We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely time”
Review of Orion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orion Hotel
Ranked #62 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just had 2 weeks in the hotel Orion in September. Lovely friendly, helpful staff in dining room, bar and reception. Quite a variety of food, buffet stlye, to suit all tastes, all fresh and replaced quickly when empty. Our room was plain but clean and plenty of space, overlooking the pool. The noise level was aceptable and finished at around midnight. The local bus stopped outside the hotel every half hour, so we visited several places during our stay. We certainly recommend this hotel and location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureen848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 493 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were given a superior room on the top floor and everything was just as we'd remembered. Something must be right as all the same staff had returned. Most are university students from Russia, Romania and Bulgaria studying tourism and hotel management - it shows - they're universally excellent. The entertainment is not the slightest bit excessive and suits the cosmopolitan clientele of this unique hotel. I'm afraid the rooms are still the let down - they could do with a Premier Inn makeover but the beds are comfortable and the rooms clean. This is 3 star friendly not 5 star stuffy - enjoy. (If only Heraklion Airport would sort itself out - it is simply chaotic).

Room Tip: Try thr top floor superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zutijar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

+ Great service and people
+ Lots of all inclusive cocktails in the bar.
+ Great breakfast
+ Quiet room
+ Nice pool with very comfortable pool chairs

- Far away from the Rethymnon (about 6KM)
- Sometimes lunch wasn't good at all.
- The restaurant is too small.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wycieraczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just returned from a week at Orion, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms were basic but adequate, with good air conditioning. Had trouble opening the balcony door, but this was a safety precaution and did open it with a little manoeuvring. We were on the second floor over looking the pool (with a little sea view)which was lively and great. All entertainment ended at 11:00 pm so not overly noisy. The food was really impressive, as much variety as one could expect at breakfast, good meat and vegetable variations at lunch and dinner, with Pasta and other interesting choices every evening. There was a fantastic cross section of nationalities staying there, all very personable and friendly. Highly recommend

Room Tip: The shop next door gives a discount on most purchases to Hotel Orion customers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Three months ago, we took a last minute trip to Crete.

We were able to find a good deal at Sunweb Travel and were not expecting very much.

When we arrived at your hotel though, we immediately experienced a very hospital atmosphere.

The next day we discovered, that your hotel was very clean and that the food and beverages we were provided with, did fit our standards quite well.

And what to say about your staff ... !? Such nice and friendly people, always serving us with a smile !

All in all, we felt very welcome and we hope to be back next year.

Cordial thanks to the management and all personnel for providing us with such pleasant holidays. Keep up the good work !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Arrived at this hotel having to wait a further 40 minutes for our room. The room itself was well located BUT the room had paint peeling of the walls, the bathroom had hairs in, the shower fell of the bracket on the wall, the balcony door had no lock on it, the furniture out dated draws fell apart and the beds , lift up the mattress and found slats of wood supporting the mattress. The staff work very hard. At meal times no organisation. Family run hotel? There appeared no one to organise the chaos and tables were few and far between we even had to lay our own tables . No chef to organise the food. The food was ok but plain and ordinary. Three or four star I would have given it a one. The holiday company should remove this hotel. The worst I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

literally just got home from a week in the orion
we were a bit surprised at the very start when the coach driver just stopped the coach by the side of the road said "orion" and pointed its over there!!!(however he got us as far as he could)
booking in was no probelm and was quick
room was basic with a/c and those beds....... hard very low too but a comfortable nights sleep
we were on the third floor facing the pool and had a bit of a sea view too
food ..... repetive lots of fresh veg most meats including rabbit!!! and lots of tomatoes
staff.... the waiters and waitresses in the restaurant were fantastic always ready to welcome you with a smile and find you a table which could be a minor drama at times due to too many guests and not enough tables
the bar staff stephanos alex and daphni and the young lady (whos name escapes me) were fantasic!!!!! sometimes you had to wait for a drink but hey ho
the banter was good
we had a fantastic time and met some wonderful people from norway russia and even wales!!!lol
every holiday is what you make it
i dont think we would go back but you get what you pay for in this case the staff were let down by the hotel and facilitys

Room Tip: pool view and at least the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suffolk_steve2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.6 mi away
Rethymno Village
Rethymno Village
#13 of 21 in Platanias
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mathias
Hotel Mathias
#6 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
35 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 21 in Platanias
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Solimar Dias Hotel
Solimar Dias Hotel
#4 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marinos Beach Hotel Apartments
0.2 mi away
Adele Beach Hotel Bungalows
Adele Beach Hotel Bungalows
#8 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Hotel

Address: Adelianos Kampos | PO Box 20, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $61 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Orion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing