We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor start but most enjoyable holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SENTIDO Pearl Beach
Ranked #13 of 166 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor start but most enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here previously in 1999 and had nice low cost holiday. We decided to try again as Jet2 now offered as a package from Leeds Bradford airport at a reasonable price for 4 star. On our arrival we were greeted by the customer liaison person who advised us that a room was not available for us and that we would stay in the Agean Pearl for one night. We were disappointed having booked our holiday in February and that we would not be able to settle in and unpack until the following day. The room in the Agean was fine, apart from the view onto the backs of other buildings. We were told to go to reception the following morning after 10 am for our change of room. The room we were directed to had very old furniture and a small double bed that looked worn out, scratched and tatty, and the wooden floor was scratched and very worn also, certainly not 4 star standard, having stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels in Crete on several occasions we knew what the standards are so we went back to reception and asked for another room, explaining that we felt let down by what we had seen. We were offered another room to look at and this was exceptionally better with newer beds, slightly newer furniture and a tiled floor. The bathroom had a shower cubicle instead of a bath and the shower head needed a good clean or replacement and the bathroom although cleaned regularly never seemed scrupulously clean. The room also had access to a shared private pool, being situated now on the ground floor. Unfortunately, the terrace was covered and shaded by overhanging trees and shrubs and had lots of flying insects, I have a bad allergic reaction to mosquito bites so it wasn't in ideal surroundings, but we decided to make the most of it as the room was better and we would be spending most of the day at the beach anyway. I did my best to avoid the mosquitos by keeping the windows closed, using the plug-ins and sprays, but the maids opened the windows when cleaning and left them open. I suffered a bite and had a very bad reaction. If anyone else is prone to severe reactions to bites I would suggest you ask for some antibiotic cream at the chemist, which I was prescribed by the owners of the chemist at the start of the Old Town. The owners are very helpful and the cream they prescribed worked as soon as I put it on and calmed and healed my bite in hours rather than days! 'The usual creams are not strong enough', I was advised by them when they saw my bite! I wish I had known this before! We asked reception for a room higher up to avoid the insects and have some sunshine and we were told that it would be three days before one would be available. The room offered was higher up, but it was of a similar standard to the first room and it was situated on the side of the hotel with the view onto the side street where noisy vehicles passed by. We decided to stay put. We also asked for mattress toppers as the beds were too hard, this was dealt with the next time the maids changed the beds, that was a major improvement, we were also given extra pillows at our request, light bulbs were replaced immediately and I can only say that the hotel staff does all it can to meet your requirements if you are specific with your requests. Looking back I think they would have dealt with the flora had I have mentioned it! The management greet guests in the dining room two or three times a week, we were on half board basis and ate there each evening. I was given the impression that they would be ready to listen if you had a complaint that hadn't been dealt with by reception. The reception staff are very helpful and the restaurant staff are friendly and obliging. The food is of an international buffet style with added Greek dishes. We always found something enjoyable on offer. As in other hotels we have stayed in we had to pay for water at the table, a couple of euros, but you did not have to order it. You are not allowed to bring in your own drinks. We didn't bother to try the beds at the pool, as mostly they were taken, but there were occasions when we could have had a couple of beds. It was very easy to walk to the beach and pay six euros per day (even though it belongs to the hotel) to have our own perfect spot. The sunbed attendant at the beach was great and was also eager to help with any request for beds and snacks if required. We enjoyed bathing in the Cretan breeze, where the heat can go unnoticed. The short walk over the road to and from the hotel is a doddle. Entertainment is on most evenings between 9 pm and 11 pm. It can be confusing that the reps work from the Agean and flight notices for the Pearl Beach are kept there. Our departure notice advised us to be picked up at the Pearl Beach, but when the pick up time came and went and no bus arrived we asked the reception and we were told that pick up is always from the Agean due to the bus area outside the Agean! Also a lot of guests are on an all inclusive basis not offered on Jet2. There is a vast difference between the Agean and the Pearl Beach in terms of 4 star and 5 star. I prefer the less formal 4 star but the compromise is the quality of the rooms, which in my experience is not 4 star. I would only return if I could be guaranteed a room of choice and not have to worry that I was going to have to wait for adequate rooms to become available, which might not happen. When booking with Jet2 there is no choice of room. All in all we enjoyed our quiet, cool room with air conditioning plus the choice of eating at the hotel or a local taverna - the first one up the side of the hotel on the left hand side is very friendly and the food is excellent. We did not have tea making facilities so were pleased that we had packed our travel kettle! Management please update the Pearl Beach, you are letting down customers who are allocated substandard rooms in an otherwise lovely hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LJay27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    243
    53
    14
    13
See reviews for
117
323
26
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. The place in it's self is lovely and the staff on reception are friendly and helpful. On arrival we were shown to our room which could only be described as a basement. on complaining we were given another room which was better but in badly need of up dating, furniture was very 70s. The bathroom was poorly maintained, toilet seat loose, bath stained and the extractor fan was so very noisy. Which is such a shame as the gardens around these rooms are so beautiful. Sun beds are a problem as not enough.people will go out early place towels on them and not use them which is very unfair. Overall the holiday was enjoyable but would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynn1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

After doing quite a lot of research and having visited other Greek Islands, We already had a picture in mind of what we wanted...beach front, history, culture and the "venetian" architecture. Rethymnon definitely didn't disappoint!
We stayed at the Pearl beach from 30th July to the 6th August and on arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome at the sister 5 star Aegean Pearl hotel. They allowed us relax and brought us a cold towel and a glass of juice whilst we filled out the paperwork, a very nice touch I thought. We couldn't have asked for a better room (332) we had a fantastic view of the sea and it also over looked the pool and bar area. The room had a good sized balcony, nice bathroom, fridge and was clean (cleaned daily). Although overlooking the pool and bar area we never experienced any noise. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and breakfast was very good. They offered a good selection of food and most days we went down for breakfast after 9 and still found there was a good choice of food. My partner loved the coffee!

There was a variety of nationalities staying at this hotel, but it was mainly British, French and German guests and I felt that everyone was treated equally regardless of nationality. As mentioned in previous reviews people felt they were favouring certain nationalities over others, this just wasn't the case. The staff were brilliant, couldn't do enough for you and worked very hard. Same staff were there every day, working long hours and they made your stay as welcome as possible. We had lunch a few times at the hotel and found it to be very good, the blonde lady who worked at lunchtimes and a young lad who worked at breakfast time were both lovely, chatty and friendly. Also a mention to the lady on reception, who was also very helpful and we were impressed by her fluent linguistic skills, in the space of 10 minutes she had flipped between 4 different languages. The pool area was busy but we always found a table and chairs to sit at around the pool and after an hour of two, 2 sun loungers would become available, we never found it an issue. The pool was a very good size and clean (going as deep as 2,70m) and we felt personally was better than that of the 5 star pool.

With regards to the Thomas Cook Rep Chloe we thought she was helpful and resourceful and compared to other tour operator reps was much better. We did a few trips during our stay but decided to do them alone rather than pay over the odds through a tour operator. We visited Chania and Knossos...both definitely worth a visit! We did both locations by bus, trip to Chania cost us 12 euros each on the bus and then Knossos cost us 25 euros each, bus to Heraklion and then another one to Knossos (much cheaper than paying 50 euros with Thomas cook) and we found the buses simple to use and not full of tourists. Tip don't do Knossos on a sunday...this is one of the days the tour companies go and can get very busy!

In regards to Rethymnon itself, it was about a 40 minute walk along the beach to the old town, we walked most days but you could also get a bus there for 1 euro (bus stop around the corner) or a taxi ride for 5 euros. The old town is full of character and charm, narrow little cobbled streets with beautiful flowers and venetian buildings. We ate out a most nights in the old town, these places included La Casa, La Piazza, Alana and Larenzo Taverna. All of which were excellent! Great food, atmosphere and service, every place offered us either a free little dessert or drink afterwards.

Overall we had a brilliant holiday, fab hotel, good location and it offered everything we wanted from a holiday! We will definitely be returning one day! Bob on Holiday!

Room Tip: Room 332! On the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Hungary, Hungary
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

At reception Margherita was sweet, i asked for sea view room, and we get corner sea view room.

The food was good, we had half board.At restaurant Ioanna, one of waiters,is very very kind with us.

The rooms, maybe need some furniture renovation, but its clean.

Nice location, but the old town is 45 minutes on foot on the beach promenade.

The beach is clean,well organized,but a little bit crowded front of the hotel.We enjoyed nearly SPA Hotel's beach, and we found a helpful beach boy, who's name Nektarios.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeva72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

You need to realise that the hotel is situated on corner of the one-way road leading to the Beach Road which goes to the town of Rethymnon. This main “strip” is everything we did not want from a Greek Island Holiday. On one side there are big hotels, neon lights, cheap gift shops, and bars thumping out music, if you walk on this side of the road you are constantly harrassed by restaurant owners. If you walk on the other side by the beach, you are harassed by beggars and street hawkers with the smell of the sewers from the town drain systems! We likened this place to Malia.

We paid nearly £2000 for this holiday for 2 of us staying on a half-board basis. We feel like we have been duped. We arrived after 11.00pm and were shown into the reception area of the Sentido Aegean Pearl, which is the 5 star sister hotel which shares the site with the 4 star Sentido Pearl Beach. We were greeted by very friendly staff; our bags were immediately taken from us by a porter and told to sit in the lovely reception area by the manager where we were brought warm flannels and a cold drink. He then asked us for our accommodation voucher and stated “you are not staying here but next door.” Things went downhill from then.

We had requested a beach view. To be fair we did have a beach view on the corner of two very busy roads, the noise of all the coaches dropping people off at the numerous hotels along the main beach road was constant, along with local youths bombing along on mopeds and motorbikes and the honk of horns from frustrated locals who were held up by the coaches and the taxis who used the corner as an unofficial taxi rank. If you choose to sit on the balcony you were choked with traffic fumes and if that didn’t get you the cigarette smoke from surrounding balconies did.

The room was very small and basic (no way was this 4 star even by Greek standards). The bath with overhead shower was so narrow that the very cheep, and stained, plastic shower curtain stuck to you as you were showering (uch!) There was a drain in the bathroom floor and every time someone flushed a toilet there was a gurgle from the drain and the sewage smell was overwhelming. We did complain to reception about this and they sent a technician but this did not improve.

We were unable to secure sunbeds around the pool area on all but one day because people save them with their towels from 7.30am onwards so we went to the other pool at the front of hotel, but after being here for 1 hour a manager came and asked for our room number, he then said you cannot use this pool it is for the guests of the 5 star Sentido Aegean only , you will have to move. We couldn’t find a sunbed around our allocated pool (which has no view apart from the concrete balconies) so we went across the road to the beach where the hotel provides sunbeds at a cost of 6 euros per day, even though you have paid to stay at the hotel and cannot find a sunbed around the pool area! Our tip is not to pay the hotel 6 euros but to go to the right of the beach where you will find sunbeds for the same price where you are not crammed in like sardines and you cannot hear the noise of traffic from the road, furthermore the money goes to a local rather than the hotel chain.

Some positives are that the food was of a good standard, although if you leave it to the last ½ hour before then end of service food is whipped away before you eyes. One morning my husband wanted some jam to go on his toast and he was told it had finished and to look elsewhere. The waiting staff talk and shout to each other across the restaurant and you are unsure whether they are talking about you especially when you have refused to buy a bottle of water.

Margerita on reception was lovely and really helped us in recommending other places on Crete to visit. In the end we hired a car, drove to the south of the island and stayed a vine covered taverna with room, right on the beach, where all we could hear were the cicadas and the waves from the sea – and Mama did the cooking - absolute bliss and much cheaper than the Sentido Pearl!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were in Sentido Pearl Beach in the second week of July. The arrival was totally different than what I met before in Greek hotels, with a wonderful welcome, refreshing towels, cold juice and pleasant words. The room is well organized, probably not 4 stars but this is compensated by the nice view to the beach and the sea. Even the furniture and the TV should be changed in a short time, everything works and the AC is quiet and efficient. The personal do all the best to offer a very good service and even few abnormal events appear they solved as soon as possible. Even the restaurant is a nice place and also the personal is friendly, the quality of the food wasn’t at the same level, breakfast or dinner. I notice though the Greek fish evening with testy “calamari” and shrimps but a very Greek fish salmon. A very good honey too. I let at the end the most wonderful place in the hotel, the garden. You should see it live.
As a general impression a pleasant week in a relaxing place with a good price/quality. I hope to be more persuasively in the added photos.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanG04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suomi Fi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

we are giving points to hotels from feeling. Sentido Pearls personal has been nice on the background giving right time friendly help and let customers feel free live like at home. The best personal is not always saying what You do or not. Pearl was our own summer villa one week in July 13. Thank You - it was lovely time travel there and here in Crete. Meeting people.

The room was sunny but the cooler worked best ever. Windows and terass to the silent street and belonging to the three star class and TV only 2 stars - but we opened it only once ;-) Summer holiday and 60 Year Birthday. Travel bureau sent to my wife a bottle of good wine and some little thing to say Happy Birthday (Apollo Tours - great job! Thanks!)

Rich buffet boards every Day changing seemed to be good for everyone - fresh and tasty - no troubles in that. There was not small kids - so don´t know that side. Serving personal had one Day maybe inside problems - there was new faces and the feelings icy. Happily one Day only and after that all operations were fast and with warm smile again. Thanks for that.

All in hotel was fine except the lack of information where to find important places. Information room with hotel books etc. we did find at third Day of stay. But - we never ASKED help .....

Beach is just over the street and as usual. But do ask personal about towels to take or not,
beds and prices - there is one € less for hotel guests etc.

If Your feet are not bad so the trip to the old town is good sport (and wet) but taxis are also waiting just in corner. Do change Your streets to walk - there is much to see so. Take a tour all around by step on step off. Do remember Samaria trip and Land Rover safari -go around!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seppo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.0 mi away
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
#7 of 166 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#12 of 166 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#8 of 166 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
69.3 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
2.5 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
29.1 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Pearl Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Pearl Beach

Property: SENTIDO Pearl Beach
Address: Beach Road, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece (Formerly Pearl Beach Hotel)
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rethymnon
#5 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#10 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#17 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#24 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Pearl Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Pearl Beach is located on the wonderful holiday island Crete. Directly in front of the hotel is the long sandy beach which invites you for a walk and relaxing. Enjoy the Greek feeling in the town and relax at the beach of Rethymnon. The SENTIDO Pearl Beach is surrounded by a beautifully landscaped, typically Greek garden and offers two freshwater swimming pools with a terrace, loungers and sunshades. The City center is just 2 km away from the SENTIDO Pearl Beach. Moreover, the international airport of Heraklion is 80 km away from the hotel. The SENTIDO Pearl Beach offers warm and cold meals in form of a buffet in the main restaurant. Besides the lobby bar you have also the opportunity to enjoy fresh drinks and snacks at the Pool-Snack-Bar. In the wellness area of the SENTIDO Pearl Beach you can find the indoor pool, a Jacuzzi and many other wellness treatments. Furthermore, you can find new equipment in the gym to work out. In the garden of the SENTIDO Pearl Beach you can find two outdoor pools and a separate kids pool. The SENTIDO Pearl Beach hass got 150 rooms in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your SENTIDO Pearl Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pearl Beach Rethymnon
Hotel Pearl Beach
Pearl Beach Hotel
SENTIDO Pearl Beach Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing