We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good One”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Ranked #9 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Good One”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Just had two weeks at this hotel and can not think of a bad point to say ,we were in room 204 ,a good veiw of the sea ,the balcony was a sun trap untill 1 pm ,the room was quiet.no road or neighbour noise .The dining room was excellent and the staff were outstandingly good , drinks were expensive , but you expect this in a good hotel,we dont use the pool but it looked nice and clean ,and was cleaned every day ,we dont use the gym when on holiday, overall we enjoyed our two weeks and would recommend this hotel ,its only about 15 minute walk into the old town .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodleighManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    315
    92
    24
    21
See reviews for
233
648
30
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Just come back from a week at this hotel with some good and some bad points that the brochure doesn't tell you?
We booked a sea view room and we got a lovely bungalow style room which was really nice, modern and clean. We went half board which was good as we could change our evening meal to a lunch with no problem. What the brochure doesn't say is that men have to have long trousers in any dining area, we just thought it was the al la carte resturant where you have to pay extra to eat in there that you had to wear them? They could do with more waiting staff in the main dinning area as you did have to wait a while for someone to come and take your drinks order.

This hotel is right on the beach but I have to say I was really dissapointed with it, very rocky and pebbles and the sea was so rough the red flag was flying everyday and alot of people had to be dragged out by the lifegurad. We had to buy the beach shoes that they sell for 9 euros in the shop on site, otherwise you would have trouble walking anywhere near the waters edge. If you have been to other Greek islands with nice golden sand and sea that you can swim in then you will be dissapointed with this beach as the brochure doesn't say anything about it being rocky?

The food was good if your a meat eater, but if you don't eat meat then it does get a little harder. They do a veggie option every night but they weren't brilliant and all the salads that are made up for some reason have all got ham in them??

Drinks are very expenisve we had a glasss of wine each night with our eveing meal and it was costing 12 euro's, other drinks like a mojito were 9 euros, coke 3 euro's. I felt like I was paying to help the Greek economy with the prices the hotel were charging.

Lot's of bars outside the hotel that were much better priced, but it's coming to the end of the season and alot of the bars were closing down for the season. We did head in to Reythmnon on the bus which costs 1.25, again very quiet, lots of resturants and bars but nothing different to what was close to the hotel.

One of the best little local resturants which I have to say we did have lunch in a couple of times is Mr Gyros, I would normally walk past this little place as it looks more like a lunch time snack place. Don't judge a book by it's cover, the food is all freshly cooked and it is run by a local family and the food is fab. Portions are huge and the prices are really good, it's a must to try even if you only go for lunch and have a pitta which are to die for.

The gym at the hotel is nothing to write home about, two treadmills and only one worked, cross trainer, a few hand weights and the odd lat pull down, very small and dissapointing if you want to use a gym on holiday!!! Nice indooor pool which is good if the weather is not too good, which at this time of year it wasn't. Used the tennis courts which are accross the road to the hotel the courts themselves are free but they do charge you 5 euros an hour for hire of rackets and balls, try not to ask Maria the receptionist as she was very rude when we went to ask if we play tennis and hire the rackets.

Lovely little chapel in the beautiful grounds that are kept immaculate, a couple got married when we were there and the setting is lovely. Be careful if you are booking all inclusive as you have to pay some money on nearly every drink which I found strange? Even the local mythos beer is not free on the A/I, so be warned.
Overall it's a nice hotel but I was a little dissappointed due to other Greek Islands that are much nicer.

Room Tip: It's worth paying the little extra for a sea view, you could end up accross the road in the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wirraltravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This hotel provided what we wanted. A week of stress free relaxation. We started the week with a massage in the spa (which is not as luxurious as it appears in the photos but the massage itself was excellent and good value for money). The alternative at a similar price was available on your sunbed (not really ideal conditions) by massuers who walk the beach touting for business. Our flight had been delayed and we arrived very late at night and were also given a voucher to eat in the restaurant next day, food was excellent and a good ploy to get you to pay the extra to eat there. We didn't succumb and there was no need as the buffet/table d'hote was excellent, a vast variety of hot and cold meals to suit everyone, constantly replenished. There were also a couple of theme nights - Asian and Greek, these were very good. The staff on the whole were attentive and the maitre d ran a smooth operation, the drinks waiters could have been a little quicker taking the orders though. Having read previous reviews my main concern prior to arrival had been room allocation (I followed the advice of a reviewer and emailed the hotel but didn't get a reponse). We had booked a sea view room with Thomson and that is what we got - Room 402, view absolutely fine, no road noise, no other guest noise at night. The room itself was adequate but not up to 4 or even 5* standard. It had all the acoutrements needed to get the grade (good size/dressing gowns/free slippers/recyclable cloth bag/kettle (tip: take or buy a couple of cheap mugs, cups provided not really big enough)/fridge (remove the extortionately priced goods put in a carrier bag somewhere in the room and buy your own)/weighing scales (with all the food definitely didn't want to use those!)flat screen TV and DVD player etc but, the decor was shabby and really needed a refurb. The bathroom especially was really poor, quite small and had seen various 'patch up' jobs done on the tiles and sink surround, it also smelt quite badly of damp. Apart from what semed to be crowds at dinner you didn't get the feeling of being overwhemed with people around the hotel despite it being full and occupying a small(ish) plot on the seafront. The use of space has been well executed with a large pool at the back, this is a sun trap and no breeze (always beds available when we were there), a smaller pool at the seafront is the guests have the awful habit of 'bagging before dawn'! Overall a very good holiday, having been to Crete and Rethymnon (have stayed at the MInos - almost same standard and a bit cheaper) many times before it's the Cretan people that make the holiday and the staff here are no exception, always friendly, attentive, want to do their best for you without expecting something in return. Will we come back - Crete - definitely, hotel - maybe.

Room Tip: The better the travel company, the better the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skiholidayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The experience that we encountered when we stayed here with our two children (Thomas 11 & Rachael 7) was a real treat.
We thought the children would be bored but they never once on our ten day holiday even mentioned anything close to this.The staff on every single level made our family feel part of the close professional team than catered for our every need.This is truly what a holiday is meant to be,to feel like a holiday.
We have been treated better than many top resorts that we have stayed at and to be placed where we are is better than many other hotels locally.
Private beach free from rubbish,fresh beach towels daily, no reserving sunbeds,the list does go on and on.
We will definitely return and can't wait to be greated by the manger (costas) and all his friendly close nit team who I would like to thank by name :Lucas ,giani,Morgan,filio,anastasia,Marion,Kiki,olena,George,Maria,etc,etc
Many thanks once again x

If I HAD to say one bad thing it just would be the prices of drinks where above the prices of surrounding establishments, but when you factor that into everything else and the flexibility of drinking your own during the day by the pool etc, it really seems quite a small gripe.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russellkeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We were wary when we arrived at the Porto becuase of some previous terrible reviews, and the photos that showed poor sea views etc. We made sure we requested a high room before arrival and also asked the hotel to note it was our anniversary (hint hint cheeky upgrade please!)
We arrived at 2am, and like everyone else has said, recieved a free a la carte voucher for lunch the following day. We were given room key 601 (no upgrade there then) but it was on the top floor and 2am so we thought we'd just go and see what it was like before trying our luck.
When we arrived at our room, it was great! We were at the back in the corner of the U shape hotel, looking out over the beach and sundeck area. From photo's this looks really closed in and dark, but that wasn't the case at all. We had the sun in the morning on the balcony (better than actual see facing rooms get) and the balcony itself was spacious.
The hotel had also left us a complimentary bottle of champage, greek deserts and a caraf of raki to say congratulations on our anniversary which was brilliant.

Staff
The staff were all very professional at the hotel, but also very cliquey with familiar residents. We didn't really mind, until they had a 'private event' on the sundeck for the 'best of the best' residents, giving them free drinks and special treatment whilst the 'rest' of us looked down on them! We saw the funny side of it, but it was a bit odd. Towards the end of the week as the staff started to recognise us, they did become friendlier and we had a lovely complimentary upgrade to the a la carte restaurant which was lovely food and very fancy service.

Hotel Food
The breakfast buffet was great, and it was nice being able to sit and eat by the pool every morning. We swapped dinner for lunch most days so we could eat out at night (All you have to do is let reception know in the morning) and the service was fine, and food good. The greek night bbq was also great. BUT.... one evening we decided to eat in the restaurant, we were told to help ourselves to the starter buffet, and they took our order for our main (one choice of meat, fish or veggie). Over an hour later, the staff has started to eat their own meals and the buffet was starting to be cleared away, and there was still no sight of our main! We filled up on starters and got out of there and went for a drink instead!

Nightlife
The bars to the right of the hotel (if you're facing the sea) are a bit bland, but if you walk about ten minutes you come to Cactus, which was brilliant; really great cocktails and a nice relaxed atmosphere. If you turn left and walk into the old town there are loads of really great bars. I'd recommend most of them for people watching and beautiful location. Beware of the swallows that sit above you in the old town though, I had one poo on my face!

Food Outside the Hotel
I wouldn't bother eating in the old Venetian harbour, they spend ages wooing you in there and upselling their food, but once they have you they lose interest and it's not really worth the money (55 euro pp for one course which consisted of 6 very nice prawns and a heap of raw cabbage). We found an amazing restaurant called Alana which was the same price but for three courses and coffee, and it the most beautiful setting with very friendly staff.

We would recommend:
Catching the bus to Chania
Getting a glass bottom boat in Chania harbour
Walking around the other side of the harbour in Rethymno and snorkelling off the rocks
Watching the sunset from the bar on the steps up to the fortezza
Getting lost in the old town whilst shopping and people watching
Having a drink in the square next to the fountain in the old town
Eating in the Casa di Harris a great italian up a side street in the old town
Hiring a car and driving south for beautiful beaches and great snorkelling

Finally...
We would recommend the hotel, it was great on a whole if you're relaxed enough to overlook the minor faults. It was missing a familiar friendly barman and bar (the coffee shop was open late but a bit stuffy) but I guess that's what you get when you book a 5 star hotel?
It's definitely worth it for the location, we didn't see a better hotel in the area.

We were sad to leave, so enjoy it for us please!

Eating in Casa

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a high room and sea view Email the hotel before you go, they're really helpf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holland_Loves_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We arrived at this hotel at 2am and were welcomed with a bottle of wine and water and because we missed our evening meal we were given a complimentary set lunch in the A la carte restaurant which was excellent. Our hotel room was on the 3rd floor over looking out onto the street which was very noisy and also overlooked flats therefore we had to keep our curtains drawn. We asked for an upgrade which we were prepared to pay for but we were informed that the hotel was full. Our room did not reflect the description in the brochure, it was dated and tired. The mattresses on the bed were on the very firm side. Nevertheless, it was spotlessly clean and the maid service was excellent, and every day we had clean towels. There was plenty of choice of food in the restaurant for breakfast and for the starters and desserts, however, we felt that the main courses were disappointing, especially the lack of fish dishes and traditional greek cuisine. The staff were very attentive, welcoming and polite. The hotel is in an excellent location across the road from a long sandy beach, the bonus was having the free use of the hotels sunbeds, parasols and towels which could be exchanged everyday. We only used the pools on 1 occasion. There was always plenty of sunbeds available around the pool next to the restaurant but not so on the deck area as towels were put on sunbeds to reserve them very early in the morning. We would definately recommend this hotel and would go back, however based on our experience of 5* hotels we think that it only deserves a 4* rating based on the quality of our room.

Room Tip: Reserve a sea view on the 4th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jazee15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Our holiday was spolit by having room 137. We tried to upgrade as soon as we saw it but was told that the hotel was full and they would see what they had available in 2 - 3 days. They never got back to us and in the meantime we adapted to it as we did not want it to spoil our holiday. The room overlooked the busy road at the side of the hotel so it was very noisy if the balcony door was open. We were overlooked by the flats opposite so the curtains were closed most of the time which made it obviously very dark. The other window was covered by curtains which were for decorative purpose only as they could not be opened. The balcony was dark most of the day and when viewed from the outside of the hotel looking up from the road it is almost looks like an after thought, lets make another room in this space.
There was no proper shower, only a hand held shower over the bath, this proved very difficult to use without flooding the whole bathroom as there was no shower curtain. People will say you get what you pay for, fair enough but we paid for a sea view room and even standard rooms in a 4* should reach a certain standard.
The food was as good as you would expect, although i found most of it luke warm so stuck to salads.
Very clean and well run apart from above.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robden2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
3.3 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,189 reviews
3.6 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
4.4 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 175 in Rethymnon
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#14 of 175 in Rethymnon
676 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kriti Beach Hotel
Kriti Beach Hotel
#25 of 175 in Rethymnon
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquila Porto Rethymno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquila Porto Rethymno

Property: Aquila Porto Rethymno
Address: Venizelou 52A | & Sikelianou, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#6 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#9 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Aquila Porto Rethymno 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the waterfront setting of the stunning northern coastline of Crete, Aquila Porto Rethymno brings the essence of an urban resort located within a striking distance of 700m from the city of Rethymno. The hotel presents a cosmopolitan escape, as you relax, dine and wander among Rethymno's most beautiful and historic sites offering the perfect base for business or leisure travelers. Chic, luxury hotel building and accommodation offer superb amenities and recreational facilities for all travelers. The hotel has been recognized internationally with prestigious awards and certifications for its commitment to the best service and hospitality. Porto Rethymno is an urban oasis featuring beautifully appointed guest rooms and suites which meet the needs of every traveler. The recently renovated guest rooms and suites have mostly views of Rethymno beach or the city harbor featuring a refreshing color palette inspired by a sophisticated fabulous setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aquila Porto Rethymno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquila Porto Rethymno Rethymnon, Crete
Porto Rethymnon
Hotel Aquila Porto Rethymno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing