We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic”

Zefyros Family Fish Taverna
Ranked #8 of 349 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited Zefyros because of TripAdvisor, so had high expectations. All of these expectations were overwhelmingly met and more so.

The location is terrific, right on the harbour side. We were served by Achilles, who was a truly fantastic host, very friendly, unassuming and helpful.

Food and wine was outstanding. We had a salad and grilled sardines to start and the house white wine (only €15 for a bottle) was lovely. A perfect seafood accompaniment. Achilles had talked us through the food menu and brought out a few live lobsters for me to size-up. They were a bit on the large size, so I opted for their speciality for my main: Jumbo Prawn in a creamy ouzo sauce. It was a perfect portion and I can see why they recommend it so highly. My girlfriend went with the Sole and she was equally impressed with her dish.

After finishing our mains, Achilles discreetly offered us desserts on the house, which was a very pleasant surprise! He also brought us over a complimentary Raki and joined us for a quick shot of that.

Overall bill was only €69 (excl. tip). Safe to say, this was one of the most pleasant dining experiences I've ever had. Perfect for a special occasion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    993
    219
    60
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little place!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very nice little restaurant in the Old Venetian Port of Rethymnon. The service was excellent since the person doing the serving also happens to be the owner! The place is very laid back and not pushy like the other restaurants next to it (I hate it when restaurants try to drag you into their place!!).

The food was simple and tasty. We had a Greek salad, Taramosalata and some grilled fish. All very good!

At the end of our meal, our waiter/the owner brought us some Raki on the house and had a shot with us!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank afesiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
“Family restaurant as it should be”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Every day during our stay we had a lunch or dinner in Zefyros - and enjoyed it so much! It is really best restaurant in Rethymno! Many thanks to Mr. Achilleas who did his much effort to make us feel like we were at home! Thank you Mr. Achilleas and thank you Zefyros!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oleg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Everything perfect!!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We visited this restaurant as a result of the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were so impressed that we went 3 times in the week. Achilles was unassuming, so welcoming, kind and helpful,,, a lovely man! The salads were the best we had in Rethymnon, and all the fish was excellent. We can thoroughly recommend the Giant prawn, either grilled or in the Zefyros sauce. The view over the Venetian harbour is lovely and we were given a different complimentary dessert on each occasion This restaurant thoroughly deserves its number 1 ranking

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanetandMichael2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife loves fish so we decided to risk one of the Venetian Harbour restaurants for our last night of the holiday, I had checked this one on tripadviser and it was also highly recommended by the owner of our apartment.

Achilles was the perfect host, not at all pushy and very helpful. After startersmy wife had the sole and prawn special and I not being a fish lover had a pepper steak, and both were fantastic and we struggled to finish them as the portions were generous.

A beautiful meal in a beautiful setting to end a great holiday.

Give it a go!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TONY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zefyros Family Fish Taverna also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Platanias, Rethymnon
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Zefyros Family Fish Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing