We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Ranked #9 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

My wife and I have been travelling to Greece for almost 26 years but without a doubt this is the best experience we have ever had. The Hotel is rated as a 5 Star and deserves to be so. First impressions are excellent with an impressive Foyer and the Check in was swift, efficient and extremely friendly. We were shown to our room and everything explained. The room was spacious and comfortable with spectacularly comfortable Beds and a Sea View to die for! Unfortunately after 3 days we experienced a Plumbing problem (not unknown at any Hotel anywhere). However when reported to Reception it was dealt with by a room change rapidly and efficiently. We were also invited to view the new room before accepting it. All we needed to do was pack our bags and leave them for the Hotel to move.

The Restaurant was outstanding. The selection of food was amazing and the staff very friendly and welcoming as well as efficient. The behavior of some of the Guests left much to be desired but the staff never seemed fazed by any of it.

A major advantage of the Hotel was the proximity of the Beach (across the road in front of the Hotel). If you use the Hotel Beach Towels from your room then the use of the Sunbeds is free. There is also a frequent inspection of the Hotel Beach area by senior Hotel staff to maintain standards and an attendant is permanently available. This means a saving of up to 10 Euro's a day. Also you don't have the constant irritation of Beach Traders wandering among the Sunbeds. The only exception is the charming lady who sells Doughnuts (advertised as 'No Calories but taste divine!) but even she limits herself to the front of the Beach.

This holiday came at a time of extreme stress for my wife and myself but this Hotel provided us, not only with the peace that we needed, but also the friendly atmosphere to give us total relaxation. Normally by the end of 2 weeks I am looking forward to going home but this time I was sad to leave and will, certainly return.

Room Tip: Go for a Sea View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    290
    85
    24
    19
See reviews for
203
596
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

The location of the hotel was perfect and the beach was nice and clean. BUT the staff in the reception was terrible! The air-condition didn't work but the receptionist didn't care. We had to turn to our travel agency for help. The refrigerator didn't work either and it took 7 days to get it replaced!
The room was worn, but clean. The only really good thing about the hotel was the breakfast, it was really nice.
Choose another hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yyy123189413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed 22nd-29th June 2012.

We chose Aquila Porto Rethymno following the reviews on Tripadvisor and, as usual, take many of them with a pinch of salt and just use the comments as a guide. As everyones personal expectations, experience in travel as well as individual experience on holiday is varied, then I believe reading reviews at every level usually gives a balanced view.

When we arrived we were suprised at the very un-assuming entrance and were not really sure where the main front door was (if you've been, you'l know what I mean). We were met at reception by very happy, smily faces and were immediately served with a fresh fruit juice by the doorman (we were travelling indepent of a tour company having booked via an independant agent).

Our first impression of the reception areas were very pleasing, clean bright, fresh and very well appointed.

This could not be said about the bedroom. We were in 502 (a good room in terms of views from balcony). The decor was VERY tired and the furnishing were old, shabby and certainly not what we would expect from a 5 star hotel, 3 star (at a push). As many other reveiwers state... the air con was a 'con'... it was almost non-existant. We were enjoying temperatures well into the late 30's so air-con was most definately needed. It was bearly noticeable when standing directly underneath it, so cooling the room was impossible. The bathroom was tatty, old but clean. We noticed small ants in both the bathroom and bedroom carpets a few times, but not enough to bother us, still, not good I think?! There was a very badly stained (seat pad) armchair in the room. A huge stain in fact and rather vile. It wouldn't take much effort to either remove and clean or recover it. Little things like this as well as a sticky mess in the mini-bar fridge, which let the room down.

Okay, rant over, now for the positive stuff... there was always plenty of hot water, the towels were soft and fluffy and there were bathrobes and slippers provided. There were tea and coffee making with kettle in room.

As mentioned above, all staff were very friendly, except the miserable beach attendants. Beach towels (provided) could be changed at set times, but be prepared to get scowled at!! The beach was great, plenty of room between the free loungers. The sand was clean and sea devine!!

Entertainment was a let down, it was in a bar area on the street front, so available to 'everyone' as opposed to private to hotel guests.

We didn't use the swimming pool areas as the beach was so good. See other peoples reviews about them i.e. shade and size etc... they're correct!!

We were B&B. Breakfast was rather crowded and if you dont smoke be warned about opting to sit outside... unless you enjoy being smoked out whilst eating breakfast. The food was good and a superb orange juicer... yum.

Overall, a fabulous holiday (taking other factors into account) and the hotel is very nice espeically the staff, reception areas and location within Rethymno, just not 5 star at all. If you go with a 3 star level in your expectations, then you'll LOVE it. By the way, this is all based on our experiences of our room... a higher grade room, then perhaps brilliant??!! Therefore dont be put off, its worth it for the location and beach alone!!

p.s. If you are phyically able... do the Samaria Gorge (our reason for this trip!)
p.p.s. Supermarket across the side street from the hotel entrance... cheap and well-stocked, cheapest place (by far) for water!!

Room Tip: Email hotel and/or 'like' the hotel on facebook and request a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toffees_Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton in ashfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is classed as a 5 star hotel but would be classed as a UK / Western Europe 4 star at best. Firstly the good points:
1. The food. Excellent. A great hot / cold buffet selection for both breakfast and evening meal with the evening meal having a choice of a meat, fish or vegetarian option.
2. The waiters/waitresses / front of house staff, extremely professional.
3. The pools / beach facility. Very well maintained and convenient.
4. Housekeeping. Superb with great finishing touches.

Now the ...bad points.
1. The "air con'". A joke. Speaking to others holiday makers we were not alone in complaining about this. The aircon was only available between 4pm until midnight and even then the efficiency was woefully inadequate. 5/7 nights we both had restless nights because of the stuffiness of the room, which leads me to....
2. Reception staff. We complained about the aircon after night 1, 2 and 3 and on the last night of the holiday I had a follow up call from reception about the complaint. Speaking to their faces they pay you lip service but are not able to resolve any concerns. On the phone they are abrupt bordering on rude.
3. Beach towels. The system the hotel has for control / supply and exchange is based on you seeing the right person at the right time or else you will be very much disappointed.
4. Table water prices. Almost 4 Euros for a litre of water....thats right WATER. Supermarket 100 meters away 9 litres for 2 Euros.
5. Lifts. If you have a tandem pushchair side by side then this is not the hotel for you as you will not get it in a lift of which there are 2 of. At peak times (breakfast and early evening) you have a tour of the floors as you expect to go to the ground floor from floor 4 via floors 5 then 6 then back to 4 then 3 etc etc. Each time people are disappointed as with a stroller and 2 adults there is room for a another couple but thats it.
6. TV reception. Very poor picture quality and the BBC channel had intermittant volume, more off then on though.

The hotel would benefit in having a hotel room "bible" to give guests a comprehensive breakdown of the facilities.

Should the hotel respond to this critique, which I doubt, then I will give it as much attention and respect as we received to our concerns .

Room Tip: The room we had was on the 4th floor facing the road to the rear of the hotel. Sound proofing is go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Excellent hotel. Immaculate cleanliness. Helpful staff but don't expect warmth, just efficiency.
Rooms are of a good standard and excellent faultless maid service.
True, there are only a few sunbeds, but if you get up at a decent hour, you won't have a problem getting one.
Food, different for all 14nights we were there. Great selection, we were only disappointed twice, and probably our own fault due to choosing vegetarian option.
We had worries prior to going here on our honeymoon due to needless negative reviews...If you are going here soon, don't worry, please just look forward to it. Hopefully this genuine review will put some minds at rest.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Honestyfrankly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We travelled here with Thomson/Falcon on a half-board basis. Their wording gave the impression of wall to wall luxury. Unfortunately, that was not our experience. The reception area did look well, but we were very disappointed by the bedroom. I simply could not give it more than three stars. One wall was water stained and the furniture throughout tired and scuffed. We had booked a late departure and on our last day were transferred to another room which was of a higher standard, although no bigger and it too had some decor issues. It would seem that if you want the five star treatment, you have to upgrade right up the scale.
Thats covers most of the bad. The rooms were clean and kept clean and we found the beds very comfortable. Breakfast I would certainly give five stars and giving each table a full pot of coffee was a nice touch that other hotels could learn from. Rethymnon is not particularly cheap, so our decision to go half board turned out to be a good one. Beds on the beach are also free to guests and beach towels, although not always available, were also a good addition. The evening meal was something of a mixed bag. There was certainly plenty to choose from, although some of the main courses which were served left a little to be desired. I witnessed full plates of food being returned uneaten and in one case waved away before even being tried! The themed evenings seemed more successful, with a greater choice on the hot counter and I really think the hotel should stick with that rather than doing the 'serving' thing. We had to wait one evening over 30 mins for our main course, but then we weren't in a hurry.
The town itself is nice but noisy at night - peaceful places to eat and drink were few and far between. If you head away from the old town, you can see where the recession has hit, so you have to stay in the centre. There are some quieter bars beyond the venetian harbour (really noisy) and up towards the fortress.
All in all a good holiday and I did forgive the hotel the poor standard of bedroom on the basis that it is probably trying to keep up standards in other areas during difficult times.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xjbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 15-22 June & really enjoyed it. We were on the 5th floor which I had requested & had a side sea view & morning sunshine. The room was clean & spacious.
We arrived late & also had a voucher for lunch the following morning, in their A La Carte restaurant, which we really appreciated.
You can also swop your dinner for lunch any day, as long as you let reception know the day before.
The breakfast buffet was especially good, with lots & lots of choices & all a good quality.
The evening meal again lots of choices of starters, & you pick one of three main meals, but to be honest if you’re not keen on one of the main meals you can keep going back & have more starters, which also included chicken, rice, etc so you can make a main meal from these.
Drinks can be expensive & they don’t let you take your drinks from the bar into the restaurant for some reason.
The themed nights were good, we especially liked the BBQ evening which was around the pool area.
Very happy with the pool areas all clean & sunny most of the day.
The beach is just across the road & had free sunbeds (beach towels in your room).
Only a 20 minute walk into town, & its really pleasant, plenty of local restaurants & tavernas to choose from.
Staff were friendly to us & we did not encounter any rude staff during our stay.
The head waiter in particular was very good with his guests.
.
All in all we had a wonderful time at this hotel, although I would say its not a 5 star, I would recommend it & also return some time.
If you have an ipod take a connection lead for the HiFi or CD's.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th floor, with the sun in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
3.3 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#11 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
3.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort
0.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.1 mi away
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
SENTIDO Aegean Pearl
#7 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Porto Rethymno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Porto Rethymno

Property: Aquila Porto Rethymno
Address: Venizelou 52A | & Sikelianou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#9 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Porto Rethymno 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the waterfront setting of the stunning northern coastline of Crete, Aquila Porto Rethymno brings the essence of an urban resort located within a striking distance of 700m from the city of Rethymno. The hotel presents a cosmopolitan escape, as you relax, dine and wander among Rethymno's most beautiful and historic sites offering the perfect base for business or leisure travelers. Chic, luxury hotel building and accommodation offer superb amenities and recreational facilities for all travelers. The hotel has been recognized internationally with prestigious awards and certifications for its commitment to the best service and hospitality. Porto Rethymno is an urban oasis featuring beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites which meet the needs of every traveler. The recently renovated guest rooms and suites have mostly views of Rethymno beach or the city harbor featuring a refreshing color palette inspired by a sophisticated fabulous setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aquila Porto Rethymno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Porto Rethymno Rethymnon, Crete
Porto Rethymnon
Hotel Aquila Porto Rethymno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing