We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,557)
Filter reviews
1,557 results
Traveler rating
972
407
114
35
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
972
407
114
35
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantsea viewhalf boardpiazza dihotel photographerbeach towelsold townmini barthe guest relations managergala dinnermain restaurantcd playerfree safebeach servicestandard roomrestaurant staffprivate beach
Filter
Updating list...
802 - 807 of 1,557 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Spent two great weeks here last month. It was our second visit and we loved it as much as last time. The food is fantastic with plenty of choice and the staff are all a credit to the hotel. Yes I agree our room (which wasn't one of the superior rooms) was a bit tired but it was always clean and a small issue of a broken bulb was reported by the cleaner and fixed before we even had a chance to mention it. The hotel is in a brilliant position with its own area on the beach and just a short walk into town. We didn't stay around for the evening entertainment as Rethymnon has too much to offer. Heres to the next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley07WiltshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have just returned from the Porto Rethymno Hotel and would not recommend the All inclusive option - save the additional cost, take it with you and choose what you want to make your holiday!

Firstly - you can only have one drink with any meal or pay additional cost, (you couldn't have a leisurely meal with a couple of glasses of wine followed my a liqueur or coffee) after eating you would have to move to the "captains corner" for additional drinks. Anything that you ordered (food or beverage) had to be eaten where you ordered it - no taking a drink to the beach or to sip on the balcony of your room watching the world go by!
Beach service - you are not entitled (unless you pay again).
Lunch has to be taken in the main buffet restaurant - so off the sun lounger, wash the sand off, get dressed, dice with death across the main road for another three course meal (often what was on the buffet at lunch then appeared at dinner). If you were going out for the day - no packed lunch (unless you pay for it).
Drink selection - a few branded drinks, one lager, 5 cocktails, coke, fruit juice, wine by the glass (not very good wine at that). The cost of the cocktails to non a/I guests are all charged at the same price - but you will only be entitled to a selection of 5! Don't ask for a Cuba Libra as this is chargeable but ask for a white rum and a bottle of coke - mix your own and its free !
I could go on but I think you have got the message - a drinkable bottle of wine in the supermakets start at about €5 and wine glasses and corkscrew are in the rooms anyway.
Lots of local supermarkets, bakeries, and tevernas so you really wont go hungry.
One thing on the a/I was the gala dinner - this was fantastic 5 courses of superb food, a nice privilege!

Welcome on arrival was aweful as we were being hidden from guests who were being turned away due to the hotels over booking policy! So not only were the guests sent away unhappy but so were the guests who were lucky enough to have rooms!

Rooms - tired. A vintage CD player takes up a large space on the dressing table. Air con noisy. Toilet that when flushed kept getting stuck and continually refilled.

Safe - yes its free, but it is also very small, I don't think an iPad would fit in it.

I think that this hotel should be renamed Marmite - you will either love it or hate it.
Sorry not one that I would return to.

Room Tip: Sea view minimum - some rooms without have side road views or very tiny balconies overlooking a brick wall!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KESJTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RithymnaBeach, Marketing Coordinator at Aquila Porto Rethymno, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having selected our hotel to spend your summer holidays.
We have read very carefully your review and have respectfully noted all your comments. Further to this, we feel that an appropriate answer should be given, although we were at your disposal at any time to hear your suggestions and resolve any matter may had occurred during your stay.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed our Gala dinner, but concerned that in general it seems like you have not experienced a pleasant Premium All Inclusive package.
All our all- inclusive guests upon arrival are given from reception their all-in ID card, together with an information sheet with all the details about their package. There is mentioned clearly that “all kinds of food & drinks should be consumed only in the departments that are been ordered” , as well as that the consumption of the all-in drinks indicated in the catalogs of our Food & Beverage departments is unlimited (during their operating hours) and in no case payable. Also, beverages not included in the all-in list are considered special labels and are available at an additional charge . Kindly note that for the all-inclusive guests a 35% discount is made on all spirits served in the Main Restaurant (Premium All Inclusive brands included) except during breakfast when no alcoholic drinks are served.

Concerning any problem occurring in the room, our Maintenance or Housekeeping department instantly restores it as soon as it is reported at the reception. In case guest is still not satisfied we always offer the option of a room change.

In closing, we are really sorry that you felt concerned or dissatisfied during your stay with us and we do sincerely hope that perhaps sometime in the not too distant future you may once again consider returning to our hotel and thus give us the opportunity to offer you the pleasant holiday that meets with your expectations.



Mr. Kostas Damanakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We travelled with Thomson's to this hotel in June, overall it is a good hotel in an excellent location. Our arrival was a little strange as we were met at the coach by someone who gave us our room key and showed us to the lift , which was about the extent of the welcome.
We were on the 6th floor with a balcony and sea view , the room was fine although looking a little tired. Our biggest issue was with the air conditioning , apparently this is only switched on between 5pm and 3am and then not very effective. We have stayed in a lot of hotels in Greece but never had the air con rationed. When we stayed the temperature was 30c most days , our room was unusable during the day and very uncomfortable first thing in the morning. If you want air con on demand don't stay at this hotel. Apparently this only applies to the bed rooms not the common areas of the hotel which were always very comfortable.
The restaurant in this hotel is too small for the number of guests, in the evening it is very busy and we felt rushed, also the tables are too close together, we were generally in and out in 45 minutes.The food is good , but not memorable . In our opinion it is very pretentious , with the staff pretending to be serving at the Ritz and the buffet food no better than an upmarket canteen. Drinks were really expensive.
It is possible to swap the evening meal for lunch in al a carte restaurant , this we did a couple of times.
Best bit of the hotel is the beach just across the road, free sunbeds and towels you can change every day, gently shelving beach and very clean water.
If we stayed here again it would be on a B&B basis as there are loads of super restaurants just a short walk away in the old town of Rethymon, which is really pretty with loads of retail opportunities .
So best bits, location, beach, very helpful staff.
Worst bits , Food, air con , prices of drinks
This Hotel is billed as 5 star. this only applies to the prices.

Room Tip: Stay B&B and try the fantastic taverners in Rethymon in the evening.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MKHud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel really needs to upgrade the bed rooms, we paid for 4/5star accommodation and did not receive this until we moved rooms on our last day, because we had a late check out. Food was excellent and the a LA carte restaurant was exceptional. The staff worked very hard at making everyone's holiday a great experience. The beach was very nice but unless you got up at 6am to bag a sun bed you had to be satisfied with a rear end sun bed. The towels were well sun tanned as people did not appear at the beds until after 10am after bagging the best beds. The pool beside the restaurant was very nice and never busy, so were able to swim and sun bathe and get as bed without any bother.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank celEdinburgh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RithymnaBeach, Marketing Coordinator at Aquila Porto Rethymno, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you very much for having selected our hotel to spend you summer holidays.
We have read very carefully your review and have respectfully noted all your comments and we are really very pleased that in general it seems that you have enjoyed your stay since you commented positively on the food in both our restaurants, the beach and of course our staff.

Concerning the problem with the reservation of the beach sunbeds, we really believe that we do everything in our power not to let that happen consistently, but some people as you mention continue to ignore our regulations and guidance, and make sure that they make their ‘’sunbed reservation’’ even before beach opening hours when no one from our staff is there yet and we are sorry that the above caused your dissatisfaction.

We hope that perhaps sometime in the not too distant future you may once again consider returning to our hotel and give us the opportunity to offer you the pleasant holiday that meets with your expectations.


Mr. Kostas Damanakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

An excellent hotel with its own beach just across the road. Sunbeds, brollies & towels provided and changed whenever required.10-15 min walk to the old town of Rethymnon (or a bus ride from the top of the road - 1 euro). It was interesting that the hotel is keen to recycle and provide bags in the rooms, paper & fabric for your use.

The food was first class, a wonderful selection for both breakfast & evening meals, we were on half-board. Breakfast - freshly squeezed orange juice (you loaded the machine yourself), salmon & champagne at least once a week, smoothies & wafles to order, together with a great selection of hot & cold buffet. You could not fault the evening meals, again a wonderful selection. Only criticism was the price of the wine, rather expensive. We didn't try the a-la-carte restaurant but understand it was very good.

The rooms were spacious, fresh & well-equipped.

Indoor pool, spa & jaccuzi available if required. Outdoor pool with sunbeds & smaller splash pool.
.
Entertainment - daytime well organised beach games; evening music ok, Greek dancers good, Brazilian show rubbish.

Staff at Reception (Stellios) & all the Restaurant staff (Giorgos the maître-d', Magda & Filio in particular) very helpful & friendly, always willing to assist be it with bus timetables, where to buy coffee to make Greek coffee,

If you are considering this hotel, and you want a town location near the beach this is a winner., we can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: 3rd - 6th floors give the best views - we were in 303 which had a side sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill037Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews