We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rethymnon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marva Apartments-Studios
Ranked #112 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Have just returned from a week staying at the Marva Apartments. First of all i would say be realistic, if you've paid 2 star prices don't expect to get 4 star accommodation. Having said that, i feel i have had very good vale for money. The apartments are small and quite basic with very limited utensils for self-catering. The kitchen consisted of a 2 ring hob and a fridge, no grill or toaster. There was no air conditioning, but for a fee of 10 euros per week a fan could be hired. ( keep this in mind if traveling during the very hot summer months). The bathroom was small and basic, there was a shower tray and a hand held shower head, no shower curtain so each time you had a shower the bathroom floor got soaked, but have to say it did dry off fairly quickly. (there was plenty of hot water for a evening shower,but in the morning brace yourself for a refreshing cool one). Also a bit of advice, don't rely on the towels provided (very rough and quite small) Now for the positive side of this review. The apartments are fabulously located, just a short stroll (5 mins) to the main area of Platanes with many restaurants, bars and shops. The restaurants are reasonably priced, with prices starting from around 6 euros for a main meal, 4 euros for half a litre of house wine and 2 euros for a large beer. The Apartments have a lovely family feel about them, on a daily basis you will always see a family member
around the pool area and garden also the family dog is also in residence. The pool area is very well kept and cleaned on a daily basis. The area is very peaceful and relaxing considering it is only 5 mins walk from the main strip, you won't here any noise from the bars at all. What you will here around dawn or maybe before (the dawn chorus) are cockerels, dogs and the occasional donkey, in my opinion this all adds to the charm of the place. (you might want to take some ear plugs ). All in all we have had a fabulous week in Crete and would certainly return to the Marva Apartments. In my opinion these apartments are best suited to couples who enjoy a peaceful and relaxed setting.

Room Tip: All rooms have a pool/garden/mountain view with free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Suzie1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    23
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
18
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

first day back from holiday, stayed at the Marva Apts , got to say a brilliant place , peaceful and comfortable , husband and I had a lovely holiday , did a bit of wandering , to Chania and Rethymnon, Apartments well looked after by family, lovely pool , no complaints regarding cleaning of rooms , when we go back to the area we will definitely return to the Marva,thanks for a lovely holiday ,

place to eat def Skypark garden restaurant and takeaway, also on the beach a small shack like place called giannis excellent value

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oracleis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have recently returned from a week at Marva staying with my mum. We arrived in the mid afternoon and were met by one of the owners and were shown to our room which was basic (you get what you pay for!) and we were grateful for 2 bottles of water in the fridge.

Whilst the apartments could have been cleaned a little more thoroughly (the bathrooms are wet rooms and are humid therefore there is a mold) they were clean enough and had no cockroach infestations or ant problems like in other places I have stayed!

Overall the apartments were good value and you get what you pay for. It will never be the Ritz and if you want clean sheets and towels daily or something a bit less basic, this may not be the best place to stay. One blessing is that it has free Wi-Fi which is a godsend given the roaming costs.

The only word of warning is the pool... due to the chemicals or whatever is put in the pool to keep it clean (and it is clean) we both found our bikini's were stained a yellow/green colour so maybe keep your new bikini for the beach if you don’t want it stained. I wasn’t that bothered as I took last years and they were due to be demoted when I got home anyway.

The area is very quite (the area is mostly residential) with exception of the neighbours guard dog who seemed to bark for most of the night and with the shops a short stroll away and a Lidl at the end of the road its very convenient and perfect for a very lazy week.

The village has some brilliant restaurants and are a short stroll away. If you love Italian food then Remember is a 20 minute stroll into the next village (Adele), if you want something cheap and easy then Sky Park (opposite an amazing bakery and the happy tour bus stop) and my mum was obsessed with their real home made chips! Myli was also fantastic serving home cooked Cretin food. All the restaurants were amazingly well priced for the quality and service.

We have decided we are going back to the same area next year and for the money we are likely to be back at Marva.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank looklikedeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just got back from 2 wks at Marva apts.Basic clean accommodation.Friendly owners on site fab views quiet location except when the dawn chorus starts!!Easy walk to main strip of Platanias plenty of places to eat and drink make sure you go into Rethymnon old town/harbour as beautiful setting both harbour area and streets of old town.Many of the restaurants there are definitely worth a visit.We took taxis 8 euros each way or an hours walk if youre feeling energetic!If youre after simple quiet location I recommend these apts.

Room Tip: Had one bed apt 13 ground floor most face pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbabe063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

we' ve steyed at marva for 6 days in the end of august... the room was perfect and very clean!!very friendly family aparments!! everything is 5 mins distance restaurants,shops,supermarkets....the swimming pool was lovely and cleaned every day.. thank you marva!! we will definitely see you soon...........

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonidasxidaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We were here at the start of July and to be honest were a little apprehensive about some of the reviews. Yes the insects etc were noisy but it was in a rural setting. Yes it was a bit of a walk in the dark to the main strip but so what, we were on holiday and not doing anything else. The apartments were clean and although the beds were firm they were still comfy. The owners were very friendly and the pool area was lovely. Everything we needed was nearby and the apartments were real value for money. Crete was beautiful, the people friendly, the weather far better than Scotland, the wine tasty and the food delicious. So what it wasn't a 5 star accommodation - we enjoyed every minute. We hired a fan and the safety deposit box for very little money and our only complaint about the extremely loud wedding, which went on until really late nearby, was that we didn't have an invite. They sounded like they were having a ball. Go to the Marva!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went at the last minute and found a good price. worth every penny the owners wre really nice people, the apartments were spotless and things like towels/bedding changed reguarlary. pool was good and clean. very quite around the pool, the beach a short walk and plenty to do of an evenging. Over all an excellent week.

Room Tip: Go for the apartments not the studios
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank THEBOILERMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.4 mi away
Apollon Hotel Apartments
Apollon Hotel Apartments
#51 of 175 in Rethymnon
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marianthi Apartments
Marianthi Apartments
#67 of 175 in Rethymnon
61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Proimos Apartments
Proimos Apartments
#7 of 11 in Gerani
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 mi away
Nontas Hotel - Apartments
Nontas Hotel - Apartments
#6 of 11 in Kato Daratso
170 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mathias
Hotel Mathias
#6 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
31 reviews
37.0 mi away
Panos Beach Hotel
Panos Beach Hotel
#8 of 15 in Platanias
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marva Apartments-Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marva Apartments-Studios

Property: Marva Apartments-Studios
Address: 11 Kidonion St | Platanes, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Marva Apartments-Studios 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marva Apartments is a family run unit located in a peaceful environment in Platanes, Rethymnon. With only 4 km distance from the town center, you can enjoy both the vivid and the relaxing side of Rethymnon. We offer the Cretan hospitality, relaxation and comfort and you have the opportunity to experience your vacation in Rethymnon, a traditional tourist destination from all over the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marva Apartments Rethymnon
Marva Apartments-Studios Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing