We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (674)
Filter reviews
674 results
Traveler rating
306
277
62
16
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
306
277
62
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel great holiday old town half board sun loungers buffet style two weeks per day on a daily basis private pool taxi sea alexandra crete mealtimes promenade harris
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 674 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

There were many positive and negative points to this hotel:
Positives=
*cleaners were exceptional, we had a room that got messy with a 2 year old every day and it was made immaculate each day with fresh towels
*Food was plenty to choose from and fresh but no basic food available if you are a 'fussy' eater.
*all inclusive drinks were plenty to choose from including some cocktails. Served from 10:30-23:00.

Now some negative points;
*there was one member of of staff at the pool bar who was very miserable. I felt like I was asking for a favour each time we wanted a drink. She clearly didn't want to be there. The rest were in general very good and couldn't do enough for you.
*there was no up front notification that long trousers were required for dinner. There were lots in our party that didn't have trousers so had to go to the local fashion shop to buy some. This should have been communicated up front.
*really not ideal for children.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MattAzza93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis K, General Manager at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning, and many thanks for choosing to stay at Sentido Pearl Beach and for taking the time to share your views and evaluation of our Hotel. We would also want to thank you for your positive comments about the quality and range of our food, the broad range of AI choices on drinks and spirits, including cocktails, and the high standards of cleanliness and hygiene which are the result of the work of our Housekeeping staff! We will pass your review on to Mrs Papamichelaki, Housekeeping Manager, and we are sure that the manager and the team will be delighted! We hear your negative point about the pool bar staff and we would want to note that so far, we have never received a negative comment about the attitude of our pool bar staff. However, we take your point seriously and we are closely monitoring the pool bar services with a view to correct such issues where found. The Dinner at Pearl Beach has a basic dress-code and long trousers are one of its rules; the dress-code is presented on all electronic and printed catalogues of all tour operators with who we cooperate, it is available on the website of the Hotel and there's also a large sign outside the entrance of the Restaurant. We regret that we don't advertise Pearl Beach Hotel as a classic 'Family & Kids' Hotel. Pearl Beach is a family-friendly Hotel, which offers basic services for families with kids (baby cot, children's pool, baby chair at the Restaurant) as well as one special event every two weeks (Tony's Magic Show), but we do not have an outdoors playground for children. Once more thank you for choosing Pearl Beach and for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel. With our best wishes from Rethymno, Crete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked through British Airways package holiday and would return in a heartbeat. Shuttle transfer from Chania airport took just over an hour to the hotel - where we were greeted warmly with orange squash and cold face-towels and shown to our rooms.
The room was lovely - great shower, balcony over-looking the garden and tea-making facilities provided. We'd booked for a standard room so assumed we'd get two double beds, instead it was a double and single bed but that wasn't really an issue for us. Only flaw with the room was the lack of iron or ironing board.
We booked bed and breakfast so can only comment on breakfast - which was was varied and delicious - including hot foods, pastries, fruits, yoghurts, and even a little health-food section. I particularly enjoyed juicing my own orange juice every morning - great arm work-out!
The hotel itself was spotless - the pool was lovely and quiet, we never had an issue getting a sunbed. Margarita on reception was amazing - speaking at least 4 languages fluently - no question or request was too much bother for her.
The beach is literally just across the street, 6 euro for 2 beds and an umbrella for the whole day (for non-all-inclusive guests). The hotel snack bar did some lovely sandwiches and wraps for lunch which you would sit in and eat or order from the beach - living the dream. Haris working on the beach could not do enough for you and was a great personality.
We particularly enjoyed our stay here as it was very quiet - this hotel is about a 40 minute walk from Rethymno old town (you can also get buses and taxis) where its a fair bit busier. We enjoyed walking in to the old town a couple of times, but there were more than enough taverns and bars within a short walk of the hotel to keep you going if you didn't want to venture that far.
Overall we couldn't have asked for any more from our stay and would really recommend this place to anyone looking for a quiet getaway.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nitch0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis K, General Manager at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good afternoon, and many thanks for choosing to stay at Sentido Pearl Beach, and for taking the time to write up and post this excellent review of our Hotel! We are so happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay in Rethymno, even more so in view of your point that we managed to have a very significant impact on your holiday experience! We are very glad that you appreciated and top rated Pearl Beach Hotel and its facilities, its quiet and very privileged location just a few meters away from the north coastline of Rethymno and our sandy beach, and within walking distance from the Old Town and our very high standards of cleanliness and hygiene. We feel so great to see that you have expressed your full satisfaction through positive comments regarding all our Departments and Services, appreciating and enjoying the quality and range of the Breakfast Buffet of Pearl Beach Restaurant which also offers a special set of healthy food options, as well as the lovely sandwiches and lunch wraps of Pearl Beach Snack Bar, which as you significantly noticed, are also available to order from the fully serviced private beach of Pearl Hotels. Haris is always doing his best and, as a result of his true love for his work in hospitality, he smiles all the time, generating endless positive energy that colours the atmosphere, thus becoming extremely popular among Pearl Beach guests - a true local legend! We will pass your positive comments on to him, and we're sure he's going to be delighted!

Your appreciation and positive notes about Margarita are truly moving - she's always most happy to do the best to take care of our guests' requests with a smile as fast as possible and in the most effective manner. Your mention will be communicated to Margarita and we are sure it will make her feel great, as your positive feedback on the quality of the services offered by our genuinely friendly and hospitable staff is extremely valuable for us. It shows us that we are doing things right, making us feel proud and giving us even more strength in our constant attempts to further raise our standards. Finally, an ironing set (iron/ironing board) is not made available in each room for reasons of health and safety, but irons are available at the Pearl Beach Reception to be borrowed by our guests on request, and there's also an ironing service available for which you can receive more information at the Reception! Thanks so much for your very positive public recommendation, it was truly great to have you and your daughter as our guests and we would be most happy to welcome you back! With our best wishes and sunny greetings from the shining Pearl of Rethymno, Crete!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019

Good hotel with slightly small but comfortable rooms. Good beds. Breakfast quality is continental with light and fluffy foods. The hotel is well away from the city and approx. half an hour walk needed to the city. Short distance to the beach right across the street.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Morten0364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis K, General Manager at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Good afternoon, Morten, and thank you for staying at Pearl Beach and for posting your nice review of our Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Rethymno and that you appreciated and enjoyed your Hotel. Should you plan to travel to lovely Rethymno again some time in the future, we will be very happy to welcome you back. With our best wishes from Crete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018

We spent 2 weeks here in September and it was lovely. Food was lovely and enough choices the staff are very friendly and helpful. We have never stayed in a sentido hotel before but if they are all like this we will stay in more. The only downside which wasn’t a major problem our room was next to what I assume was the cleaners room so it was quite noisy early in the morning that woke us up.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bharti F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Good afternoon and thank you for staying at Sentido Pearl Beach and for posting your very nice review of our Hotel! We are very happy to know that you perfectly enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated, enjoyed and highly rated Pearl Beach Hotel, the quality and range of our food and the genuinely friendly approach of our hospitable staff. We note your comment about the noise and we intend to discuss it with the Housekeeping Manager over the next general management meeting, with a view to take measures. Once more, thank you for your custom and nice review! Should you plan to travel to lovely Rethymno again some time in the future, we will be very happy to warmly welcome you back! With our best wishes and sunny greetings from Crete!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

I had a great vacation at this hotel with my family. It was me, my husband, my 11 month old baby in one room and my parents in another. All in all it was a great stay, but let me break it down:

+ The food was amazing, I think the best we had at a hotel. We were half-board. Both breakfast and dinner had a great variety of options and I also found a lot of things to feed my baby. There was a lot of Greek food (this is what we came for, so yey), fish, seafood even, but there were also great options for my parents who are not very adventurous eaters like chicken, veal and pork. Everything was delicious.
+ The employees were very nice and helpful
+ The rooms were clean and practical, we had everything we needed and plenty of towels
+ Air conditioning (tip: you have to close the balcony door in order for it to work)
+ Fridge, which is actually a mini-bar. They also left us some complementary water when we arrived, which was so needed (we had a late flight)
+ The pool was nice, perfect water temperature and plenty sunbeds
+ The beach was very close and very clean, we also had the option of ordering drinks and food directly on the beach
+ A lot of markets and taverns around

Some minor things I think can be improved:

- a double bed instead of two twins put together. Although I think it's common practice in the area because it was the same for all the hotels I looked at, I just hate it. They were very nice to put a baby bed in room, but our baby sleeps in our bed and I always had to put things between the beds so he didn't get stuck in there.
- more fresh fruits for both breakfast and dinner

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank andap979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis K, General Manager at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Dear Anda, thank you for choosing Sentido Pearl Beach and for taking the time to post this great review of our Hotel! We are very happy to know that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay in Rethymno and that we managed to have such a positive impact on your holiday experience! We are very glad that you appreciated, enjoyed and highly rated Pearl Beach, its rooms and amenities, its location just a few meters away from the private, fully serviced sandy beach of the Hotel and within walking distance from the local markets and restaurants, the pool areas, the quality and range of our food, and the genuinely friendly and caring approach of our staff! We note your remark about the two singles put together instead of a double bed. We would want to inform you that we can deal with this issue on request: in effect, when a guest reports his dislike on that matter, we replace the two single mattresses with one double mattress, providing a comfortable double bed. With regard to the fruits, our buffet almost always has at least four different kinds of fruits. As our policy focuses on local sourcing, promoting and offering local fruit products which are also internationally renowned for their quality, as a result of their seasonality, sometimes our buffet offers more while other times it may offer slightly fewer fruit options. Once more, we would want to express our warm thanks for your custom and positive review! It was great to have you as our guests and we hope will have the opportunity and honour to welcome you back to Rethymno some time in the future! With our best wishes and sunny greetings from Crete!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews