We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with brilliant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Palace Luxury Resort
Ranked #11 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at the white palace for 10 days in June. Our room had been newly refurbished. The rooms are nicely decorated, quite minimalist. Our room had a shower in the bedroom which was a little strange but you get used to it!

We stayed all inclusive which I would definitely recommend as there is nothing close to the hotel so you can't go out for drinks at night or lunch without catching the bus or a taxi. The food was nice and there's a good range of drinks on the menu in the all inclusive deal.

A taxi into rethymnon took about 15 minutes and was €12 each way. Rethymnon is definitely worth a visit.

The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. An excellent holiday, I would definitely go back and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 963 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Have just returned from staying at this hotel and have to agree with all the other good reviews on this site. There is absolutely nothing negative that I can say about our stay. The location, room, views, food, staff and hotel in general were all absolutely fantastic. I must single out the food, which, I can honestly say was the best we have experienced in any holiday hotel we have stayed at and we always stay 4* or above. I would definitely recommend paying for the premium plus (all inclusive) as in addition to the usual buffet breakfast and evening meal (if half board) almost everything is included, including bottled water, snacks throughout the day, lovely lunches (either buffet or in the pool side restaurant),one dinner in the fabulous al la carte sea front restaurant, cocktails galore, tea, coffee, and house wine - and its all top quality.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone and might even book it again next year (something we've never considered doing at any other hotel). Book it - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Linda94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Very nice and friendly atmosphere. Really great pools: 3 big pools for public use and lot's of private, long private beach. No crowds at all nor in the pools neither on the beach even when the hotel is totally fool. Really great animation for kids. Shower rooms with a sea-view are just fantastic.

The only minus that not all the rooms are in the perfect state and need repairing. However everything is clear.

Room Tip: rooms with seaview and near the pools will definitely have better wifi, because wifi is for public a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Helena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay. Relaxing but with a good atmosphere. The location is excellent and the sunsets are breath taking. Food is fresh and choice is copious. Trainee Captain Dimitrus, Nikki, Danny from animation and Natasha were top class.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
8  Thank Tommy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

From the moment we arrived at this hotel we were just amazed at how beautiful everything was. We arrived at around midnight but reception staff were waiting for us with flannels to wash with, cold water and snacks. We were taken to our room, no hassle within 15 mins of arriving.

Every morning the staff in the main restaurant were ready to greet you with a smile,and take you to a table-the food every morning was lovely. A great selection, and all very fresh-the fruit served at every mealtime was delicious!! Again, the staff very polite and welcoming, always smiling and asking how your day was. The lunchtime menu was great, again a lot of choice, the salad was always fresh and as we were there during a heat wave this was a bonus :) at dinner time they did a special dish along with the usual foods, my personal favourite the beautiful joint of roast beef!! We visited the sunset lounge bar every evening and I have to say it was the most stunning sunset ever!!

The staff on the beach were absolutely fantastic, if you couldn't find a place to sit beds and umbrellas were set up wherever you wanted them. Frozen flannels were brought down every day to keep you cool,along with bottles of cold water to keep you refreshed. Nothing was too much trouble and it was a the little touches that made this hotel so lovely.

We stayed in one of the older rooms that hadn't been refurbished, however it was absolutely fine, beds were comfortable and always kept so clean.

I hope I am lucky enough to visit this hotel again next year because it really was the most beautiful place I've ever visited - thank you to the whole team at White Palace

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Haylie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were so happy with our stay here. As soon as you arrive the service is perfect, the staff are so attentive and will do anything for you. The setting is idyllic - we avoided the main pool and spent our time at the hotel at the Inifinity pool which is as nice as it looks on the website. We hired a car for 4 days, but every time we wanted a sunbed, whether 9am, 2pm or 5pm when we got back there were always some available. The Infinity pool was so quiet and peaceful. The setting of the dining area was also gorgeous - overlooking the beach and the sea, and the sun sets that side in the evening too so it is a lovely place to sit and have your dinner.
Our board was half board, and I am normally not keen at all on eating in at a hotel in the evenings, I like to walk out for my dinner, but the food, setting and atmosphere was so nice, we only went out 2 evenings in the end. Apparently a lot of the food is organic, and as a veggie there was plenty of choice if anyone is worried about the food, even a fussy eater would find something they like.

The only tips we would give are to pay more for a sea view room if you can afford it. We had a garden view room and were happy with it, but they haven't been refurbished yet to the standard of the rooms shown on the Whitepalace website. They are of a perfectly good standard, you definitely couldn't complain about them, but they are not as nice as the rest of the hotel - wouldn't say they are the same 5star quality. However it's worth overlooking this to stay here as we really enjoyed it. The sea view rooms do look lovely though.

One more thing, don't be fooled in to thinking it is walking distance to Rethymnon as it isn't and Thomson website was a bit misleading with this! You have to get a bus or taxi. We drove and it took at least 20 minutes to get in, but this isn't an issue if you will only venture there a few times. Overall would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Pay more for a sea view room if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Carla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Can the luxuries of a 5-star hotel be combined with a family-like atmosphere? Can you spend a week in a hotel where the pampering is rather endless, at such value for money?
We read the previous reports and after a week there we are glad to have chosen The White Palace for our holidays this year.
The hotel staff is all exceptionally professional and friendly with no exceptions. Upon arrival we were greeted with refreshing drinks and welcomed by Marcos who promptly showed us around and took us to our room. The whole establishment is meticulously clean and well looked after and gives off a positive vibe. The hotel is extremely sun-bathed but yet cooled by its amazing proximity to the private (essentially) beach in front of it and the sea breeze. Complimentary drinks and fruit were waiting for us in the room, which we found to be beautifully simple and elegant. There are plenty of areas to enjoy, from the sandy beach and the decks around the 5 pools to the back gardens of the hotel. The bar staff both in the pool and by the beach attended to our needs beyond imagination. The restaurant Maitre Giorgos Xristoulakis attended to our meals daily and Roussa Fragkiadaki looked after us as if we were her personal guests during our stay. We found the food exceptional in both quality and variety with daily variations. The Premium Plus option is a must and will inevitably make you have very high standards for every other All-inclusive hotel afterwards. We enjoyed the daily events organised by the hotel with live classic music and dance and the Dj parties were also great fun. The hotel has a quality and civilised holiday atmosphere without any unnecessary noise and although it is not only for couples I would recommend it to both couples and families. I will think twice if I do not book again for next year!

Room Tip: Garden view is maybe more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vasileios S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.9 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
2.6 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#14 of 175 in Rethymnon
737 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Aquila Porto Rethymno
Aquila Porto Rethymno
#8 of 175 in Rethymnon
1,227 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
Aquila Rithymna Beach Hotel
#1 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
2,336 reviews
66.5 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Palace Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Palace Luxury Resort

Address: Rethymnon, Crete GR 74100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#7 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $216 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — White Palace Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 333
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Travelocity, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your White Palace Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel El Greco Hotel Platanias
Grecotel El Greco Rethymnon
Grecotel El Greco Hotel Rethymnon
White Palace Luxury Resort Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing