was a toaster which I Am sure could have been requested as the staff could not have been more helpful. Maria on reception is lovely, pleasant and helpful girl and could not have been more helpful. Hired a car for a few days as there is plenty to see. Only drawback was pepi studios is in the centre of the beautiful old town of rethymnon and you oils not drive your car back to hotel at night but had to park 5-10 min walk outside town. Again fine for us but might. It suit everybody! Nice beach 5 min walk and beautiful shopping experiences on your doorstep. Also restaurants were in abundance all around but the best wort amention were alana and la boheme within walking distance. There were 6 of us in our group and there were no complaints. We would have no problem recommending pepi studios and rethymnon.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelathcliath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Great location in old town. Quiet setting but within very short walk of everything - restaurants, shops and beach. Very clean and appreciated free air conditioning and safe in bedroom. Been to similar apartments elsewhere in Greek islands and have always been charged extra for these facilities. Booked for bed and breakfast and was able to have continental or good old English breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlislecatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here one night. Our room (9) was on the second floor with twin beds (exactly what we requested). The room was spacious, lots of cupboard space which we didn't need to use, a small balcony, clean and basic bathroom, and small kitchen which again, we didn't use. The place is in an excellent location. Our only qualm was that the reception staff was not available both times we needed him/her. The first was to ask about the wifi which was got the code for, from next door, Bistro 22. The second time, we were checking out at about 10am and we needed to catch a bus so we were delayed by about 10 mins because of this. I would highly recommend this hotel but plan to make sure the reception staff are available as they are not always there. We did not use the pool as it was very small.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We loved everything about Pepi studios, the warm welcome, beautiful rooms with lovely furnishings, great location in centre of old town, minutes from some wonderful restaurants but really close to the beach. A lovely oasis to relax and chill out.
Absolutely perfect. We'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra to upgrade to a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We arrived about 9.30pm to be met off the coach by one of the family a nice touch,we checked in then shown to our room that was upstairs very large room table and chairs small sink cooking rings a nd a fridge and a kettle.
small but modern bathroom with clean towels every day.
we had two single beds but asked for a double this was sorted out the next morning.
Bistro 22 for breakfast each morning was a nice touch the staff were all brilliant lovely fresh orange juice a nice welcome.
The gardens was very relaxing you could drink your own drinks as they don't have a bar so it was nice ti chill with a glass wine or a beer in the afternoon.

Room Tip: If you don't book with Thomas Cook you get a ground floor room or we could have paid extra to up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mintsauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#4 of 175 in Rethymnon
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
4.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
3.4 mi away
Apollon Hotel Apartments
Apollon Hotel Apartments
#51 of 175 in Rethymnon
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepi Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepi Studios

Property: Pepi Studios
Address: 22 Tsouderon Street, Rethymnon, Crete, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#25 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pepi Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Pepi Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pepi Studios Rethymnon, Crete
Pepi Studios Hotel Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing