We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing week away”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rethymnon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marva Apartments-Studios
Ranked #86 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing week away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have recently returned from a week at Marva staying with my mum. We arrived in the mid afternoon and were met by one of the owners and were shown to our room which was basic (you get what you pay for!) and we were grateful for 2 bottles of water in the fridge.

Whilst the apartments could have been cleaned a little more thoroughly (the bathrooms are wet rooms and are humid therefore there is a mold) they were clean enough and had no cockroach infestations or ant problems like in other places I have stayed!

Overall the apartments were good value and you get what you pay for. It will never be the Ritz and if you want clean sheets and towels daily or something a bit less basic, this may not be the best place to stay. One blessing is that it has free Wi-Fi which is a godsend given the roaming costs.

The only word of warning is the pool... due to the chemicals or whatever is put in the pool to keep it clean (and it is clean) we both found our bikini's were stained a yellow/green colour so maybe keep your new bikini for the beach if you don’t want it stained. I wasn’t that bothered as I took last years and they were due to be demoted when I got home anyway.

The area is very quite (the area is mostly residential) with exception of the neighbours guard dog who seemed to bark for most of the night and with the shops a short stroll away and a Lidl at the end of the road its very convenient and perfect for a very lazy week.

The village has some brilliant restaurants and are a short stroll away. If you love Italian food then Remember is a 20 minute stroll into the next village (Adele), if you want something cheap and easy then Sky Park (opposite an amazing bakery and the happy tour bus stop) and my mum was obsessed with their real home made chips! Myli was also fantastic serving home cooked Cretin food. All the restaurants were amazingly well priced for the quality and service.

We have decided we are going back to the same area next year and for the money we are likely to be back at Marva.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank looklikedeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    23
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just got back from 2 wks at Marva apts.Basic clean accommodation.Friendly owners on site fab views quiet location except when the dawn chorus starts!!Easy walk to main strip of Platanias plenty of places to eat and drink make sure you go into Rethymnon old town/harbour as beautiful setting both harbour area and streets of old town.Many of the restaurants there are definitely worth a visit.We took taxis 8 euros each way or an hours walk if youre feeling energetic!If youre after simple quiet location I recommend these apts.

Room Tip: Had one bed apt 13 ground floor most face pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbabe063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

we' ve steyed at marva for 6 days in the end of august... the room was perfect and very clean!!very friendly family aparments!! everything is 5 mins distance restaurants,shops,supermarkets....the swimming pool was lovely and cleaned every day.. thank you marva!! we will definitely see you soon...........

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonidasxidaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
208 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We were here at the start of July and to be honest were a little apprehensive about some of the reviews. Yes the insects etc were noisy but it was in a rural setting. Yes it was a bit of a walk in the dark to the main strip but so what, we were on holiday and not doing anything else. The apartments were clean and although the beds were firm they were still comfy. The owners were very friendly and the pool area was lovely. Everything we needed was nearby and the apartments were real value for money. Crete was beautiful, the people friendly, the weather far better than Scotland, the wine tasty and the food delicious. So what it wasn't a 5 star accommodation - we enjoyed every minute. We hired a fan and the safety deposit box for very little money and our only complaint about the extremely loud wedding, which went on until really late nearby, was that we didn't have an invite. They sounded like they were having a ball. Go to the Marva!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went at the last minute and found a good price. worth every penny the owners wre really nice people, the apartments were spotless and things like towels/bedding changed reguarlary. pool was good and clean. very quite around the pool, the beach a short walk and plenty to do of an evenging. Over all an excellent week.

Room Tip: Go for the apartments not the studios
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank THEBOILERMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the marva late at night, we were met by Maria who welcomed us warmly and were showed to our room. First thoughts I was very impressed with the presentation and was grateful for the two bottles of water in the fridge. Being late we didnt eat out that night but went on a walk out to the local super markets that were no more than five minutes walk away. We the next day set out to have a look for the beach. Id say thats a good twenty minute walk but a nice one following the signs for the river tavena, who have sunbeds at the beach 5 euros a day, which is the going rate in crete. The taverna sold fresh snacks and were nice people.
Back to the Marva its not 5 star accomadation it would be silly to suggest other wise. I could give the cleaner some tips on cleaning as im a fussy beggar when it comes to wiping surfaces. However being contract cleaners theyre in to do a job and its basics. Towels i simply washed ours and hung them over the balcony to dry. Bedding, as Im clean when I get in bed two changes in two weeks, sufficed.
Mum Maria is very friendly as is Dad whos not the best English speaking but is very fiendly and can be seen daily doing little jobs around the place. Both daughter and son who speak English better than me were on hand if any problems were to arise. We didnt have any problems we found the Marva to be a perfect base for a relaxing two weeks holiday.
The pool is lovely and clean id a few nice swims in it perfect for a cool down. It would have been nice to see the guests interact a little more some looked like they were waiting for a bus in the rain! We did meet some lovely people and a few strange ones (i guess were not all alike) Lovely couple we met from Helsinki! Both keen swimmers. A young couple from Notts and a lovely couple from Huddesfield all three who didnt judge people on looks! We also met two lovely lasses from Brum who told us theyre doing Benidorm at Christmas both in their 70s loving travel and meeting Gradely folk
Taxis into Rethimon are around 10 euros each way the bus is much cheaper but it rather like getting a bus in India minus the roof rack. "They pack em in ...... We did it once lol never again taxi for me thanks!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dereck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We' ve stayed at Marva for 2 weeks in early August. Our room was an apartment, downstairs and it was perfect. Very clean and spacious. The family was great, very friendly and willing to help you with everything. Shops, restaurants, tabernas, supermarkets are within walking distance 3-5 mins.
Had a wonderful time, we are definately returning next season. Thank you Marva family!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.1 mi away
Eveline Apartments
Eveline Apartments
#5 of 20 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marianthi Apartments
Marianthi Apartments
#70 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mantenia
Hotel Mantenia
#3 of 20 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Julia Apartments
Julia Apartments
#36 of 55 in Platanias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ermis Apartments
Ermis Apartments
#5 of 10 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mary Hotel - Apartments
Mary Hotel - Apartments
#2 of 10 in Platanias
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marva Apartments-Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marva Apartments-Studios

Property: Marva Apartments-Studios
Address: 11 Kidonion St | Platanes, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Marva Apartments-Studios 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marva Apartments is a family run unit located in a peaceful environment in Platanes, Rethymnon. With only 4 km distance from the town center, you can enjoy both the vivid and the relaxing side of Rethymnon. We offer the Cretan hospitality, relaxation and comfort and you have the opportunity to experience your vacation in Rethymnon, a traditional tourist destination from all over the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marva Apartments Rethymnon
Marva Apartments-Studios Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing