We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”

Zefyros Family Fish Taverna
Ranked #4 of 339 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ipswich
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

Situated in the picturesque old harbour, on the waterfront. Really fresh, excellent fish. Superb family taverna with classy, non-pushy service. Good value for the location. Lunch was so good we had to go back the next day for more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    936
    212
    51
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant Harbour Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

The old harbour can be a very pleasant place to dine, when you have restaurants such as this. We had a lovely seafood lunch and the service was excellent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RiLoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

If you wanna go to a fish restaurant this is a good choise. Very friendly and the owner since three generations take very good care of you. We had avokado and shrimps for starter and then the sea bream which was delicious. We can really recommend this nice restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Zefyros was recommended to us by locals that we could actually trust, sometime last summer. We only managed to make it there a few days ago when we revisited Rhethymnon for Easter holidays. I can't believe we didn't go there sooner! The restaurant is situated in the town's old harbour. It is surrounded by other little restaurants but it stands out because of its beautiful, simple and elegant design.
The prices were a bit on the expensive side but that's what you'd expect because of the location of the restaurant. However, I must say that we did not mind that at all because the food was absolutely delicious and you could sense the high quality of the products used (which is something you aren't always guaranteed to get at other places) . Wonderful, fresh fish and lots of options on the menu.
The other thing that should be mentioned is the excellent service. Our waiter was so polite! It seemed like he anticipated our every need before we could actually utter it, without being clingy.

I would definitely recommend Zefyros to anyone visiting the Old Town of Rhethymon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GEC833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Best food on Crete. The fish was fresh and delicious, the service was perfect. It was the best meal we had in our 2 week long stay in Rethymno. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sickill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zefyros Family Fish Taverna also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Zefyros Family Fish Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing