We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanna stay in a beautiful 13th c cave?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Veneto Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 43 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wanna stay in a beautiful 13th c cave?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

13th century manor house magnificently restored with fountains and fine restaurant. Situated in the center of this beautiful old village. On one of the old, tiny, cobbled streets of Rethymnon. The town is beautiful and the hotel is a fitting place to enjoy its pleasures. In the restaurant downstairs (or, if you wish, in a private garden with plants and the splashing sounds of a water in a fountain), you can have a fine meal with delicious cretan specialties, Our room was large and quite lavish, the owner very nice, and the price was great. An excellent choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    54
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
36
127
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

For our three week trip around Crete, we tried to choose "special" places only. By booking a two night stay in the Monestary Cave suite of Veneto Suites, we really made a terrific choice.

The Hotel itself is located in the old town of Rethymnon - which makes it impossible to approach it directly by car. But carying your luggage through the whole town is really worth it. Just see it as a workout in order to "earn" your stay in this hotel.

The house in which the hotel is located is one of the best renovated Venetian Palazzi in Rethymnon. Everything is lovingly decorated with traditional handycrafted goods and furnished in antiques. The mosaique floors and cobblestone patio make you feel like in a long gone century.

For the room itself: It looks exactly like on the pictures of the hotel`s website and is spacious enough for two people and a lot (!) of luggage. The bathroom is tiny but clean - such as everywhere in old town houses.

The air dehumidifier, mentioned by other guests before, did not cause any inconvenience to us as we simply switched it off during our time in the room. Even during summertime, we did not need the available AC to keep the room at a pleasant temperature. There are a few steps in the room... So better switch on the light when going to the bathroom during nighttime.

We enjoyed our breakfast in the cool patio with home made jam, delicious fruit jelly, freshly baked buisquits and various cold cuts.

Unfortuanately we had not enought time to try the house`s restaurant (where hotel guests receive a 10% disount) but when we returned from our excursions through town, the place was always packed and the smell heavenly.

For those of you who enjoy staying in a very special place, be sure to book in Veneto Suites.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dk_worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our first stay in Old Town Rethymnon. Nicely appointed rooms, recommend a suite which provides a separate sitting room. One draw back is that the parking/and bus depot is about a five minute walk to the hotel (cars are not allowed in the old city center) and the hotel does not offer a means of pick-up/drop-off to and from the hotel (a golf cart might be nice...so travel light!!!
Did not offer wireless as stated in hotel info. Explore the old town...it is wonderful!

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

My visit to Veneto was a astronomical delight. Not only were we served most delicious and inventive modern Greek cuisine, the owner Argiro opened my eyes to the quality of many different Greek wines which do not make their way outside of Greece. Both she and Yannis are warm and friendly people who made us feel welcome, and most importantly, well-looked after. The room was perfect. Beautiful stone walls. Well appointed and with everything you need. I really enjoyed my stay here and the location was perfect for exploring the Old Town. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmajaneharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfratshausen
Level Contributor
159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were looking for a unique place to stay in Rethymnon and a 14th century Venitian home turned hotel appeared to be exactly what we were looking for. Once we got past parking and finding the hotel, we were right! This boutique hotel, located in the centre of the Old Town has a character and atmosphere unto itself. Our room was not luxurious but was nicely appointed with furnishings and fixtures suited to the room and it was clean. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful; breakfasts were very good. We had dinner at the restaurant twice and we found the food and service to be exceptional. I loved the central location - to restaurants and shops. And, for any runners out there, once you get your bearings, it is only a short run to the boardwalk along the beach. It is not a long run, a little more than 6 km to the end of the boardwalk/return but it is a nice (although busy) run along the ocean.

Just for a moment, back to parking and finding the hotel....Avoid arriving after dark if you can, it just makes it that much easier to find your way in the day light. We spent more than necessary the first night on parking (because after awhile we just needed to get parked and find the hotel) but after getting the lay of the land the next day, we parked fairly near by (close to the soccer stadium) for free for the remainder of our stay.

All in all, we had a great stay and would love to return again.

Room Tip: We were in room 109. It was generally quite quiet. Our travel companions were in room 106 and alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

If you love unique, boutique and historical accommodation then this is the place for you. The owners are so hospitable and helpful. as soon as you walk in the unbelievable history and restoration takes your breath away. The rooms are beautifully appointed and clean. Very comfortable bed and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Breakfasts are delicious with most being home made that morning. We had dinner there one night as well and was so romantic and the food was traditional Greek though a little more 'upscale' then you would get down the road. A must on one of your nights stay.
Great location and walking distance to everything. Dream of returning one day :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieMaeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

My positive experience started before I arrived, with a prompt, clear and friendly reply to a couple of questions I had regarding my booking.

On arriving - much later than we intended - we were greeted by the owners. They invited us to join them for a glass of wine after we had freshened up. They were exceptionally friendly, showing us the building, the hotels impressive wine selection, and advising us on the local area.

The hotel itself is a beautiful Venetian building in Rethymnon's old town - so there is no access by car. There is overnight parking (5 Euro) less than a ten-minute walk away. The hotel is also within 10 minutes walk of Rethymnon's fortezza, and the sea front.

The suite was a good size, very clean, and in a good state of repair - no complaints there.

The restaurant has a good reputation in Rethymnon. This isn't undeserved, although there are several other restaurants that give it a run for its money and arguably have the edge on the food. The collection of Cretan wines is what sets it apart, and the staff are very knowledgeable about this - take their recommendation!

Would I stay there again? Yes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry_Ahmadinejad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.0 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzino di Corina
Palazzino di Corina
#19 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veneto Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veneto Boutique Hotel

Property: Veneto Boutique Hotel
Address: 4 Epimenidou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece (Formerly Veneto Suites)
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Veneto Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Veneto is a Venetian mansion of the 15th century located in the Old Town of Rethymno, close by the shopping district, the museums and numerous cafes. The building has been renovated with respect to the character and architecture of its time, and consists of six Standard Suites, four Junior Suites and two Deluxe Suites. All Veneto rooms are fully equipped with all the amenities of a 4 star hotel and maintain a combination of traditional and contemporary character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Veneto Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veneto Hotel Rethymnon
Veneto Boutique Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing