We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most memorable experience”

Paraschakis Olive Oil - Crete
Ranked #4 of 41 Tours in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Visitors have the opportunity to see three generations of olive oil production.The old olive mill that was run with a donkey , a mill that was run on a diesel machine and of course the machinery that our family is using now. Visitors can also taste and buy olive oil from our family's production.
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A most memorable experience”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were just driving by and noticed the sign, so stopped by, one of the owners, Joanne, who was born in the US and moved to Crete in her (teens?) gave us a tour, the original equipment from the 1800 was still there, She was a hoot to talk to, I understand better why Olive oil is the "life blood" of Crete, she even gave us a bottle of Raki and recommended a fantastic restaurant in Margerite which we ended up going to a few days later, a real treat, great food, low prices, a great view and of course a shot of Raki on the house.
This free tour is a Do Not Miss, a fantastic memory.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottMc37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    30
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rethymnon Olive Farm Tour - Oct 13, 2012”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the time with the Paraschakis family on the tour today. Joanne showed us around and described the amazing transformation of production techniques from generation to generation. The earliest process tools are on display and in working order including the earliest stone olive masher and press which was donkey powered, to the diesel powered stone masher and press and finally to the most modern and advanced equipment presently in use.

What we really found most incredible was that Joanne is fluent in English and Greek and had some incredible stories to tell about growing up both in the US and Greece. Oh, and we took a picture with the family and discovered her little boy is very protective of mom. He did not allow any arm to be placed around his mommy! so very cute!

The production is very efficient. Nothing goes to waste, everything is used even the pits are ground up and used for heating. The production facility is powered by solar which makes this a very "green" operation too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank srosenzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very nice people, quick entertaining tour”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

It's a small place and the tour takes just a few minutes, but the people are nice, you learn a bit about processing olives, and if you're in the area it's a nice diversion.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JaymoOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Miam miam!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Factory hidden in the beautiful landscape of Crete, we were warmly welcomed by Joanna to instruct us about manufactoring olive oil "yesterday and today"...
The factory is interresting and the information she gave us was very instructive, she has her own funny way to explain and that was great!!!
At the end of the visit, we were invited to taste her production: very delicious olive oil, what a good surprise (we bought her 4L of olive oil for a good price with honey and raki)!!

Thank you and great job Joanna!!

The Viet and the Czech.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LamLaffreuxJojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not open on Sunday :(”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We coordinated an intended visit here with a visit to the Meldini cave. Wrote an email in advance to inquire about days/hours of operation and received no response. As we had traveled in on Friday, we opted not to try this for saturday and instead traveled out on Sunday only to find the gates shut with hours posted. Having these on the website would have certainly been helpful

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paraschakis Olive Oil - Crete also viewed

Melidoni, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Margarites, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Paraschakis Olive Oil - Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing