We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic but depends on room selection.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort
Ranked #10 of 166 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic but depends on room selection.”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from 2 weeks at this stunning hotel and although we had a brilliant time, I can't help thinking that your experience of the hotel will depend on the room choice as the un-refurbished rooms may not give you the same experience as the refurbished rooms.
We booked through Thomson and requested rooms together, we have 3 kids (15, 12 & 10) so wanted us all to be together. Thomson advised that was a request and could not be guaranteed, so prior to departure I contacted the hotel directly and asked if our rooms could be together, to which they confirmed they could be.....happy days!
We arrived around 1 in the morning to find we were in rooms 119 & 123, which weren't together, we queried this to be told there was nothing that could be done at that time and to return to reception in the morning to resolve. The rooms were the older style room and although they are clean, tidy and perfectly acceptable, you can't help but be disappointed after seeing the pics on the website of the newer rooms. In the morning reception advised that there was nothing they could do that day but a room would be available the following day that could fit us all, the following day we were asked to see if the new room was acceptable and when we saw it our chins hit the floor. We were given a refurbished room (404)with private pool and it could sleep all 5 off us, all of a sudden we'd arrived on holiday, we were now one of the 'beautiful people', the room was stunning and on top of that the beach in front off the suite was our own little private beach. The holiday now went to a whole new level and was exceptional from that point on, everything about the hotel was excellent with special praise going to all the staff, they were all so helpful and friendly, nothing was to much trouble and everyone always had a smile.
We were half board and we did toy with the idea off going all inclusive but decided against it as we like to go out and experience the local culture. But generally we ate so well at breakfast we didn't feel like eating again until the evening, the food selections were amazing, everything you can ever want. The kids were happy as well as they had the free tasty corner from lunchtime, so could get something to eat if they wanted or there were crepes available from 15:00 that were also no extra charge. I believe 'Grecotels' ethos is if the kids are happy the parents are happy and this was exactly how it worked.
The hotel is quite large and it always felt secure enough to let the kids go and explore, there plenty to do with 6 pools (not widely advertised), tennis, mini golf, watersports, football, volleyball, something for everyone. Free wifi throughout so kids can stay 'connected' to their social media and update their friends constantly, whilst parents can chill a little and rediscover each other.
The bus stops right outside and costs €1.20 per person to Rethymno, you have to buy tickets from shop as the bus drivers do not accept money. We hired a car for a few days and went slightly further a field and I was pleasantly surprised by how mountainous and green Crete was. Rethymno and Chania are lovely, little cobbled streets, lovely harbour / port, plenty of shops and lots off lovely food.
Overall
Absolutely stunning hotel
Staff were exceptional
Food was fantastic
Amenities plenty
Would I go here again, no, because I've been here now.
Would I go to another Grecotel hotel, yes if this one is anything to go by, they all look amazing.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    215
    81
    22
    15
See reviews for
309
353
14
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Returned August 2014 for 11 nights following an excellent holiday last year. We booked a sea view room which had been refurbished. It was bigger than last year, it looks like they have taken three rooms and made them into two so effectively you now get one and a half rooms which makes them very spacious indeed. There is also a wet room but the only point to note this is actually in the bedroom itself so privacy was a bit of an issue, especially if you have children.
Food and staff were absolutely excellent again, most even remembered us from last year which makes you feel even more welcome. They have added extra pools this year too, so in our block we effectively had our own shared pool and terrace area with sun beds which was spacious and very quiet. Plenty of staff, all genuinely want to help you. Sunset lounge a lovely setting to relax in the evening, waitress service who work tirelessly to ensure you glass isn't empty for too long.
This remains the best hotel and holiday we have been on and I would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Sea view highly recommended as these have been refurbished already but I understand all rooms will h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrazydogDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Only disappointment was the rooms weren't quite like in the brochure , but clean, comfy, TV air con, good size bathroom but basic shower. Had a little veranda as we wer in a bungalow style chalet. Facilities wer excellent with 6 pools, paddling , and adult, situated on a wonderful and safe beach! This is a very perfect resort for families , with free pedalos and kayaks , entertainment for kids was fantastic , good was incredible and staff were beyond expectation! Overall a very lovely holiday and highly recommended, but a very family resort ie lots of kids !

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fox O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks in August. Our room was amazing...we had booked a sea view but the room itself was immaculate...with a separate bathroom and wet room. The room certainly set a precedent for the next 2 weeks. Sandwiches and wine were left in the fridge in our room as we arrived late at night....a nice touch. Also tea and coffee facilities were in the room.
A daily maid service, always welcome.....even changing your beach towels when asked. Our room overlooked the infinity pool which apart from 2 days was a beautiful setting, frequented by families and couples.....quiet and peaceful. The beach area was small but well kept with plenty of sunbeds. As stated, this part of the hotel seemed to be the quieter area of the hotel, mainly families and couples.....hopefully the hotel will strive to keep it this way and not encourage groups which could change the peaceful atmosphere.
The food was excellent with plenty of choice and the waiting staff always greeted you with a smile....it would be unfair to single out staff for praise as they all work incredibly hard. We chose half board but looking back, perhaps the all inclusive option may have been a wiser choice.
All the areas were kept spotless, the cleanliness was first class. Our favourite area was the sunset bar, especially in the evening as there always seemed to be a cooling breeze....again, wonderful staff. We didnt book a room with Thomson as our return flight was quite late, but reception offered us a room to shower, whenever we wanted....for free, so I certainly wouldnt pay the £35 room charge.....ok, so we had another room, but it was adequate (nowhere near as nice as our sea view room though!!)......therefore we still spent most of our final day on the beach, then used our "2nd" room for a shower before our flight home.
The entertainment was not that good....the best night, in my opinion, was the greek folklore dancing and the 3 tenors....apart from those 2 nights, the entertainment was very low key....that is the main reason I havent given this hotel the 5 stars as the hotel is quite isolated, but a 20 minute ride into the busy resort of Rethymnon and you have all the night life you need.
An extra bonus was the free safe (other greek hotels we had to pay for this facility) and the air conditioning, as this could be left on, even when no one was in the room....so after hot sunshine by the pool/beach....a nice cool room to return to!
This hotel was a pleasure to stay in and we were very sorry to leave.....would I recommend this hotel?......of course......already missing the fantastic views and the sound of the waves.....beautiful memories. Well done everyone at El Greco.....a hotel to be proud of.

Room Tip: Definately sea view! Some of the older rooms looked a little tired and in need of refurbishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MaggieT93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at the White Palace hotel for 8 nights.The choice of the hotel was made because this was a Grecotel, and we were sure that the quality of the hotel was guaranteed as we stayed in other Grecotels in the past.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we have 'witnessed' once more the high standard as far as hotel accomodation and surroundings were concerned, service offered, food and beverage but most importantly the warm hospitality of the hotel staff.
Hotel surroundings are superb, the hotel is situated on a blue flag beach which is being cleaned every morning, with lots of umbrellas and sunbeds next to the blue clear waters or the lovely main swimming pool.
The brekfast buffet offered a variety of food both cooked warm or cold, the ala carte reastaurant offered nicely presentd and tasty food.Michael Giouloutntas the Food and Beverage Manager has always been around and was very keen to satisfy all our special meal requests.
It will be unfair not to mention some of the other people who made our holiday memorable, for example Olga and Demetra who greeted us every morning with a smile at breakfast and given us advice as to where to go and places to visit, Marcos the young man on the beach who ensured that we always had clean towels, cold water and arranged our umbrellas and sunbeds, Christina at the pool bar, Demetra at the reception with her valuable advices as to where to go and last but not least Manolis at the bar and tall Giorgos whose surname i forget.All the above and the others whos names I forgot are a living example of Cretan hospitality offered by the Grecotels.
If you are looking for a relaxed luxury holiday on a lovely island in a hospital and friendly environment were people make you feel special, then White Palace is the place to go.

Room Tip: rooms begining with 6 are more modern rooms begining with 1, 2, 3 are more spacious definately cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank theodora t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

What a place. I will try to add photos to illustrate this place but it is well worth a visit. I will definitely go back. Just be aware of a few things.
1) 5* rating is very subjective. If you are looking for Claridges in Crete then you will be disappointed. If, however, you are looking for a lovely setting, friendly staff, good food, clean rooms and excellent facilities then this is well worth a visit.
2) Choose you time of visit carefully. If you are comfortable in 35+C temps with relentless sun then a visit in August is fine. If not then try cooler months.
We took the all inclusive option. Great value. Just a few pointers;
I liked the wine but I am easily pleased! If you want Pimms then you have to ask for it with Sprite or you will get it with soda or just water. If you want to avoid (suspected) watered down beer then ask for bottled Alpha beer. Only came to light when I went off campus and found the same draught brews to be far more palatable.
Hotel is in a stunning setting. The food is excellent with a very good buffet. One option is to take a booking at the 'a la carte' restaurant. This was a lovely spot just off the beach. All inclusive option pointless here as you are restricted as to what you can order and you end up with what you could have got from the main buffet restaurant. Also, the stunning setting was mildly distorted by the piped Muzak. When you are blessed with such a setting, it's best to leave nature to provide the soundtrack.
Main pool at this place is deceptive. In 40c temps a 29c pool doesn't really cool you off. Plus, it goes to 3.5m deep so be careful if you have non swimmers with you. The side pools are much shallower and cooler and a bit more refreshing.
The beach is all of 50' from the rooms. It is small but functional and there is a paragliding boat at the bottom of one of the small concrete groynes.
Very relaxed attitude to the advertised dress code.
A lot of effort made to cater to the Russian market but with the current climate the Russians were largely absent. However, the Russian reps were very friendly and were, in fact, more useful than the UK ones.
We had a great time at this hotel and thoroughly recommend it and will very likely return. Crete is a lovely place with very friendly locals.

!

Room Tip: Make sure you request a sea view room or a pool view room. We opened our door to find an exclusive p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rubysdad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I spotted this hotel when booking a holiday for me and my mum on Thomson. Literally it's one of those hotels were your mouth drops as soon as you walk into the hotel. Firstly, the setting and overall ambience of the hotel is outstanding. They said some rooms need refurbishing but everything looked so beautiful as everything is white. There's a total of 6 swimming pools including 2 infinities and the beach is literally a step away from the hotel. We booked a room with a sea view and it's well worth it because you can't hear the crickets/nats and the sea to look at every morning is amazing. I would honestly reccomend this hotel to anyone! There's a bus every 30m which takes around 20-30m to get to the town of rethymnon which can get quite busy at night but is so easy to use. The cleanliness of the hotel is exceptional, and the staff are so lovely. They get to know you personally and nothing is ever too much for them. There's a wide variety of food and activities available so you'll never feel bored or that there's nothing there for you. The hotel deserves every star of 5 because it's so amazing with every aspect.

Room Tip: Definetley invest in a room with a sea/pool view. They also have a fridge in every room so it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Izzy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.9 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
2.6 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#12 of 166 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Adelianos Kampos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 166 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
4.4 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#8 of 166 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
46.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort

Property: White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort
Address: | P.O. Box 27, Rethymnon, Crete GR 74100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel El Greco Hotel Platanias
Grecotel El Greco Rethymnon
Grecotel El Greco Hotel Rethymnon
White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing