We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveler rating
300
274
60
16
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
274
60
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel great holiday old town on arrival lovely hotel thomas cook beach road half board fine hotel star hotel cost euros sun loungers thoroughly enjoyed our stay the general manager evening entertainment buffet style greek dancing
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 663 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

The Sentido Pearl Beach hotel was very clean, with a very friendly staff that offered us always the help we needed.

The restaurant was always spotless. It had a variety of food (for us with a small child this was great). Some evenings they had Greek food or Fish specialities, and the rest of the nights they had all kinds of food, so for sure, you would have something to choose from. The breakfast was also diverse, although, with small differences, the same each morning.

The room was large, the balcony had a side sea view, but it was enough because the hotel is basicaly across the beach. The cleaning staff came each day to change our towels and to clean, althoug some days we put the "Do not disturb" sign and they ignored it.
One other thing was that each day the cleaning staff put the blankets in another place in the room and each night we had to look for them. And, at last nigh, they took them away so we didn't fiind them at all.

The beach was very clean (compared with the rest of them). It is marked with blue flag. It is a sand beach, but the entrance in the sea has a belt of stones that you have to go through.

They had someone on the beach taking orders (from the hotel bar menu) and bring it to your sunbed. The price for 1 umbrella and 2 sunbeds was 6 euro for the entire day. You receive a receipt for the money and you can return any time if you decide to eat at lunch someplace else.

They also have an exterior pool, but since the beach was across the hotel we didn't used it at all.

They do not have any children playing corner on the premise, this was a minus point for us. But than again: beach across the street :).

Regarding children, even if we had the impression that other guests were bothered at the restaurant because our girl was playing at the table, the hotel staff was always great and very supportive with her.

One important thing is, when we decided to book this hotel we researched the surroundings and the promenade using Google Steet View. This was a mistake because it has a very outdated preview.
The actual place is very clean, the promenade was rebuilt very nicely, so you can walk in the evening and see the sunset. It has a lot of stores and tavernas to eat. And it goes all the way to the venician port where there is a pretty lively night life.

Overall we had a pleasent stay and for sure we would return.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank YourFriendlyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Good afternoon and thank you for choosing to stay at Sentido Pearl Beach and for posting this excellent review of our Hotel! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Rethymno and that you appreciated, enjoyed and top-rated Pearl Beach Hotel and all its departments and services, from the Hotel itself, our high standards of cleanliness and hygiene, the rooms and our private, fully serviced blue flag beach just across the street, to the pool areas and the genuinely friendly and caring approach of our staff! We would also want to thank you for your observation about the Google Street View photo of Pearl Beach Hotel. You are absolutely right. Following your comment, we checked the photograph and submitted a report, asking for a new satellite photo to be placed, as the old one is truly outdated and does not represent the actual surroundings as they are at present. We would also want to thank you about your comment regarding the housekeeping and cleaning staff and their dealing with 'please do not disturb signs'. The issue will be raised in the next general management meeting with a view to ensure that this will never happen again. Once more, thank you for your custom and nice review! It was very nice to have you as our guests and we will be most happy to warmly welcome you back in the not so distant future! With our best wishes and sunny greetings from Rethymno, Crete!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed a great stay at Sentido Pearl Beach. Our room was nice and spacious. The food was very good and enough changes. It was better then usual hotels, more typical Greek food. Also the food you can order at the bar was very nice and rather cheap. The drinks are a bit overpriced. A set of two chairs at the beach was only 6 euro's for a whole day, it's a private beach. We had no problems concerning finding a chair at the pool. This is not a nice hotel for kids, but this off course was no problem for us. Staff is VERY friendly. Actually there was only one thing not good... Our room (60) was not soundproof at all and we heard already early in the morning a lot of noise. We we're next to the place we're cleaning ladies gathered all their things in the morning. But overal a very nice stay!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank lieselottea592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Good afternoon and thank you for staying at Sentido Pearl Beach and for taking the time to post your great review of our Hotel! We are very happy to hear that you and your daughter perfectly enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated, enjoyed and top-rated Pearl Beach, your room, the quality and range of the food of our Restaurant and Snack Bar, our private beach and the genuinely friendly and caring approach of our hospitable staff. We note your comment about the noise next to room no60, and the issue has already been raised during a general management meeting, which took place earlier this morning. Having not received any complaints about the soundproofing of the rooms of Pearl Hotels, which are all the same in terms of soundproofing, we assume that the issue has to do with the noise made by the housekeeping ladies. As a consequence, we are going to take measures, asking all housekeeping staff to keep the noise down and be as quiet as they can! Once more, thank you for your custom and positive review! Should you decide to travel to lovely Rethymno again some time in the future, we will be very happy to warmly welcome you back! With our best wishes from Crete!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

Sorry to say but this hotel was a disappointment. Let me explain why - first, we arrived at the hotel and were told almost immediately that we weren’t allowed to use one of the pools cause it was reserved for the “five star guests”. My boyfriend and I got the feeling that we didn’t have much value since we were “only” four star guests. Second - our hotel room were a big disappointment. It felt like we were living in a basement, dark.Things were broken, bed sheets were dirty etc. We chose this hotel from the ratings on TripAdvisor and since it had four stars even though it was much more expensive than other nice hotels that we looked at. Food in the hotels own restaurant was expensive and not very nice. Even the sun beds were overpriced. I seriously considered giving this hotel one star since it was such a disappointment but the breakfast was nice and the breakfast-staff were very service minded and thanks to them I give this hotel two stars.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lalawebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis K, General Manager at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Good afternoon and thank you for choosing Sentido Pearl Beach and for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel. We would want to thank you for your positive comments on our breakfast buffet and the caring and genuinely friendly approach of our restaurant staff to customer service. Our Sentido Pearl Hotels complex comprises two Hotels, that is, Sentido Aegean Pearl 5* and Sentido Pearl Beach 4*. Our guests at both Hotels are precious and have the same value for us. Each of the aforementioned two Hotels has its own amenities and services: that is, its own individual Reception, Restaurant and Bar. The case is the same when it comes to the swimming pools and pool areas, and especially during the high season, it is part of our work and quality control practices to monitor these areas to ensure that space is available for all guests, as occupancy rates at both Hotels range from very high to 100%. We regret that you did not report any of the issues you identified in relation to your room. Should we have received a report during your stay, we would have proceeded to offer you alternative options to move to another room. Finally, we hear your comment about the food at the Restaurant. We would want to kindly note that the vast majority of our guests' reviews and comments regarding food, on all travel review platforms and social media, rate the quality, presentation and range of our food very high. We would want to thank you for your custom. We hope we will have the opportunity to see you again some time in the future in order to offer you the high quality services for which we are widely known. With our best wishes and kind regards from Rethymno, Crete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

This was a beautiful hotel lovely and friendly staff always there to help, arrived 20th July in afternoon was shown to our room straight away by the concierge and wasn't disappointed with our room was on ground floor with its private pool for rooms 51-63 ours was 53 own sun beds outside so was really pleased with it not very big but you are on holiday so don't spend much time in there so can't really complain.The food at the hotel is fabulous we was half board you can also do all inclusive or self catering but there was no complaints with the food a good variety every day and excellant service it was buffet style so could just help yourself.The entertainment in the evening was good too but we did go out most nights to other bars here the drinks were lovely and service from the waitresses were spot on always there when your glass was empty all around our best holiday for a while and would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers 10 out of 10 for sure.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank seanjodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis K, General Manager at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Good afternoon and thank you for choosing Sentido Pearl Beach and for posting this amazing review of our Hotel! We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay in Rethymno and that we managed to have a positive impact on your holiday experience, as our guests' satisfaction is our ultimate aim and purpose! We are very glad that you appreciated, enjoyed and top-rated Pearl Beach Hotel, your room and its access to the private pool, the quality and range of our food, the genuinely friendly and caring approach of our staff and our entertainment & animation programme!! We would also want to thank you for your kind public recommendation! It was very nice to have you as our guests and, should you plan to travel to lovely Rethymno again some time in the future, we will be very happy to warmly welcome you back. With our best wishes and sunny greetings from Crete!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

When first arriving we were warmly welcomed and taken to our room. I was not satisfied with the room we were allocated so we spoke to the Hotel Concierge and we ended up in a lower ground room right next to a pool. Great setting actually (room 54). This hotel was different to every hotel we have stayed in. The location is just excellent- right opposite a sandy beach. The rooms were good with comfortable beds/TV/ tea and coffee facilities and they were cleaned very well on a daily basis. The food served in the restaurant each day was delicious, so much effort and thought is put into providing a real variety of delicious meals ( it does not feel bulk standard at all). At mealtimes the staff are exceptionally welcoming and friendly. The waiters Alekos, Popi and Iru stood out and even gave us ideas about places to visit on the Island. Alexandra was great too. Thank you!The Managers regularly greeted us in the restaurant and checked we were happy. We rented a car (my only warning is don't use Inter-City car rental up the road from the hotel- poor old cars, poor service) and highlights of our time on the Island of Crete included visiting the paradise of Preveli beach, scuba diving at Kalypso dive school, visiting Reptisland ( this was quite an experience as I had never handled a snake before) and visiting Zoniana spilia caves. Entertainment at the hotel was fun and relaxing to watch or participate in- Greek night on Thursdays is very popular. Many of the visitors to this hotel have come back year after year....I can see why! I would highly recommend this wonderfully hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Jiflemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis K, General Manager at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Good afternoon! We would want to express our warm thanks for choosing to stay at Sentido Pearl Beach and for taking the time to write up and publish this amazing review of our Hotel! We are very happy to hear that you perfectly enjoyed your stay with us and that we manages to have such a positive impact on your holiday experience! We are also very glad that you appreciated, enjoyed and top-rated Pearl Beach Hotel, its location by the sandy beach of Rethymno and within walking distance from the shops, taverns, restaurants and action of the city center and Old Town, the rooms, the quality and range of our food, our animation & entertainment programme and the genuinely friendly and caring approach of our hospitable staff and the special attention of the Hotel Management... It's wonderful that you did so great in finding your way around the city and prefecture of Rethymno, identifying and visiting a range of great more special local destinations such as the spectacular Palm Beach of Preveli, Kalypso Diving School in Plakias, the caves off Zoniana village and Reptisland! It's been great to have you as our guests and we hope we will have the opportunity and honour to warmly welcome you back in the not so distant future. With our best wishes and sunny greetings from Rethymno, Crete!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews