We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (697)
Filter reviews
697 results
Traveler rating
316
282
67
17
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
316
282
67
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel the thomas cook rep old town great holiday lovely hotel half board star hotel sun loungers poolside bar shower room evening entertainment spent two weeks per day buffet style beach shoes on a daily basis clean hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 697 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at the same Sentido Hotel in Turkey twice and felt confident in booking the 4 star Sentido Beach Hotel in Rethymnon, Crete. Tho it did stretch our holiday budget!
There are 2 hotels, the 5 star Sentido Agean Pearl and the 4 star Sentido Pearl Beach. There is no clear division between the reception areas, pools or bars. This made us feel rather like second class citizens in a 4 star hotel.

although we enjoyed Rethymnon our holiday was marred by our hotel experience. We were treated so well in all the cafes, bars and shops that we went into - pleasant friendly staff, complimentary nuts and water with our drinks and snacks. The Sentido Hotels seem to be the low point of Rethymnon.

We were half board and although breakfast included drinks (non alcoholic), drinks had to be purchased with our dinner.

As well as alcoholic drinks throughout the week, we bought a plastic bottle of water for over 2 Euros at the restaurant on the second evening of our stay and, because we did not drink it all, we took it back to drink with our dinner on the third evening. We explained this to the waitress who said it was not allowed and an argument followed. We were "allowed" to keep it that evening but told "not to do it again".

I queried this at Reception and was told it was against the law throughout Greece - I don't know if this is true and it certainly wasn't explained at the time.

There was a shower dispenser on the wall but it wasn't possible to get any gel out. We called the internal number we had been given and someone said they would be along to fix it. No-one turned up and later in the afternoon we went to Reception to enquire and it was then fixed. We were told that we had pushed it too hard. This was not true. It broke again after about 2 days and we just left it. I was shocked to find we had been charged 10 cents for our internal phone call regarding this but was told it was probably a mistake and given the 10 cents back.

There were 2 flashing red lights on smoke detectors directly above the beds which flashed every 3 seconds throughout the night. Not conducive to a good night's sleep. We realise this is for our safety but the lights could have been positioned better, perhaps if the room was more spacious.

We could hear barking dogs and the smell of cigarettes wafted in. The barking dog was behind the fence opposite our apartment door and toilet and bathroom window. We left the window open as the extractor fan wasn't working.

We realise some of the issues are minor but it all added up to a less than 4 star experience for us.

However, the food in the restaurant was delicious. An enormous range of fruit, soup, bread, vegetables, pulses, meat, deserts, ice-cream - served by (apart from the 1 incident mentioned above) friendly, knowledgeable, efficient staff. Although we are not vegetarian, we think you could have a varied vegetarian diet here. There were different dishes each day.

And the shower facilities for late departures was excellent.

we feel that the Sentido Pearl Beach is letting down the name of Sentido.

Room tip: Go to the Sentido Marina Hotel in Turkey!
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uli M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Sharon,
Thank you for your detailed review and sharing your opinion about our SENTIDO Pearl Beach hotel with other travelers.
Our Sentido Pearl Hotels complex comprises two hotels, that is, Sentido Aegean Pearl 5* and Sentido Pearl Beach 4*. Our guests at both hotels are precious and have the same value for us. Each of the two hotels has its own amenities and services: that is, its own individual reception, restaurant, bar and swimming pool.
By the all inclusive package drinks are included, but not with half board.This is also indicated in our hotel descriptions.
We also would like to point out that for tax reasons and according to the HACCP guidelines (international food control), it is not allowed to bring opened water bottles back to the restaurant. Guests are of course welcome to take them to their room and drink it there.
Best regards
Uli Moosmann
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

A great choice for single travellers, couples and families alike, with friendly staff, modern facilities and an enviable beachfront location. If you want a seat by the pool, get there early! But there’s plenty of sun loungers for hotel guests to use on the beach. The centre of Rethymno is about 20-30 minutes walk from the hotel, but there are plenty of shops close by. As a solo traveller I’ve felt perfectly safe and relaxed here during a week long break, and am already planning another Sentido holiday next year.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank louisej856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uli M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Hello Louise,
thank you very much for your great review on Tripadvisor!
It is wonderful to read that you made such good experience during your stay that you already plan another SENTIDO holiday next year!
Sunny greetings from Rethymnon
Uli Moosmann
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2019

We stayed for 1 week. All areas of the hotel was kept clean and tidy. The staff were extremely friendly and the hospitality was excellent. The food was buffet style with a good variety to choose from. The rooms were spacious with comfortable beds.
It was a lovely hotel with wonderful staff. The local people were also very friendly and English was spoken everywhere. I would most definitely recommend the Pearl beach and would certainly like to return.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank cbuonsenso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uli M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2019

Good morning from Rethymnon,
we thank you very much for this great review on Tripadvisor and the high score you honour us and our SENTIDO Pearl Beach hotel.
It is always very motivating if clients enjoy their stay and leave with the wish in their heart to come back to us!
Looking already forward to your next visit!
All the best
Uli Moosmann
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019

The staff was nice. Especially good service by those who served for breakfast.

The beds were worn out and the mattresses were very hard.

It was very difficult to regulate the temperature of the shower and the water pressure was very poor.

The wireless coverage was very poor in the room and the internet speed was generally poor.
No WiFi in the room.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rethymnon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uli M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019


Good morning from Rethymnon,
we thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor and for sharing your opinion with other travelers.
It is good to read that especially the outstanding service for breakfast impressed you very much.
In case clients have any complaints or problems, either the reception or I myself, responsible for guest relation, will try to find a solution to make the stay as pleasant as possible.
In all our rooms there should be WIFI, for hard mattresses we can put a mattress topper and for the bathroom problem we could have sent the technician....
Best regards
Uli Moosmann
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2019

Spent two weeks on half board and the food was excellent, plenty of choice and lots of it. On reflection, we could have stayed full board because we had a light lunch most days in the pool bar and found it to be less expensive than other local Tavernas. Over the road there is a private beach area where 2 sun loungers cost 6eu per day. The beach manager is great and provides food and drink service from the bar. As you go in the sea, the beach can be very pebbly so take beach shoes.

All the staff are fantastic, but the Pool Bar & Restaurant staff were particularly good and very friendly. Housekeeping were faultless - very clean. There are some mosquitoes but the hotel provides plug in repellents. Very comfy rooms with air conditioning, good showers, spotlessly clean and quiet. The hotel was quiet and peaceful, until a very large & extremely noisy English party arrived - just bad luck I suppose!!

It's a long walk to the town centre, don't try it in the heat but the old town is lovely. We took a day trip to Santorini from Rethymno, fabulous but very, very expensive for 5 of us. The Scuba Diving lesson with Kalypso Diving Centre is well worth it and great fun. A day trip to Knossos and Heraklion was interesting and good value.

Only niggle is the hotel restaurant dinner dress code, where men have to wear long trousers. It's a strange "sexist" rule as the women can (and do) wear anything they like. Disappointing to see some men wearing "scraggy" tracksuit bottoms or decimated jeans, our boys took smart shorts and it was a shame they couldn't wear them there. No smoking areas would be good too, as some chain smokers kept sitting beside us, oblivious to their odious stink!! They weren't Greek so they should know better.

But the excellent staff and facilities made the whole stay wonderful and we'd definitely recommend it.

Room tip: Sea views are nice but you don't get the sun in the evening.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farahadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uli M, Leiter Gästebetreuung at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2019

Hello Farah,
We thank you very much for this great feedback and high score you honor us and our SENTIDO Pearl Beach hotel. It makes us happy to read that you and your family had a fantastic stay and we could fulfill all your expectations.
Your comment about the dress code we will discuss by our next management meeting.
In case you plan another holiday on our beautiful island of Crete we would be happy to have the pleasure of welcoming you again!
All the best
Uli Moosmann
Holiday Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews