We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,558)
Filter reviews
1,558 results
Traveler rating
973
407
114
35
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
973
407
114
35
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa la carte restaurantsea viewhalf boardpiazza dihotel photographerbeach towelsold townmini barthe guest relations managergala dinnercd playermain restaurantfree safebeach servicestandard roomrestaurant staffprivate beach
Filter
Updating list...
962 - 967 of 1,558 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This a great hotel in an excellent position, friendly staff and wonderful food. There is a complementary bottle of wine and fruit basket in the room together with tea and coffee (no milk). This is not replenished once used so take a few tea bags. There is also a small bag of crisps by the tea and coffee but these belong in the mini-bar and you will be charged 3 euros 40 for them!! One guy we met four bags before he realised they were going on his bill! The drinks are very expensive but I suppose they would be in a five star hotel. Didn't see many drinking wine with dinner - at 23 euros for the cheapest bottle, I'm not surprised.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms don't get much sun
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rookeynook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

From the moment we arrived the service in this hotel was fantastic-refreshing drinks on arrival, bell boys attentive and we had a speedy check in. We upgraded to the Mythica service which provided fruit, sparkling wine, raki, water, red roses and local sweets in our room. The fruit was and water was replenished frequently. The room was lovely; very comfortable, clean and a great sea view. We didn't experience too much outside noise as the french doors blocked most of it out.
As written by previous guests the food was superb! Great selection for breakfast and dinner! Great Greek dishes and fresh local produce. Although, I am not a vegetarian there was plenty of vegetarian dishes to choose from and they always provided an excellent vegetarian main meal option. The hotel also had frequent champagne breakfasts and wine tasting sessions. A highlight of our stay was the lobster evening, We would highly recommend this evening for a nice romantic meal.
The beach was brilliant - shallow, warm water and free sunbeds and towels if you are a guest of the hotel!
Rethymnon old town is a short stroll away and has plenty to offer - cafes, bars, restaurants and sites of historical interest.
Platanes is also a pretty village to visit and we would recommend a meal a Yannis restaurant - very friendly, genuine owner and provides yummy home made cheese pies with authentic Raki.
We truly enjoyed this holiday from the hotel to the surrounding town! The Greek people made the holiday experience very special with their friendliness and generosity.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Suzinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a week's stay booking with Thompson.The hotel and staff were amazing.We had a standard sea view room which was more than comfortable.Fresh towels every day despite the guidelines to leave them in the bath if you wanted new towels.Bedding was changed 3 times and the pillows nearly every day. Beach towels as often as you needed.
We arrived later on our first night and missed dinner so were given a card to dine in the Piazza di porto ( A la carte) the next day,go hungry the food is truly good quality and the service superb.
Dinner has so much food choice....You are seated by a very attentive Maitre'de in the restaurant or by the pool.Staff then present you with your menu for your main dinner courses,2 meat choices and a vegetarian option.Also the drink and wine menu.(my opinion the wines are very good but a little bit expensive, starting at 20 euros)
You are then free to choose the buffet starter.Again there is so much choice,some of the starters could easily have done for main courses.I would only have one complaint,the restaurant finishes dinner service at 21:30 so if you like to eat later when its hot this cant be facilitated,unless you eat out!
In our stay we were pleasantly suprised with two champagne breakfasts.
One of the evenings the hotel held a Greek themed night,which was very busy,we were taken by the maitre'de again to the A la carte and had the availibility of choosing whatever we liked from the menu!
If you like being pampered and looked after this is the hotel for you.
This was a 40th birthday holiday for my husband the staff made the holiday a relaxing,enjoyable one.We chose Crete to walk,run, experience a few excursions....We sat by the pools,beach and ate lots! We hope to return!

Room Tip: pay for it!
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LurcherLover40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Staying at this hotel was a real pleasure. From the moment you walk in to the sparkling clean marble entrance, you know it is somewhere special. The service from the staff is absolutely excellent, and could not be improved upon. Then there is the food - the hotel puts on the most delicious spread for both breakfast and dinner, with so many choices. Each item is delicious, especially the main courses at night. There is also a chef who prepares specials for you, such as smoothies in the morning, and little starters at night.

The hotel is right across the road from a wonderful beach, which is clean, and tidy, and the water is warm and clear. There are plenty of cafes and shops around the hotel, too, which means you are never bored.

The rooms were comfortable, with a tv and fridge, and coffee making facilities. The only thing I would add is softer bed linen would be a welcome addition, as well as nicer toiletries, but that is just a very small thing. Overall, the room is very nice.

This hotel is highly recommended. The staff make you feel so welcome, and the food is out of this world. The beach, cafes and old town make it a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JohnGlassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

This is a great hotel, from the moment you get here you will feel relaxed. The food is also very good, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richpaletz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews