We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please read this”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Please read this”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

So the hotel rates itself a 5 star Thomson rate it a 4t which is based aparently on feedback on the plane with a questionnaire We booked all inclusive a massive mistake as everything is very limited a few local drinks and not even a coffee as this you have to pay for. The room is grubby and old hat best way to describe it is a1970s with a lick of paint. Water stains down the walls bad paintwork to all timber. The shower is an old mixer tap with no thermostatic shut off so you ether get scalded or froze to death and there is no happy medium I assure you with mould around the bath in general. I complained to the rep only to be told that quote " generally things are not as upto standard in Greek hotels as in other countries and it's to be expected ". So why then does it get a 4t rating then when clearly it's a 3 star and don't believe the pictures in the holiday magazine as it's camera trickery to the max. Think carefully before spending a fortune however the staff are very very friendly and accommodating

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank daryl j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    295
    87
    24
    19
See reviews for
206
606
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Aquila Porto Rethymno Hotel for 10 nights mid May 2014. This was the 1st time we had done all inclusive for 4 years and it was so different to any AI hotel we had stayed in before. Not all singing and dancing like we used to go for when the boys came away with us..
The welcome and check-in was friendly and efficient and quick, with porters waiting for us when we got off the coach to take our luggage into the hotel and then to our room. We stayed in a standard room at the back of the hotel, looking onto a street, but we didn't intend spending that much time in our room so this didn't worry us.
Everything was spotlessly clean and tidy and the bed was huge. Plenty of storage for clothes and a good sized bathroom. We had a fridge full of cold drinks and a bottle of complimentary wine waiting for us.
The hotel itself is right on the seafront, and a 10 minute walk to the beautiful old town. Just be careful when crossing the road to get to the beach as although there are zebra crossings, the traffic hardly ever stops for you.
There are 2 pools, one at the back and one at the front of the hotel. They are both quite small, and the "main" pool at the back has shade starting to fall on it from 12pm onwards, so if you want to stay there all day, you will need to move sunbeds to stay in the sun all day. There is no bar open during the day by the main pool either, so you will have to either find someone to phone down to the front bar for you or go and order your drinks yourself. It is these points that have made me mark the hotel as a 4 rather than a 5.
The front pool on the deck and over looks the sea, and there is a bar there too. The pool is in the sun most of the day, but is small.
The food is excellent and there is plenty of choice. I would recommend that you try the A la Carte restaurant too - wonderful food:)
The service and staff are all very helpful and friendly and go out of their way to ensure that you have a great holiday - nothing is too much trouble for them.
The entertainment was very low key, but enjoyable.
The old town is amazing and well worth a couple of visits with tiny streets, a wonderful old harbour with restauarant all round it, and a huge variety of shops - everything from a euro shop to top end shops - and bars and restaurants.
Overall we had a wonderfull holiday and would definatley go back to this hotel again. We may splash out and have a sea view room next time though.

Room Tip: If you book a seaview room, ask for a romm hight than the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FussyLady51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We went with Thompson Holidays in May .
We arrived at the hotel late got our cases off the coach and the porters took them in for us,we checked in and because we had missed the evening meal we were given a voucher for a A La Carte meal the next day (never had that before at other hotels),after checking in we went to our room and the porter brought our cases up.
We had room 116 on 1st floor ,large room with balcony had the sun in afternoon.
There was a safe,fridge,(no extra charges) kettle,tea and coffee but no milk so take powdered milk or buy fresh from the Supermarket across the road from the hotel.which was cheaper than a lot of other places,(not open on Sundays).
There was also a bottle of water and small wine,TV ,CD,MPS player ,radio.
The bed had a firm mattress and there a choice of 5 different pillows if you didn`t like what was already there,everywhere very clean.
The bathroom was a good size with shower over the bath,toiletries ,hairdryer,thick white towels, bathrobes ,slippers and even scales.
Restaurant had very good food and plenty of choice for breakfast and evening meal.
All the staff were pleasant and helpful .
The Guest Relations Manager Filio Toska was there so you could ask her anything and she would sort it.
On our departure day she arranged for us to have lunch in the restaurant as we were not leaving until 5 .50pm.
We were able to keep our room until 2 pm at no extra charge in stead of leaving it at 12 noon.
We would recommend this hotel ,for us it was 5 * plus

Room Tip: Room 116 1st floor was over looking the pool and the only noise we heard was at 4 am if we were awak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annie240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Aquilo Porto Rethymno hotel. This is a great hotel - really good food, good comfortable accomodation, and staff are absolutely brilliant. The location is ideal, facing out onto a beautiful long sandy beach, and just a short walk from shops, restaurants etc. The Old Town, Fortress and harbour are approx 15 minute walk, so couldn't be better placed. Highly recommend this hotel and location to all. This

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Good choice of hotel for a relaxing holiday - However - if flying with Thomsons via Bristol, make the coach driver "put his foot down" to arrive before 9.30pm or they will tell you "sorry, restaurant now CLOSED and NO food available !!! but will offer lunch the next day instead !! If, like us you shout loud enough, they ended up feeding us in the A la Carte restaurant FOC. It's not like there were lots of us - only 4 on the coach, and it was only 9.40pm. Of course No sign of a Thomson rep when you need one !!
Apart from our arrival glitch, everything else at the hotel was very nice. Most of the staff were helpful, and the place was exceptionally clean. Worth making sure you book a room with a decent sea-view.

Room Tip: Superior room with sea view important - partial sea-view is quite obstructive !!! Bath shower very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerryp103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

It's an excellent well managed hotel. Good location, good food and good staff. Guests are a mixture from all over Europe and a few Russians. OK so it may not be as good as a 5* hotel in Dubai or Miami and being surrounded by fur coat shops, fish foot spas and Mercedes car hire companies is your thing then the sister hotel the Rethymno Beach is for you, but it's 5km away from the old town.
The Porto Rethymno is just over the road from a Blue Flag beach and there are ample free sun beds and beach towels. The all inclusive guests seem to stay around the decked area or the rear pool. It's a pleasant five minute stroll into the old town and those on bed and breakfast will find plenty of decent places to eat.
The down side of our holiday was our tour operator Thompson. We had lousy flight times and they seem to have cut their services to a minimum with no in flight entertainment, no in flight meals. They no longer accompany the transfer coach to and from the airport. It makes you wonder if you couldn't do without them all together.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We booked this holiday at the last minute because of work commitment changes and we based our selection partly on Tripadvisor reviews so think it only fair to comment.
This is a great Hotel in a good location just across the road from the longest beach in Crete. It is a short walk from the old town of Rethymnon and there are plenty of local restaurants, shops, chemists, bars etc nearby. (A particular mention should be made of Zefyros Fish Taverna at the old harbour.)
All the staff in the hotel were very helpful at all times but particular mention should be given to Filio, Eva, Grigoris and Kiki who were unfailingly pleasant, helpful and smiley and made the stay very enjoyable.
We were in a Superior room which had just been decorated and upgraded so we lost out on a bath and double bed (for first couple of days) but that was made up for by a 'Rainfall' shower and new suite which was great. A music centre with CD Player (with USB and Aux connections) and TV with BBC world channel are in the room and also a free safe. Bed linen and towels were changed daily. We booked through Thomson's and there are some inaccuracies in their brochure re beds/baths etc but this should not deter you from visiting this hotel.
The food was plentiful, varied and to a high standard - the chefs should be commended highly for their cooking and presentation standards. We both enjoy quality food and were both impressed at the standard achieved.
We had gone 'all-inclusive' so made good use of the Hotel Restaurants and Café. This is a great idea as the prices are not cheap (either in the hotel or locally in restaurants ) and you will easily cover your daily charge with a lunch/bottle of wine couple of G&Ts etc There was always a great selection of foods both local dishes and more European/British ones as well.
The facilities in the hotel included three (two outdoor and one indoor) swimming pools though we used the Hotel's Beach exclusively as it was so near, clean and a bit cooler because of the lovely breeze off the sea. Beach Towels were provided and exchanged as required and excellent sun beds and umbrellas were available for free to guests. They also have waiter service there too for the really lazy who didn't want to miss any minute of sun. :-)
The Hotel's guests were mainly couples (this could be due to our holiday being in school term time) but there were family facilities available.
To finish, we highly recommend this Hotel and would have no hesitation in returning sometime given the opportunity. Thank you to all the staff who made our holiday so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Higher floors have best views and are a little quieter away from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
3.3 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#12 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
3.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort
0.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
1.1 mi away
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
#7 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Porto Rethymno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Porto Rethymno

Property: Aquila Porto Rethymno
Address: Venizelou 52A | & Sikelianou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#9 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Porto Rethymno 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the waterfront setting of the stunning northern coastline of Crete, Aquila Porto Rethymno brings the essence of an urban resort located within a striking distance of 700m from the city of Rethymno. The hotel presents a cosmopolitan escape, as you relax, dine and wander among Rethymno's most beautiful and historic sites offering the perfect base for business or leisure travelers. Chic, luxury hotel building and accommodation offer superb amenities and recreational facilities for all travelers. The hotel has been recognized internationally with prestigious awards and certifications for its commitment to the best service and hospitality. Porto Rethymno is an urban oasis featuring beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites which meet the needs of every traveler. The recently renovated guest rooms and suites have mostly views of Rethymno beach or the city harbor featuring a refreshing color palette inspired by a sophisticated fabulous setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Aquila Porto Rethymno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Porto Rethymno Rethymnon, Crete
Porto Rethymnon
Hotel Aquila Porto Rethymno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing