We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Ranked #9 of 177 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Easy check-in and made welcome. First impressions were that the hotel is crammed into a small space and everything in the hotel is on the small size. We booked late so could only get side view room. To be honest we never sat on the balcony or left the door open as it was so noisy from activity on the side street. Suppose we should have realised that picking a place in town was going to have its downsides. Room was well appointed with a huge bed, very comfortable and a sofa and chair and a desk with another chair. Plenty of wardrobe space and a free to use safe inside. The bathroom was disappointing as you had to stand in the bath for a shower and the base of the bath is very curved which made you feel very conscious how you moved about. The hotel bar area has limited seating and the lounge area is a bit of a waste of space - could be better incorporated I think. Due to the tightness of space the main pool is on the smallish size with very few sunbeds. No-one ever tried to save a bed whilst we were there as to be honest the sun only stays on the beds for half a day and balconies and hallways overlook you too much. The beach is the place to be with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas that are free to use for all hotel residents. The beach is lovely and sandy with a little shingle stone on the edge as you enter the sea. Drinks available on the beach and beach towels exchanged. The tiny infinity pool on the first level deck was so cold I never saw anyone use it but quite a few sunbathers were on the sunbeds adjacent. The indoor pool again tiny and freezing but the spa was warmer. The restaurant again smaller than needed and crammed in quite close. The management of the restaurant and its turnover is so very well managed, we never had to wait for a table. The range of food available is excellent and we never could go hungry, only problem is that the temperature of the food is more tepid than hot but that didn't bother us too much. The staff throughout the hotel were so pleasant and attentive and extremely professional. All in all we had a wonderful holiday and I think we need to consider next time when booking whether we want the lagoon pools and large rooms and plenty of space - but out of town, or do we accept the smaller, more crammed in style with adjacent noise for the sake of being in town and being able to stroll into the centre of town and not need to hire a car or use the bus!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have less noise from the streets around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Blue4Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

We booked this hotel through Thomson and were not disappointed by the hotel. It was over the road to the private beach which had loungers and umbrellas. We went towards the end of October and it was evident that most of the tourist shops, etc. were winding down. Towards the end of our week the dining room seemed to get emptier and the staff gradually reducing which made sense. The weather was still very warm. The food was excellent and always more than enough choices. The desserts were fabulous. Cannot really fault the hotel apart from a few areas that could be improved. The beds were quite hard and we had opted for twin beds. The sheet and blanket barely tucked in at the sides. We did not pay extra (alot more) for a newly upgraded room but did pay extra for a sea view with balcony which was excellent. The air conditioning did not seem to blow out cold air but just circulate what was already there. There was no way of adjusting the temperature, just the speed of the fan. The room was a good size but a bit shabby - carpet, bathroom, etc. There was a very useful mini fridge. The replenishment of tea/coffee and bathroom toiletries was not consistent each day and may have been according to who the member of staff was. We had a room on the fourth floor which was away from the traffic. We had asked for a quiet room and was not disappointed. We had half board which was probably just as well as we may have spent the entire week eating!

Room Tip: Have a room with a sea view and balcony and ask for a high number floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 186338travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked late and stayed on the sixth floor with a balcony and sea view [The view was from the balcony,2 chairs and a table, rather than direct in our instance].

Staff were excellent throughout and communal areas were well presented. However the room was a little tired at what was the end of the season with a very small amount of water damage in the bathroom unit, walls in the room needing redecorating and the carpet needing cleaning to remove stains but the room was otherwise clean.

There was no dedicated parking for our hire car but again we had limited difficulty in finding a parking spot on nearby streets. WIFi was free for your own computer but a charge of 5 Euros was levied for a half hour and 8 Euro per hour for use of the hotel's computers.

Do not let the above put you of because they are the only criticisms.

We had half board and breakfast evening meals were very good in the main restaurant with extensive hot and cold buffet and dessert tables to suit all needs / desires. It was a buffet self service for all but the main course in the evening and you could supplement this from the buffet. Excellent in the circumstances given that it was servicing around 80 tables as opposed to the limited number for other restaurants I have reviewed.
A separate superior a la carte restaurant was available for those guests who wished to use it at additional cost but on the second week of our holiday this had closed for the end of the season so we were unable to take advantage.

There was a coffee and cake bar in the complex with a sea view and interior and exterior seating. We took advantage of the coffee and cake discount before 5pm each day.

Entertainment was provided on some nights in the bar or restaurant and a glass of champagne was provided for one breakfast each week. There was a small book shelf with recent novels and British and German newspapers in reception on most days for the use of guests.

A bottle of wine, a bottle of water and some nougat was provided in the room at commencement but not thereafter. A kettle, tea and coffee were provided and a fridge but you will need to get milk from the supermarket opposite to the hotel entrance.
Plenty of toiletries were also provided daily and a free key operated room safe.


There is a dedicated beach area with loungers and umbrellas for the hotel with dressing cubicles, showers and a dedicated attendant providing towels. It is across the road from the hotel.

There are also two external swimming pools in the complex with better quality loungers and a small interior pool and fitness centre.

Unless you are a beach person you need to ensure that transport / tours are available with Rethymnon ideally placed for visiting resorts and places of interest on the North and South coasts.
We walked the Imbros Gorge [Much easier than the Samarian Gorge that we have previously visited] and visited Chania, Heraklion and Elounda, the latter for a boat trip to the leper colony island.

Driving a car there is relatively straight forward once you are used to left hand driving although road signs are hit and miss in more ways than one with locals tending to shoot or vandalise them.

Room Tip: The sixth [Top] floor was ideal for us with two lifts available for access aside from stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Enjoyed our holiday at this hotel . Checking in was easy, and we were in our room very quickly. The room was a little dated but it was very clean and had everything that we needed. A complimentary bottle of wine and a bottle of water were ready for us to drink, and plenty of toiletries.
Every afternoon we enjoyed coffee and cakes in the café which is part of the Hotel. Dimitra is very special, and is a shining light for the Hotel, very friendly and interested in our welfare. All the staff throughout the hotel were happy and enthusiastic. The General Manager runs a good ship!!!
Food is excellent, good variety all day,Puddings were amazing, must have been 20 to choose from, and plenty of fresh fruit.
Room for everyone on the terrace bar to sunbathe and around the main pool, and on the beach.
We will be eager to return to this Hotel in the near future.
Plenty to do in the area, a trip to the old town of Rethymno is a must, we did the west of the Island to Chania, and the war graves at Souda Bay which was very moving, but sadly there wasn't much time to pay our respects to the casualties of the war.

Room Tip: 212 has a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlesjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just returned from a week in this hotel booked a superior sea view room but due to the ' U ' design of the building we only had a view straight out. Also the deco of the 'superior' room did not match the pictures on the hotels web site. Having said this it was clean and a reasonable size.
The food was good, especially in the a la carte which we could use at no extra charge, drinks were expensive but I think typical of many hotels nowadays. We don't drink a lot so not a problem for us. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful especially Filio Toska the guest relations manager
She found out it was my wife's birthday whilst there and arranged a cake and champagne which was brought to our table during dinner, a nice touch. Being close to town the hotel does not have large grounds but it does have its own large stretch of golden beach with loungers and brollies which are free to guests. Overall are very nice hotel.
Something to beware of Crete 'closes' at the end of October to tourism many places in town were already closed ,even the a la carte resturante in the hotel was closing the day after we left.

Room Tip: If you want a full 180 deg sea view you need to book an expensive deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ValDenYateley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have just returned from a 2-week stay here and we were impressed by the clean, large comfortable rooms. The room staff were excellent. In fact, all the staff went out of the way to make our stay as pleasant as possible.
The food was extremely good with plenty of choice and the only reason that the hotel did not get full marks was the fact that there was insufficient room in the restaurant and some tables were pushed together making it more like a staff canteen.
However, don't be put off by this minor detail.

Room Tip: pay for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beejay287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just back from really good week in Crete. The hotel was very nice, clean, good choice of food at breakfast and evening buffet and most of the staff pleasant and helpful. Only small complaint is that the terrace area of the restaurant had only a very small part that was no smoking and this was nearly always full which meant that if you wanted to eat outside (and who wouldn't in the weather we had) you had to put up with the smokers and I think the no smoking area should be extended as it was obviously very popular. Swimming pool looked very nice but didn't as beautiful beach belonging to hotel just across the road. Rethymnon lovely resort especially old town which was short walk from hotel. We went on trip to Spinalonga which I would recommend. It was very moving.

Room Tip: High floor with sea view quieter and more pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElizabethSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 177 in Rethymnon
657 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,343 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#13 of 177 in Rethymnon
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 177 in Rethymnon
965 reviews
3.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.8 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 177 in Rethymnon
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Porto Rethymno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Porto Rethymno

Address: Venizelou 52A | Sikelianou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $82 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Porto Rethymno 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the waterfront setting of the stunning northern coastline of Crete, Aquila Porto Rethymno brings the essence of an urban resort located within a striking distance of 700m from the city of Rethymno. The hotel presents a cosmopolitan escape, as you relax, dine and wander among Rethymno's most beautiful and historic sites offering the perfect base for business or leisure travelers. Chic, luxury hotel building and accommodation offer superb amenities and recreational facilities for all travelers. The hotel has been recognized internationally with prestigious awards and certifications for its commitment to the best service and hospitality. Porto Rethymno is an urban oasis featuring beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites which meet the needs of every traveler. The recently renovated guest rooms and suites have mostly views of Rethymno beach or the city harbor featuring a refreshing color palette inspired by a sophisticated fabulous setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aquila Porto Rethymno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Porto Rethymno Rethymnon, Crete
Porto Rethymnon
Hotel Aquila Porto Rethymno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing