We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish hotel by the sea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steris Elegant Beach Hotel Apartment

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Steris Elegant Beach Hotel Apartment
Ranked #33 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel by the sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks in the very hot month of July 2012, transfer time from the airport was around 80 minutes. On arrival were pleased with the room, although it had not been cleaned/made up since the previous occupants had left, the manager apologised and this was soon rectified (While we went out for a drink !)
Later a complimentary bottle of wine was left in the room to say sorry for this (We hoped that it was not a sign of things to come and were pleased to find that it wasn't !)

The rooms in the Steris seem to be many different shapes and sizes to accommodate the needs of anyone. Our room (306) was on the top floor (small lift available) on the left side with a good sea view, which was what we asked for. It had a comfortable double bed a stylish bathroom (Shower, no bath), towels, robes and slippers were supplied. There was a small kitchenette with hob, sink and fridge. A modern LCD TV (only two English language news channels available though, but we didn't go on holiday to watch TV !) Remote control air conditioning, which worked well (if slightly noisy) and a good sized balcony, which could be improved by removing the external air conditioning units which blow warm air, if your own or next doors, air-con' was on which was a pity. We were given a wi-fi code on arrival although the signal was very weak in our room and only worked near the door for a few minutes before you had to try and log in all over again, worked well in reception and by the pool though.
A small safe was available in the room at a small extra cost which we were happy to pay.

The rooms (We tried two, as we had to move on our last day due to our pick up not being until 1705) were very clean and tidy and decorated to a high standard. They were cleaned every day around 1100 except on Sundays.

The location of the Steris was perfect for us, you could walk over the busy road to the beach (reduced rate of 8 Euros per day for two sunbeds and a parasol (should be 9) with snacks and drinks served on the beach from the hotel restaurant (Ambrosia, with a 10% reduction in price for residents)
There was a small pool, partly under the hotel, which was fine for us, although in was totally in the shade after 1400. Only 3 sun loungers but several chairs around it. Not many people used it as the beach was so nearby, so we often had this to ourselves (there was also a bar from the restaurant next to it, so service was good)

There were plenty of local shops and restaurants (including the hotel's own) or as we preferred you could walk into the old town where the restaurants were better, if a little more expensive.
I would advise that you AVOID eating in the old harbour area, where many of the restaurants operate a tourist trap, with bullying waiters to get you in, then they hide a huge price-tag until you get the bill (Mouragio Maria is the worst offender, take a look at their reviews on here!) That was a real shame because they are in a great location, it's a pity they have to try and con people, but on the bright side nowhere else we found operated these practices and there are many fantastic restaurants in Rethymnon.

There are not many English people staying at the hotel or in the whole area, mainly Scandinavians (Especially Norwegians). We were happy with this as we go abroad to get away from home, so if you like the "Rose and Crown" pub on every corner this is not the place for you !

Many trips were available by coach, road-trains or boat, including a mock pirate ship in the old harbour. There were also car ferry services available, from the new harbour, to nearby places, like Santorini.

In general, apart from a few minor "nit-picking" issues we loved it here and would return, although we might go for a larger suite on the front next time.

Thanks for looking after us so well !

Room Tip: 3 floors (Maybe 4 one day), Large suites on the front and front left corner are best, followed by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank reidmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    41
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
66
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The Steris Beach are the best apartments we've ever stayed in and we've visited Greece many many times. They are so modern & the shower was perfect (not somethng you normally get in Greece). They are set on a main road just across from the beach so there is some traffic noise. There is also a restaurant called Ambrosia downstairs, which is very friendly and the meals are very nice. We ate out every night and only visited 2 other restaurants as Ambrosia's had everything we needed. The pool area is very small (only 3 sunbeds) and the sun is there until 2.30 then it is shaded but as the beach is just across the road this is no problem. There is 10% off meals in Ambrosia's and also off the beach beds/umbrella. The beach is very well organised and costs 8 euros per day for 2 beds/brolly. There is even a button to press for service on the beach and the waitress comes and takes your order. The old town of Rethymnon is just 10/15 mins walk away where there are loads shops & restaurants/pubs etc. Would definately recommend these apartments although I wasn't keen on Rethymnon as it was full of graffiti and very busy.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 306 which has a sea view but also the noise from the traffic & the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina1077004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

The hotel is located directly on the beach front road, its not more than 200 meters to the water! Apartments are typical with small kitchenette and fridge, air condition (tough ours did not work), a comfortable bed and a small balcony with table and chairs. All in all we liked the apartments, but its nothing extremely special.
A bit negative: The location of the hotel is alongside many hotel-blocks, its not specifically romantic or nice. The road is quite load with traffic until 12pm and from 9am, so we went to bed late and got up in the morning to close the window, then its fine. The pool is tiny, cold and in the shade, so basically its as good as no pool. The beach-couches cost 4.- for hotel guests per day which I found still expensive. The first room we got was a smokers room so we refused it, and got an non-smoker instead but with not such a nice view. The bathroom has a tub, but no shower-holder, so you have to hold the shower in your hand while showering.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ItsME76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

First off, I have never written a review before but Elena asked me if I would on leaving and as there don't seem to be many reviews on this hotel for some reason here goes....Not long returned from this wonderful hotel. As other reviews have said it has been recently refurbished to a high standard and the rooms are quite funky and spotless. It's directly across the road from the beach and if staying at The Steris you can have two beds for 8 euros, normally 9. If you are going to use the beds for several days the man taking the money will offer you an even better discount if you ask and save the beds that you want. We didn't bother as beds were always available. Nothing is too much trouble in this hotel, everyone always wants to help or advise. It's an easy 15min stroll to the harbour and old town with many bars and restaurants along the way. The area of Rethymnon is huge, I honestly think that you could stay for a full year and eat in a different restaurant every day, if not twice a day!! Everyone was very friendly and I definitely would return to this hotel and resort. The swimming pool is tiny with no view so to speak off, but for me, not a problem as I'm a beach person, so if you want a huge pool with slides etc. this is not the hotel for you, other than that no negatives at all......Book Now!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are sea view and underneath the block is a lovely restaurant, we had the 1st floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

The Steris Beach is a great little apartment hotel. Recently renovated to a high standard the rooms are very good. The rooms are all decorated in a modern style, the kitchens are small but perfectly fine for what is needed and the bathrooms have new suites with walk in shower. Different to the hotel website the air conditioning was included in our price and not an extra charge. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is across the road from the beach and within 15 minutes walk of the Venetion Harbour and the narrow streets of the Old Town. The fantastic beach in front is run by the hotel and two sunbeds will cost 8 euros for the full day. You will need the beach as the pool is very small compared to what it looks like in the photos. Many good restaurants and bars can be found within only five minutes walk. Probably the best of these is Ambrosia which is found at the front of the hotel. We stayed for 11 nights in June and would be very happy to visit again. Try to get a sea view room as the balcony is much bigger and the view superb.

Room Tip: If you can't get a sea view room on booking then ask to move during the stay. We did and so did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkKno72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

Cosy small privat hotel, fully renovated with a lot of taste. We liked everything - the design of the room is just WOW! unexpectedly nice with a designer's touch, large comfortable bed with white new sheets, nice modern bathroom, small kitchen with frige and plates and a great terrasse gives on a beautiful beach of Rethymno and a promenade street. Everything is so new and clean. This is a kind of hotel that is not luxuary but very cosy. Service is just perfect and the stuff is very friendly! We slept so well there, and in the morning the first thing you see is a beautifull dawn.
The hotel is situated on a sandy Rethymnon beach within a walking distance to the old town (10-15 min) by a road with plenty of shops and restaurants.
We will surely be back and will advise this hotel for all our friends. It's a perfect value for the price we payed (55 euros per room with a sea view in June). We saw other hotels 4* twice more expensive but that could never compete with this one!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svitlanaKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.0 mi away
Leonidas Hotel & Apts
Leonidas Hotel & Apts
#59 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ammos Studios
Ammos Studios
#47 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swell Boutique Hotel
Swell Boutique Hotel
#24 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Batis Rethymno
Hotel Batis Rethymno
#51 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Medusa
Hotel Medusa
#70 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ilios
Hotel Ilios
#32 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steris Elegant Beach Hotel Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steris Elegant Beach Hotel Apartment

Property: Steris Elegant Beach Hotel Apartment
Address: 1 Konstadinoupoleos, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece (Formerly Steris Apartments)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Steris Elegant Beach Hotel Apartment 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to ...our home Imagine that you have a house in Crete with a view of the sea. A house where you enjoy warm hospitality and personal service, decorated in a modern style that elegantly combines a variety of colors and designs. Into a modern a modern, stylish and joyful 32 room Hotel where a visit makes our guests think "this is where I want to live". STERIS ELEGANT BEACH HOTEL: • Is located at an ideal spot in Rethymno. 20 meters from the clear-blue endless beach with golden sand, awarded a Blue Flag, both for its clean waters and the security it offers. 500 metres from the centre of the Old Town with its bustling life,filled with contrasts, such as the Venetian Castle and the Port of Rethymno. • Is skilled in the art of hospitality and attuned to the desires of its guests. For this reason, it has created joyful and functional areas, in which you can enjoy your vacation. • Its 32 studios, apartments and suites have all been designed to offer comfort and luxury. They are characterized by a game of colors, with several different motifs, and by the variety of the interior decoration. • The reception, the restaurant and the elegant outdoor pool are functional, modern areas designed so you can fully appreciate the feeling of familiarity and good service. • Is open all year round, offering guests the opportunity to experience the magic of Rethymno in every season, hosted in the house in which they have always dreamed to live. STERIS ELEGANT BEACH HOTEL WE ARE HERE TO MAKE YOUR STAY WONDERFUL! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Steris Elegant Beach Hotel Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steris Apartments Hotel Rethymnon
Steris Elegant Beach Hotel Apartment Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing