We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,596)
Filter reviews
1,596 results
Traveler rating
996
412
121
36
31
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
996
412
121
36
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a la carte restaurant sea view piazza di half board old town beach towels the guest relations manager mini bar gala dinner thomson rep main restaurant cd player beach service free safe city hotel standard room plenty of sunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
832 - 837 of 1,596 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We first stayed in this hotel last September, and had such a good holiday that we decided to return this June for our wedding anniversary. I booked directly with the hotel back in January, as we wanted to be sure we could have a similar sea view room as before, as we asked to be moved last time as the first sea view room they gave us was looking onto a brick wall!
I received confirmation from the hotel to say they had blocked room 507 for us, and we were very happy with this. Unfortunately, when we arrived the receptionist told us that there was no room available for us at all in the hotel, and that they were putting us in an apartment 5 mins down the road. When I asked for an explanation we were just told 'problem with reservations' . They upgraded us from a B & B basis to all inclusive, which was OK, but it is not a true all inclusive as there are restrictions on what drinks and meals are included. Several options on the a la carte menu just have a discount under the all inclusive package, and we really wanted to eat out in the Old Town anyway.
The apartment was fine, clean and right on the sea front, but not the same as staying in a really nice hotel. We were very disappointed, especially as not once did the manager speak to us to acknowledge our situation or apologise to us. Reading a previous comment on here, and something a porter said to us about how he didn't like to have to move people to other accommodation makes me think this may happen regularly, and I don't understand how a hotel chain like this could let it happen.
This hotel is lovely, as are all the staff who work very hard. However, we will never stay here again, and just be aware if you have booked to stay here - you may not!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SandramS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kon_Vogiatzis, Marketing Coordinator at Aquila Porto Rethymno, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like initially to thank you for your trust & loyalty to our Hotel & also, for your time writing this review.

On the same time, we would like to express our honest apologies for reallocating you to a side accommodation of our hotel; we assure you that definitely this is a procedure that the Hotel & in general the Aquila chain avoids to follow.
In fact, the reservations’ demand & the popularity of our Hotel this year overcame our expectations which on the one hand gave us a great pleasure, but on the other, caused some issues of guests’ reallocations. We are already working hard on smooth reservation arrangements for the next season, having trust to successful results, in order to provide to all our guests an enjoyable accommodation in Aquila Porto Rethymno.

Concerning the "Premium All Inclusive" package offered to you for the inconvenience caused, please note that this includes a great variety of labeled beverages, as well as a great range of delicacies. Some are included in the package free of charge and some others under a discount ( 35 % on special alcoholic labels and bottled alcohol in all Food & Beverage outlets; 20% discount on food items in all our à la carte restaurants).

In closing, we appreciate your kind comments for our Hotel & staff and we do hope that we will have the chance to welcome & accommodate you accordingly next year, doing our best to offer you a pleasant & carefree stay with us.


With kind regards,

Kostas Damanakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is situated across the road from a lovely sandy beach - plus the sunbeds were free. Only negative point there was no beach bar or toilet you had to go back to the hotel. If you were all inclusive you could not have free drinks or food on the beach. We were half board and as we are not big drinkers a bottle of wine at dinner and water - a couple of beers at the bar we worked out that we were better off half board, We did not drink all our wine one evening and they will not allow you to keep it for the next night.. The all inclusive was not too good as you could not have a toasted sandwich at lunch and lots of other things you had to pay for. The staff are all very professional and friendly and the rooms were good with complimentary wine and water on arrival.
A big plus is that the old town with all the bars, restaurants and shops is only ten minutes walk along the beach. The transfer is approx. and hour and a half drive on the coach. Overall a very nice holiday and would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our visit to Crete is in our top 2 visits to a Greek or Spanish island and is the first holiday that we are likely to repeat. The weather was great, the beach in Rethymno is lovely but what made it special was the staff and service at the hotel. If you want to stay in Crete, this is the place to go and taking a superior room is worthwhile. The room we had was over the deck with a good sea view. The room itself was good but will probably need refreshing soon, however the attention to detail is great. A good selection of TV channels ( not that we watched any) sparkling wine, mineral water, fruit, raki and baklava on arrival. Eating at the Piazza di Porto restaurant was excellent - the food being of great quality and the staff there, especially one, were very helpful and lovely. Even when very busy the staff are attentive and genuinely seem enthusiastic about being the best. They also have guest relations manager and trainee to ensure that you get the best experience. repeat business is important to them. We were invited to a small reception one night after which we raised the latest blue flag awarded for the hotel's beach quality. As for sunbathing and swimming there is a pool at the back which can get very hot but has plenty of shade. The pool and deck at the front is smallish but good, has plenty of space because the sun beds are not crammed in. The real joy is that the hotels beach is excellent, well appointed and plenty of sunbeds and parasols with a waiter service. Beach towels are also supplied. Beach games include a bat and ball game and beach volleyball. The location is good, we started the day with a walk to the old town which is not more than 15 mins away and the fortezza is not more than 20 mins easy walk. If you are considering this hotel, and you want a town location near the beach this is a winner.

Date of stay: June 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 602SimonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My daughter and I stayed half-board here for one week. I booked a superior room which gave us 'Mythica' privileges and a sea view. This was good value for money as we got room service breakfast each morning, a free 1ltr bottle of water and a newspaper delivered to the room each day and best of all an upgrade to the A La Carte restaurant for dinner every day. It is normally 32Eur each per day for this upgrade and the food and service are excellent. The drinks are a little expensive but very good quality and the attention from the staff was second to none. The menu is varied and interesting, the food quality excellent and the presentation 1st class. We were thoroughly spoiled and can't wait to go back again.

Room tip: Superior sea view rooms are well worth the extra premium if you want a bit of luxury
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a week at the Porto Rethymno with my husband, travelling with Thomsons.

As most people have said yes, the rooms could do with updating as certain aspects are indeed quite dated, but they are perfectly clean and functional.

Entertainment is limited but that didnt worry us as we didnt come on holiday to stay in the hotel constantly. The food is world class at this hotel and we stayed half board, just enough for us.

The staff and wonderful. Very hospitable and friendly, especially Magda in the main restaurant. Lovely lady.

Our rep for Thomsons was Liam who was without doubt the best part of our holiday. We have travelled with various tour operators over the years but never have we met a rep that is as lovely as he is. Made the effort to come and find us everyday to say hello, very informative of the local area and Crete as an island, always cheerful with a wonderful smile for everyone. He is hilarious aswell, always laughing and joking with the guests and the staff. Such an asset to this hotel and of course to his employer.

I would highly recommend this hotel and certainly recommend travelling with Thomsons.

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustJools01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews