We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveler rating
300
274
60
16
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
300
274
60
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister hotel great holiday old town on arrival lovely hotel thomas cook beach road half board fine hotel star hotel cost euros sun loungers thoroughly enjoyed our stay the general manager evening entertainment buffet style greek dancing
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 663 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

Sorry to say but this hotel was a disappointment. Let me explain why - first, we arrived at the hotel and were told almost immediately that we weren’t allowed to use one of the pools cause it was reserved for the “five star guests”. My boyfriend and I got the feeling that we didn’t have much value since we were “only” four star guests. Second - our hotel room were a big disappointment. It felt like we were living in a basement, dark.Things were broken, bed sheets were dirty etc. We chose this hotel from the ratings on TripAdvisor and since it had four stars even though it was much more expensive than other nice hotels that we looked at. Food in the hotels own restaurant was expensive and not very nice. Even the sun beds were overpriced. I seriously considered giving this hotel one star since it was such a disappointment but the breakfast was nice and the breakfast-staff were very service minded and thanks to them I give this hotel two stars.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lalawebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis K, General Manager at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Good afternoon and thank you for choosing Sentido Pearl Beach and for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel. We would want to thank you for your positive comments on our breakfast buffet and the caring and genuinely friendly approach of our restaurant staff to customer service. Our Sentido Pearl Hotels complex comprises two Hotels, that is, Sentido Aegean Pearl 5* and Sentido Pearl Beach 4*. Our guests at both Hotels are precious and have the same value for us. Each of the aforementioned two Hotels has its own amenities and services: that is, its own individual Reception, Restaurant and Bar. The case is the same when it comes to the swimming pools and pool areas, and especially during the high season, it is part of our work and quality control practices to monitor these areas to ensure that space is available for all guests, as occupancy rates at both Hotels range from very high to 100%. We regret that you did not report any of the issues you identified in relation to your room. Should we have received a report during your stay, we would have proceeded to offer you alternative options to move to another room. Finally, we hear your comment about the food at the Restaurant. We would want to kindly note that the vast majority of our guests' reviews and comments regarding food, on all travel review platforms and social media, rate the quality, presentation and range of our food very high. We would want to thank you for your custom. We hope we will have the opportunity to see you again some time in the future in order to offer you the high quality services for which we are widely known. With our best wishes and kind regards from Rethymno, Crete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018 via mobile

This was a beautiful hotel lovely and friendly staff always there to help, arrived 20th July in afternoon was shown to our room straight away by the concierge and wasn't disappointed with our room was on ground floor with its private pool for rooms 51-63 ours was 53 own sun beds outside so was really pleased with it not very big but you are on holiday so don't spend much time in there so can't really complain.The food at the hotel is fabulous we was half board you can also do all inclusive or self catering but there was no complaints with the food a good variety every day and excellant service it was buffet style so could just help yourself.The entertainment in the evening was good too but we did go out most nights to other bars here the drinks were lovely and service from the waitresses were spot on always there when your glass was empty all around our best holiday for a while and would definitely recommend this hotel to other travellers 10 out of 10 for sure.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank seanjodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis K, General Manager at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2018

Good afternoon and thank you for choosing Sentido Pearl Beach and for posting this amazing review of our Hotel! We are so happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay in Rethymno and that we managed to have a positive impact on your holiday experience, as our guests' satisfaction is our ultimate aim and purpose! We are very glad that you appreciated, enjoyed and top-rated Pearl Beach Hotel, your room and its access to the private pool, the quality and range of our food, the genuinely friendly and caring approach of our staff and our entertainment & animation programme!! We would also want to thank you for your kind public recommendation! It was very nice to have you as our guests and, should you plan to travel to lovely Rethymno again some time in the future, we will be very happy to warmly welcome you back. With our best wishes and sunny greetings from Crete!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

When first arriving we were warmly welcomed and taken to our room. I was not satisfied with the room we were allocated so we spoke to the Hotel Concierge and we ended up in a lower ground room right next to a pool. Great setting actually (room 54). This hotel was different to every hotel we have stayed in. The location is just excellent- right opposite a sandy beach. The rooms were good with comfortable beds/TV/ tea and coffee facilities and they were cleaned very well on a daily basis. The food served in the restaurant each day was delicious, so much effort and thought is put into providing a real variety of delicious meals ( it does not feel bulk standard at all). At mealtimes the staff are exceptionally welcoming and friendly. The waiters Alekos, Popi and Iru stood out and even gave us ideas about places to visit on the Island. Alexandra was great too. Thank you!The Managers regularly greeted us in the restaurant and checked we were happy. We rented a car (my only warning is don't use Inter-City car rental up the road from the hotel- poor old cars, poor service) and highlights of our time on the Island of Crete included visiting the paradise of Preveli beach, scuba diving at Kalypso dive school, visiting Reptisland ( this was quite an experience as I had never handled a snake before) and visiting Zoniana spilia caves. Entertainment at the hotel was fun and relaxing to watch or participate in- Greek night on Thursdays is very popular. Many of the visitors to this hotel have come back year after year....I can see why! I would highly recommend this wonderfully hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Jiflemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis K, General Manager at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2018

Good afternoon! We would want to express our warm thanks for choosing to stay at Sentido Pearl Beach and for taking the time to write up and publish this amazing review of our Hotel! We are very happy to hear that you perfectly enjoyed your stay with us and that we manages to have such a positive impact on your holiday experience! We are also very glad that you appreciated, enjoyed and top-rated Pearl Beach Hotel, its location by the sandy beach of Rethymno and within walking distance from the shops, taverns, restaurants and action of the city center and Old Town, the rooms, the quality and range of our food, our animation & entertainment programme and the genuinely friendly and caring approach of our hospitable staff and the special attention of the Hotel Management... It's wonderful that you did so great in finding your way around the city and prefecture of Rethymno, identifying and visiting a range of great more special local destinations such as the spectacular Palm Beach of Preveli, Kalypso Diving School in Plakias, the caves off Zoniana village and Reptisland! It's been great to have you as our guests and we hope we will have the opportunity and honour to warmly welcome you back in the not so distant future. With our best wishes and sunny greetings from Rethymno, Crete!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

Good size basic room room, clean and decent aircon (was over 30 every day). Breakfast was buffet style and was decent with a good choice, even for the vegans in our family. Bar was reasonable, not that much more expensive than the local taverna's. the pools were on the small side and loungers were scarce in the afternoon, the hotels loungers on the beach were 6 euro's per day. Good selection of taverna's and restaurants close by as well as a couple of supermarkets (the rooms have a small fridge you're free to use)

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonBluepalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis K, General Manager at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Good afternoon and thank you for staying at Sentido Pearl Beach and for posting your nice review of our Hotel. We are glad that you appreciated and enjoyed Pearl Beach, our rooms, the quality and range of our breakfast and the location by the sandy beach and within short walking distance from the local tavernas and restaurants. We also hope that our entertainment and animation programme matched your expectations! Should you plan to travel to lovely Rethymno some time in the future, we will be very happy to welcome you back. With our best wishes and sunny greetings from Crete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here mid June this year, I’ll start with the positives! The restaurant staff were lovely, smiley and very friendly. The food was cooked fresh and tasty, a lot of variety and each night something different was on offer. The hotel did a different type of entertainment every night which we never personally went to but sounded good from afar. The pool looked nice although we never went in as we’re more beach people! The mattresses were comfortable and the rooms were cleaned daily. The hotel had their own sun lounges on the beach, which you can pay €6 for the day, including a parasol and table. There’s also a lovely gentleman whom came and gave you menus to smoothies and food! Which is very convenient. Now for the negatives, if you’re one for staying in and around the hotel for your whole holiday, which we aren’t, there wasn’t that much to do in the way of activities etc (we did jet ski and buggy ride but that’s only 2 days worth and half days at that) and the only real way you can walk was into rethymno town, which was beautiful! The beds came with only one pillow each, which meant that it got some getting used to sleeping on, and unfortunately on our first night (we arrived around 4am) there were hairs on the pillows, but being so tired we just brushed them off as no point moaning. Now these other details would be something I’d usually just deal with and ignore, but since the hotel advertises its 4stars everywhere, I thought this was wrong. The shower head, I’ll post a picture of, had limescale all over it. Throughout the week I was flicking bits of black off the shower head so that the water would flow straight down and not spray other directions (picture is from the last day, so not too much black on there) This would be such an easy fix, a simple bit of wiping and chemicals and then a quick wipe everyday would keep this clean! Also, my partners bath towel had holes in it, and so did the bed linen! Part of me wonders if the 4* hotel has the hand-me-downs from the sister 5* hotel. Now don’t get me wrong, I had a lovely holiday in a sunny location with very friendly helpful people, I just think that the complaints I have are things the hotel might be able to take on board and correct before someone who’s not as care free as my partner and I experiences them.
Also! I recommend the bar “Zeus” a very friendly lovely gentleman and very cheap (strong) drinks. Look out for it on the way into rethymno town.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 256corinneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis K, General Manager at SENTIDO Pearl Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2018

Dear Corinne, thank you for staying at Sentido Pearl Beach and for taking the time to post your review of our Hotel. We would also want to warmly thank you for your positive comments about Pearl Beach Hotel, the quality and range of our food, the pool areas and our serviced private beach just across the street. We are receiving your negative comments as a clear opportunity to improve the quality of our services and offerings. The ultimate aim and purpose of our company's philosophy is the provision of the highest possible quality of service to our guests, and your critique is very useful in the framework of our actions towards that direction. All aforementioned problems will be raised in the next general management meeting with a view to take immediate corrective measures. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future in order to assess our improvements on the aforementioned issues. Once more, thank you for your custom and useful feedback. With our best wishes and sunny greetings from Rethymno, Crete.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews