We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,554)
Filter reviews
1,554 results
Traveler rating
970
406
114
35
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
970
406
114
35
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantsea viewhalf boardpiazza dihotel photographerbeach towelsold townmini barthe guest relations managergala dinnermain restaurantcd playerfree safebeach servicestandard roomrestaurant staffprivate beach
Filter
Updating list...
823 - 828 of 1,554 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Since I stayed here six years ago the hotel has changed hands and has gone from 4* to 5*. Built in the 1990's it occupies a corner site in the town and across the road from the beach. With roads on three sides, noise is inevitable. Because of its small footprint and six storeys, both swimming times spend most of their time in the shade. Bedrooms are typical of holiday resort style and standard you will find anywhere in the Med. the public areas are small and the hotel doubles as a conference centre and wedding venue. The hotel hosts buffet evenings which due to lack of space means that the swimming pool closes at 3.30pm. The buffet style buffet is good. Dinner also buffet style except the main course which is a choice of three, for me it was generally too salty. The main disadvantage of the dining room is that half of the tables are set out refractory style for six diners which meant sharing. Rethymnon has a Blue Flag. Beach, good shops and restaurants and while the hotel is not 5* in the traditional sense, you should have an enjoyable holiday. The negative points were that half of the lounge was roped off for 'Platinum Guests', the A la carte restaurant spills out onto the pavement as does the evening entertainment. In the town there was a lot of graffiti and a number of street lights didn't work. The pavements and curbs could be hazardous and the Cretans think nothing of parking bumper to bumper and even on the pavement.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Travelled with Thomson, arrived at hotel only to find our room was not what I expected. Carpet stained and the balcony was small compared to others, paid for a seaview, got it if I strained my neck left.Can use fridge in room with food and drink bought from supermarket. Bed rock hard did not sleep well for 2 weeks. Pictures from brochure left me really disappointed. Hotel facilities were better though, slippers, dressing gowns, wine and water on arrival in room, Thomson platinum guests had a cocktail evening every Tuesday and if you were a repeat guest again on the Wednesday.Air con was noisy and not very cold. Road was noisy so could not keep door open. Staff very friendly. Gym was ok for 2 weeks but not enough equipment. Town only 5 mins away. Free sunbeds and parasols on beach. Sea bed lovely and sandy. Oh yes tea facilities in room. Maid service every day. TV rubbish, only 1 English news channel.

Room Tip: Pay big bucks for a front facing room, rooms flat on do not get the sun, my sister was in one and had a wear a cardigan even though it was 33 outside. I had a side seaview sun on balcony for a few hours at sunrise.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyofacertainage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We read all of the reviews before staying at this hotel and expected great things.We got them!The greeting from the staff on arrival set the tone for the whole week,simply the best customer care we have had in all of our travels over 30 years.The nearest I can compare it to , is the attention you enjoy on cruise ships.The maitre D greeted us every meal time with a handshake,restaurant staff were attentive and very efficient without being overpowering.In fact that sums all staff up,everyone was extremely friendly and customer focused.We had a couple of problems in our room which were dealt with within minutes! Food was excellent,an extra 3 pound in weight put on tells the story!Lovely fresh breads accompanied breakfast ,and there are always hard working staff topping everything up.Evening meals carried local influence at times which was good because it was great to enjoy something different,and always properly cooked and tasty.I will not mention desserts....they are wonderfully lethal and again some with Greek influence.Free beds and parasol on the lovely beach was a surprise and welcome as the pools are in the hotel are very small with only about 25 beds around each.Our only minor gripe would be the standard sea view room we were in ,it was in need of refreshing.Dried water stains from a leak,broken mini bar unit,hole in the curtains and well tired carpets let it down as did the poor TV picture..poor signal we were told.But despite this we will go back without hesitation.Rethymnon is a lovely old Greek town,old narrow shopping streets , harbour and fortress,and plenty of cafes and bars,great for a stroll at any time especially in the warm evenings.

Room Tip: Did not see superior rooms but the price difference does not seem worth it as we enjoyed bath robes and slippers in our standard room.Sea view rooms do not get any direct sun.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian_A349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel has a fabulous location and appears 5 star but our room could have done with a bit of a refurb cleanliness was not an issue but carpets and wardrobes very much in need of replacing but the staff and are all the other faculties were excellent especially dimitra from the outside part of the restaurant she was wonderful overall an excellent holiday thank you we stayed from 2nd may for 2 weeks

Room Tip: The higher rooms are definitely the best we stayed in 414
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gladys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

booked last min..2 twin rooms.took father..rooms 123 & 421..'garden' view was sold by thomson but wasn't a 'garden' view, looked on to side road..that was bit of disappointment, but orange juice as we checked in,retro service with smile,(suitcases taken up to room etc.),they also tried to put 2 twin rooms in as ONE roomI(this has happened before with thomson when we've checked in@reception)but was quickly rectified..WONDERFUL warm,friendly staff,(thumbs up to E & G in restaurant who looked after us well)poolside breakfasts(amazing fresh local produce)..super clean,calm..fab location(easy walk to port & town which was full of history,heart,soul,character,buzz)..free sunbeds/parasol infront of hotel & watersports nearby..did the 'rethymnon' bus tour(12 euros per person-2hr trip), & did a LONG tour to Kournos Lake/Chania & Elafonissi(nature reserve)..thumbs down to outdoor pools closing at 5.30pm but would go back.. recommended..!..

Room Tip: as we had to pay for two seperate double rooms for sole use we didn't pay the extra for 'views' but the views are worth paying for of the beach, (although you have a busy ish road with many mopeds/buses in front).. pool view is nice too...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travellingvialondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews