We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Orion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orion Hotel
Ranked #45 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

A good value holiday for the price with food and drinks on all inclusive basis. The children loved being able to get an ice cream whenever they wanted during the day! The hotel had a nice friendly atmosphere with different nationalities which turned out to be a lot of fun for us, especially
on karaoke and greek nights. When we first arrived we were a little disappointed that the whole complex was smaller than we thought from seeing brochure photographs and that the main road was a little noisy. Our family room overlooked the pool and was spacious although a bit strange to have carpet in the room. The road noise did not stop us sleeping but was just a bit annoying around the pool. Would thoroughly recommend a bus tour with spiridon tours booked with a local travel operator. We did a trip to kornas lake, chania and elafonissi. ( All beautiful places)Spiridon was a great entertainer and kept everyone on the coach amused all day with stories, songs and even samples of his home made raki and home grown olives. We also enjoyed a short local bus trip for 4 euros return to panormo. It is a small, pretty coastal village. Rethymnon is lovely. Adelianos campos itself is just a long road full of souvenir shops and tavernas rather than a pretty village but nice for a wander in the evenings. Did scuba diving with evelin divers who visit the hotel once a week and enjoyed the experience. The hotel and location are not perfect but we still had a lovely holiday. We enjoyed the company of other hotel guests and found things to do when we had had enough of sunbathing. Enjoyed a wander through the 5 star across the road which is on the beach . We cut through there to get to the sea but many other people were turned away by the security guard and had to walk the long way round.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for pool view - the rooms facing the back have a view of a noisy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beepee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    183
    88
    29
    25
See reviews for
122
196
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Lovely hotel, we had a lovely view of the pool and the sea. The staff were all friendly, helpful, hardworking and nothing was too much trouble. We found the AI food very good the first week but two weeks was just too much, we ate out a few times and enjoyed the change. The hotel has a lot of Russian, Dutch and French guests , very few English/Irish guests. Entertainment was one night Karoke and one night Traditional dance per week. Very, Very quiet hotel, a bit too quiet for us. We never had any problems getting a sun lounger no matter what time of the day we went to the pool, there is a second pool behind the hotel if there is no room at the front, we never needed to use this. If you decided to eat out, ask Stephano at the bar, he will direct you to a local Taverna where the food is Createn, the atmosphere is lovely and its very reasonable.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have a lovely view. The bar staff are a great help with information on the use of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breegep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice place , not overly crowded. Plenty of different nationalities - Russians all over. Nice variety of meals however desserts were a bit disappointing. Took a trip to Knossos and Heraklion one day a bit of a rip off as we were left to our own devices most of the time. Good karaoke and Greek dancing night at hotel. Recommend red open top bus trip up to mountains Rethmynon town easily accessible by bus also . I want some AMstel RAdler and a cocktail now

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Orion Hotel is a lovely place to spend a relaxing week away, fantastic location near the beach and shops around it. Rooms were cleaned every day and the staff were very friendly, food was nice to. Would recommend to anybody, great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markk98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week at the Orion and are already considering our return! We got off to a bad start when our room wasn't ready for four hours after our arrival but the staff were very apologetic and let us use the room safe free of charge. When we got to the room it was great - spotlessly clean with a lovely view over the pool to the sea beyond. The food was really good - plenty of choice and so much of it! Toasted sandwiches, pizza and ice cream available all day at the bar, coffee and delicious cakes at 4.30pm and that's on top of the lovely freshly cooked three meals a day! The drinks were good too - a variety of cocktails, wine beer and spirits together with a wide selection of soft drinks. The pool was lovely, not too deep or overcrowded. I was disappointed to find that the hotel doesn't provide beach towels, but the shop sells them at a discount to hotel residents so that was easily resolved. As a disabled traveller, this hotel was recommended by First Choice for being 'disability friendly', but although there are ramps to allow access from the bar to the pool, there are several steps on the way to the shop and the public toilets are down two flights of steep steps. I had no choice but to keep going all the way back to my room. However, apart from this, the hotel was really fantastic and I would definitely recommend it .

Room Tip: Higher floors get best views and there is a lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darren60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a lovely time at the Orion, the choice of food was excellent and the restaurant staff we very friendly. We would like to particularly mention the bar staff that's, Stefanos, Alex & Dafina who work tirelessly to entertain and keep happy the residents of the hotel in the evenings. Just be aware that the hotel cleaners mop the marble stairs and marble tiles outside the restaurant early in the morning while the restaurant is serving breakfast with no warning signs to warn the public of wet and slippery floors. If your beach people please go and visit Cristina, her husband & family at their beach bar, restaurant and sun beds they are very friendly, helpful & lovely people. All in all we would return to this hotel for a holiday

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boutersem, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

All inclusive formule : very good variated food, also for veggie people... the staff was kind.
Everything was great.
We stayed at the 4-floor, best to have a good view on the beach...

The room was clean and big.

So I recommand it, the quality/price was excellent.

Room Tip: 4 floor, view on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Degee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.2 mi away
Eva Bay Hotel
Eva Bay Hotel
#44 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
3.1 mi away
Theartemis Palace Hotel
Theartemis Palace Hotel
#12 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
16.5 mi away
Solimar Dias Hotel
Solimar Dias Hotel
#7 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Minos Mare Hotel
Minos Mare Hotel
#9 of 20 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
3.0 mi away
Minos Hotel
Minos Hotel
#22 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
2.2 mi away
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
#13 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Hotel

Property: Orion Hotel
Address: Adelianos Kampos | PO Box 20, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Orion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing