We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, unusual”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Veneto Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 46 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed five nights in the room 103 with spiral stair to bedroom. Good experience in an unusual building, which is 700 years old, but interestingly remodeled and decorated. There is an excellent restaurant on the first floor. Try the squid fritters for an appetizer and lamb rolled in grape leaves, stuffed with cheese and sweet peppers.
The only problem we had was finding the hotel. The old city does not allow cars! Our gps did not know this and the hotel directions were impossible. No one available to help with luggage when we arrived. Fortunately I drove illegally near hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmiller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Imiller007
Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased you had a good experience and found our hotel beautiful and unusual. We are also happy that you enjoyed the food while you were here. We hope to welcome you again to Veneto Exclusive Suites.
Kind regards,
Yannis P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 270 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

My fiancé and I have stopped here two years' running and hope to return in 2014. The hotel is very characterful and no two rooms are alike. The staff are very welcoming and can't do enough. The hotel's own restaurant is pricey but worth trying it at least once for a treat - ask for the table on the elevated arch at the end of the corridor for a romantic experience. The hotel has been so beautifully restored that tour groups often come in to have a look around! The location is excellent; don't believe the reviews saying that you have to run past restaurant touts, they are staff doing what the Greeks do best, just wishing you good morning or evening (and complimenting you on your appearance if you are going for an evening out!). The breakfast is quite a basic buffet breakfast which you get all over the continent - don't expect sausages, bacon etc but there are always pastries, scrambled eggs etc. Highly recommend is the Taverna Vassalos next door, run by the inimitable Mr Vassalos, his son Costas and waiters Marios and Armando, who have become real friends. All in all, not the cheapest place to stay, but you are paying for an amazing location in a beautiful old town in a restored historic building, and that don't come cheap. See Yannis and all in August!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Sarah M,
Thank you so much for your fine review. There is nothing more rewarding to me and my staff than a truly satisfied guest. We are pleased that you would like to return to our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again this year. Thank you again for taking the time.
Kind regards,
Yannis P

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel recently while holidaying in Crete. It is a lovely old building with a lot of history and i believe each of the rooms were used for various things ( it would have been good to have information of the history of the rooms in the room ) and the restaurant serves good food with friendly staff (nice breakfast,Greek yoghurt,fruit,sweet and savoury pastries,bread and meats) ,however we had to ask to change rooms as there was a strong smell of urine coming from the bathroom which was overpowering,fortunately we were given another room as the hotel was not fully booked,this was a twin room and the beds were not too comfortable ,but it too had the same smell although not as strong. Apparently it was due to the windy weather at the time which blew the smell up through the drains. Unfortunately the room was above the restaurant and over a row of others and this proved to be extremely noisy so was difficult to get to sleep...on some nights it was around 5 am before there was peace and quiet..I am sure that when the summer season is in full flow it will be just as lively. Aside from the awful smell in the rooms and the unbearable noise on some nights,it is quite a nice hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Kellie H,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Veneto Hotel. I regret that your stay wasn’t as pleasant as it could have been. We strive to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible and hope they communicate with us in the event that they are not entirely satisfied with the service we provide. I am pleased we were able to change your room upon request but saddened that you seem to have had the same complaint in the second room. Extreme noise and a strange smell are not complaints that we have ever received before.
We are sorry that you didn’t contact us at the time in order for us to investigate and solve these problems. We try to ensure that our guests’ leave us completely satisfied and that they would like to return. We hope that you still had a pleasant holiday and would like to welcome you back to Veneto Exclusive Suites in the future.
Best regards,
Yannis P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

This place is simply stunning !! Located in a 700 years old house in the center of Rethymnon - a picture is worth a thousands word. It is humbling to think you are sleeping in a house that was an old monastery and is one of the first built in this town.

The hues is very well preserved, rooms are perfect, spacey and cosy. The restaurant reopened for the summer season on the day we arrived (we were lucky!) and it is definitely a must ! The setting is simply outstanding, and the food delicious. There are a lot of vegetatian option (or vege friendly) which was great for us !

All in all - staying at Veneto in Rethymnon is one of the highlight of our 3 weeks trip to Greece !!

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Francois L
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Veneto Suites during your trip to Greece. Thank you for your "Excellent" review. I am very happy that you found the hotel "stunning" and that you enjoyed our restaurant aswell. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as part of our honeymoon in Crete, and…we got ROOM 101!!! As you can see from the photos of Room 101, its the best ever, wine cellar !!! It was very romantic with all the little features. Staff absolutely friendly GEIA SOU KRITI MOU!

Breakfast had olives, ham, cheeses and fruit etc. could have a better range as i was used to the Meltemi Village in Perissa and Atrion in Iraklio.

shower was like mini cellar too!

friendly greeting on arrival

Overall beautiful

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bangin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Mitroglou
I am very pleased that you enjoyed Room 101 when you were here on your Honeymoon. Our team all strive to give the best customer service possible and I am grateful this has been acknowledged. Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Veneto house is situated in oldest and most interesting house in the town. Real treasure in this hotel is Cuisine with chief Yannis magnificent talent! Our couple has long romantic dine in Middle Ages garden; every evening we tried new unforgettable chief creation.
Antanas
2013

Room Tip: Studio exclusive with personal garden- amazing experiance to rest with glass of vine in own garden i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Diana M
Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear that your stay here was an "amazing experience". It's reassuring for us to know that we are doing a great job. I am also glad that you enjoyed our restaurant. I really hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our mature couple booked Veneto house studio HB for one week in September 2013.
Our evaluation is 10 from 10 points.

It was most pleasant stay in hotel from all my holidays- staff is exclusive helpfull friendly customer oriented.

Cuisine was exceptional good, definitely best is Rethymno city and one of the best in Crete.
800 years old Veneto house was a monastery hundred years ago. However, this oldest house in town still radiate very positive spririt to people which love real things.
we recomend Veneto to all tourists in Rethymno.

Diana

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRRHKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VENETOSUITES, General Manager at Veneto Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Diana
I am pleased to hear that you consider your stay here at Veneto Suites the most pleasant of all your holidays. Our staff do their very best to cater to the needs of all our guests. Thank you for recommending our restaurant as the "Best Cuisine" in Rethymno. We would love to see you back at the hotel again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#4 of 175 in Rethymnon
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 175 in Rethymnon
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
4.0 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veneto Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veneto Boutique Hotel

Address: 4 Epimenidou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece (Formerly Veneto Suites)
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range: $81 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Veneto Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veneto is a Venetian mansion of the 15th century located in the Old Town of Rethymno, close by the shopping district, the museums and numerous cafes. The building has been renovated with respect to the character and architecture of its time, and consists of six Standard Suites, four Junior Suites and two Deluxe Suites. All Veneto rooms are fully equipped with all the amenities of a 4 star hotel and maintain a combination of traditional and contemporary character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Veneto Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veneto Hotel Rethymnon
Veneto Boutique Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing