We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Ranked #8 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have just returned from a week in this hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff are excellent, the service, quality of food in both restaurants and location justify the star status it has been given. We would recommend the lobster night which is exceptional. You have to pay extra but the quality of food, service and entertainment are worth it. We loved the beach just over the road with free sunbeds, lovely sand and clear water with no stones. The road, which yes is busy, but as some people said did not disturb our sleep even though we were on the 2nd floor at the front ( maybe the effect of a few drinks!). We were only about a 10-15 mins walk into the town with bars and restaurants on the way. The town is lovely with many bars, restaurants and shops. We ate out twice at night even though we were HB. If you do this you can change your evening meal for a lunchtime meal in the a la carte restaurant if you let them know. We only ate at To Picadi and Avli, which are opposite one another. Both were good but we preferred To Picadi, not because it was cheaper but because we thought the atmosphere was better but food just as good. The only comment I would make is that although the room and bathroom is a good size it could do with a bit of a refurbish. Very clean and lots of extras such as robes, toiletries, free safe, half bottle of wine on arrival. I would just like to mention a few names:- Giorgos, the maitre d' who always welcomed you with a friendly handshake and made you feel like you were very important whilst finding you a table. Vassilis in charge of the a la carte restaurant who was equally as friendly providing an excellent standard of service as you would expect from an a la carte restaurant and last but not least Dimitra who always seemed to wait on our table and was always so efficient and friendly. All staff always seemed to be on duty but never dropped their standards of service and friendliness. We were not AI at the hotel and found the drinks a little pricey if you wanted to drink there all night. We quite often went to a bar which was in the opposite direction to the town called Cafe Entasis. Very small but very popular, cocktails always in happy hour! Over all a very enjyable holiday.

Room Tip: We paid for sea view and got quite a good room on the 2nd floor (210) although I would have preferre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

638 - 644 of 1,227 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We first stayed in this hotel last September, and had such a good holiday that we decided to return this June for our wedding anniversary. I booked directly with the hotel back in January, as we wanted to be sure we could have a similar sea view room as before, as we asked to be moved last time as the first sea view room they gave us was looking onto a brick wall!
I received confirmation from the hotel to say they had blocked room 507 for us, and we were very happy with this. Unfortunately, when we arrived the receptionist told us that there was no room available for us at all in the hotel, and that they were putting us in an apartment 5 mins down the road. When I asked for an explanation we were just told 'problem with reservations' . They upgraded us from a B & B basis to all inclusive, which was OK, but it is not a true all inclusive as there are restrictions on what drinks and meals are included. Several options on the a la carte menu just have a discount under the all inclusive package, and we really wanted to eat out in the Old Town anyway.
The apartment was fine, clean and right on the sea front, but not the same as staying in a really nice hotel. We were very disappointed, especially as not once did the manager speak to us to acknowledge our situation or apologise to us. Reading a previous comment on here, and something a porter said to us about how he didn't like to have to move people to other accommodation makes me think this may happen regularly, and I don't understand how a hotel chain like this could let it happen.
This hotel is lovely, as are all the staff who work very hard. However, we will never stay here again, and just be aware if you have booked to stay here - you may not!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SandramS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kon_Vogiatzis, Marketing Coordinator at Aquila Porto Rethymno, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like initially to thank you for your trust & loyalty to our Hotel & also, for your time writing this review.

On the same time, we would like to express our honest apologies for reallocating you to a side accommodation of our hotel; we assure you that definitely this is a procedure that the Hotel & in general the Aquila chain avoids to follow.
In fact, the reservations’ demand & the popularity of our Hotel this year overcame our expectations which on the one hand gave us a great pleasure, but on the other, caused some issues of guests’ reallocations. We are already working hard on smooth reservation arrangements for the next season, having trust to successful results, in order to provide to all our guests an enjoyable accommodation in Aquila Porto Rethymno.

Concerning the "Premium All Inclusive" package offered to you for the inconvenience caused, please note that this includes a great variety of labeled beverages, as well as a great range of delicacies. Some are included in the package free of charge and some others under a discount ( 35 % on special alcoholic labels and bottled alcohol in all Food & Beverage outlets; 20% discount on food items in all our à la carte restaurants).

In closing, we appreciate your kind comments for our Hotel & staff and we do hope that we will have the chance to welcome & accommodate you accordingly next year, doing our best to offer you a pleasant & carefree stay with us.


With kind regards,

Kostas Damanakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is situated across the road from a lovely sandy beach - plus the sunbeds were free. Only negative point there was no beach bar or toilet you had to go back to the hotel. If you were all inclusive you could not have free drinks or food on the beach. We were half board and as we are not big drinkers a bottle of wine at dinner and water - a couple of beers at the bar we worked out that we were better off half board, We did not drink all our wine one evening and they will not allow you to keep it for the next night.. The all inclusive was not too good as you could not have a toasted sandwich at lunch and lots of other things you had to pay for. The staff are all very professional and friendly and the rooms were good with complimentary wine and water on arrival.
A big plus is that the old town with all the bars, restaurants and shops is only ten minutes walk along the beach. The transfer is approx. and hour and a half drive on the coach. Overall a very nice holiday and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our visit to Crete is in our top 2 visits to a Greek or Spanish island and is the first holiday that we are likely to repeat. The weather was great, the beach in Rethymno is lovely but what made it special was the staff and service at the hotel. If you want to stay in Crete, this is the place to go and taking a superior room is worthwhile. The room we had was over the deck with a good sea view. The room itself was good but will probably need refreshing soon, however the attention to detail is great. A good selection of TV channels ( not that we watched any) sparkling wine, mineral water, fruit, raki and baklava on arrival. Eating at the Piazza di Porto restaurant was excellent - the food being of great quality and the staff there, especially one, were very helpful and lovely. Even when very busy the staff are attentive and genuinely seem enthusiastic about being the best. They also have guest relations manager and trainee to ensure that you get the best experience. repeat business is important to them. We were invited to a small reception one night after which we raised the latest blue flag awarded for the hotel's beach quality. As for sunbathing and swimming there is a pool at the back which can get very hot but has plenty of shade. The pool and deck at the front is smallish but good, has plenty of space because the sun beds are not crammed in. The real joy is that the hotels beach is excellent, well appointed and plenty of sunbeds and parasols with a waiter service. Beach towels are also supplied. Beach games include a bat and ball game and beach volleyball. The location is good, we started the day with a walk to the old town which is not more than 15 mins away and the fortezza is not more than 20 mins easy walk. If you are considering this hotel, and you want a town location near the beach this is a winner.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My daughter and I stayed half-board here for one week. I booked a superior room which gave us 'Mythica' privileges and a sea view. This was good value for money as we got room service breakfast each morning, a free 1ltr bottle of water and a newspaper delivered to the room each day and best of all an upgrade to the A La Carte restaurant for dinner every day. It is normally 32Eur each per day for this upgrade and the food and service are excellent. The drinks are a little expensive but very good quality and the attention from the staff was second to none. The menu is varied and interesting, the food quality excellent and the presentation 1st class. We were thoroughly spoiled and can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Superior sea view rooms are well worth the extra premium if you want a bit of luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a week at the Porto Rethymno with my husband, travelling with Thomsons.

As most people have said yes, the rooms could do with updating as certain aspects are indeed quite dated, but they are perfectly clean and functional.

Entertainment is limited but that didnt worry us as we didnt come on holiday to stay in the hotel constantly. The food is world class at this hotel and we stayed half board, just enough for us.

The staff and wonderful. Very hospitable and friendly, especially Magda in the main restaurant. Lovely lady.

Our rep for Thomsons was Liam who was without doubt the best part of our holiday. We have travelled with various tour operators over the years but never have we met a rep that is as lovely as he is. Made the effort to come and find us everyday to say hello, very informative of the local area and Crete as an island, always cheerful with a wonderful smile for everyone. He is hilarious aswell, always laughing and joking with the guests and the staff. Such an asset to this hotel and of course to his employer.

I would highly recommend this hotel and certainly recommend travelling with Thomsons.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustJools01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had a wonderful holiday at this hotel and couldn't fault the room, the food or the staff who were particularly helpful and friendly. They even presented me with a birthday cake and card. We had a very nice room with a sea view and the beach is just across the road, although the hotel pools were too cold for us (it was April). Our only criticism was the price of the wine in the restaurant; 22 euros for the cheapest bottle. This resulted in us going out most nights and not drinking in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
3.3 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kriti Beach Hotel
Kriti Beach Hotel
#24 of 175 in Rethymnon
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#16 of 175 in Rethymnon
737 reviews
4.4 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#12 of 175 in Rethymnon
963 reviews
3.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Porto Rethymno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Porto Rethymno

Address: Venizelou 52A | Sikelianou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rethymnon
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#9 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $80 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Porto Rethymno 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the waterfront setting of the stunning northern coastline of Crete, Aquila Porto Rethymno brings the essence of an urban resort located within a striking distance of 700m from the city of Rethymno. The hotel presents a cosmopolitan escape, as you relax, dine and wander among Rethymno's most beautiful and historic sites offering the perfect base for business or leisure travelers. Chic, luxury hotel building and accommodation offer superb amenities and recreational facilities for all travelers. The hotel has been recognized internationally with prestigious awards and certifications for its commitment to the best service and hospitality. Porto Rethymno is an urban oasis featuring beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites which meet the needs of every traveler. The recently renovated guest rooms and suites have mostly views of Rethymno beach or the city harbor featuring a refreshing color palette inspired by a sophisticated fabulous setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aquila Porto Rethymno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Porto Rethymno Rethymnon, Crete
Porto Rethymnon
Hotel Aquila Porto Rethymno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing