We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate accommodation, good location.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rethymnon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marva Apartments-Studios
Ranked #110 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Adequate accommodation, good location.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Basic accommodation in a very good position near to the town/beach/local Lidl/taxi rank.
A bit disappointed with the room, but it was just a base so it was adequate.
The beds were rock hard and felt crippled the next morning.
The bathroom could do with re grouting, (its turned black so looks dirty and off putting) and the dirt cleaning off the top of the door frame.
1 towel each supplied, we arrived on a Thursday and the towel was expected to last until Sunday, we asked for clean towels on the Saturday and there wasn't a problem in receiving them early. Sadly no hand towels.
Housekeeping Sunday,Tuesday & Thursday.
The pool was lovely and clean and plenty of sun beds.
Not a place for young children, but good for couples.
A little bit noisy occasionally with the dog barking in the middle of the night.

Ive read lots of nice reviews about this place, maybe we just got unlucky with our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iggle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    23
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We returned home from the Marva apartments yesterday, we felt it was exactly as described and very relaxing which is what we were looking for. I have to say it was such a refreshing change to stay somewhere which was truly family run and very friendly indeed, the family worked very hard every day to maintain the grounds and pool. William was lovely and spoke very good English and we found him very helpful and was happy to provide extra towels when we asked for them. I would definitely recommend this place if you want to chill out and relax as we did. The whole family are very hands on and are constantly working to keep the grounds watered and clean the pool daily. I have to give their dog a mention, his name is Dex, he is 16 years old, nearly blind and hard of hearing but after a couple of days he knew who we were and came with a doggy smile to happily receive his daily treat, we took him a treat daily which we bought from the well placed Lidl store around the corner which was where we bought most of our supplies of essentials such as water, drinks and very useful bags that you fill to make ice cubes. We soon worked out that if you put a couple of water bottles in the freezer compartment of your generously sized fridge you have cool water for most of the day and their is a modest bar on site for basic drinks of water, beer and soft drinks and although Plantanes prices could be pricey the on-site bar though limited was very reasonably priced with a large bottle of beer only 2 euro's and 1 euro for water. It was very hot every day so the clean pool was very well received and we needed to repeatedly have a dip to stay cool. The rooms have everything you need but are basic (no aircon) but are as advertised so we were happy with our upstairs room which had lovely views of the mountains. The cleaning is by contract (not the family) and we came to understand that if you want clean towels you should leave them in the bathroom or they don't get replaced as we had put ours out to dry on the balcony they were not changed but this was our fault so remember to put them in the bathroom if you want clean ones on cleaning days. Cleaning is 3 times per week.
On the day you leave there is a shower room and a place to store cases.
We enjoyed being in such a small and friendly place where the family cared about you and were happy to help and were happy to chat with you.
We had a lovely time and we were very relaxed throughout and enjoyed our daily walk into the main street where there is a wide choice of bars and taverna's and the beach where turtles come to lay there eggs and if your lucky you can see then hatch and return to the sea (apparently the females return to the beach where they were born to lay there eggs) we picked up the Rethymnon Bugle which had a lot of useful info. Rethymnon is a short bus ride away but worth a visit especially on Market day.
We met some great people including the family and would love to return, thank you for a lovely stay and special thanks to mamma Pauline as we called her as she looked like my Mum, papa and William and a big hug for Dex the dog x Happy holidays if you have booked these apartments, ask if you want something as they are happy to help if they can.
Lastly its mainly couples so not many kids (nothing for them to do) which was great for us as we just wanted to chill out.
Nearly forgot they have just added Free WIFI while we were there so a bonus we were not expecting.

Room Tip: I would recommend an upstairs room as the view are lovely and you can leave the doors open all days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalandNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I got home yesterday after staying at the Marva apartments during our holiday. We enjoyed our stay here and I would reccomend it to others. We stayed in one of the studios and it was just right for us with a spacious living room that was seperate to the bathroom and bedroom. We had a balcony overlooking the swimming pool and mountains in the distance. The swimming pool was lovely and cleaned every evening. The garden at the apartment was very pretty and well maintained. It looked just like the pictures we had seen online. The apartments are close to the main strip and a short walk from the beach. The family who run the apartments are lovely and friendly. It was ideal for me and my friend and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My trip to Marva studios was in July 2013, and it was very disappointing. I have absolutely no good references about the place!

First of all, the room was disgusting. The bathroom was dated, worn out and dirty, plus the faucets were dripping constantly, which during some time had caused the tiles to crack and look moldy. There was a filthy rubber carpet on the floor, and just about everything in the bathroom was so nauseating you didn't want to touch anything. The door didn't stay closed and once you forced it locked, it was difficult to open. In the shower it felt like you just got dirtier then what you started with, so the overall feeling was far from refreshed.

The room was quite small, and "decorated" with worn out furniture. There was no room to put the luggage on, although unpacking never even crossed my mind since everything felt so unclean. The kitchen was small and in desperate need of a renovation. The balcony was of a good size, but dirty, located under a stairway and facing a parking lot - and as a cherry on top there were trees next to it with huge spider web nests and spiders at an arms reach. There was a completely see-through curtain in front of the balcony window which was the only coverage there was to the room from the stairway.

The beds were rock-hard, and the pillows were very flat (no extra pillows available). We actually felt sore in the morning because of the uncomfortable beds, it felt like sleeping on a stone literally. Also the noise from the corridor sounded like the people passing were inside your room, so there was very little chance of getting any good rest.

The location was remote, and once it got dark, you had to walk some parts of the way from Platanias in pitch black back to the hotel - didn't feel too secure. There was a Lidl nearby though, but to the beach it was still quite a hike.

The only slightly positive thing was the pool area, which was ok and quiet. If you wanted something from the bar, you first had to wake up the barman, so not much of a service though.

All in all I would not recommend this place, although apparently it has a lot to do with the room you get. Still, such a poor performance what comes to even decent accommodation standards, left me feeling very disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirsi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasileios S, General Manager at Marva Apartments-Studios, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and for coming to our unit (although it was not your choice). Despite the fact that your writings were, in general, really harsh we will consider your opinion and improve for future guests. We always welcome bad reviews. (even really hard ones)
Many of problems you have experienced could be solved but you did not come to us. We are very sociable and friendly people and all of our guests know that. We would do anything to improve your stay. But you never came.
In any case if it was such a nighmare for you could move you to another room if you have asked for it (you never did) or even move you to another hotel. Instead you chose to stay and ruin your holidays in beautiful Crete. Thank you again

PS: We are delighted that you thought that the swimming pool area was just OK...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We chose the Marva based on the pictures online, the fact it was small and family owned and the reviews that said how peaceful it was.
It was exactly like the pictures, the grounds were beautifully kept, the pool was warm and spotlessly clean. The small pool bar was tended by the family; Maria, Vasilis or Mum and Dad who were all exceptionally welcoming and friendly. Dex (the family's dog also likes to say hello and likes you even more if you throw the ball for him. In the bar a half litre of Amstel was 2€ or soft drinks 1€ or 1.50€ if no-one was serving in the bar you could help yourself and leave the money on the shelf.
The apartment we had was spacious, basic but absolutely accommodated all of our needs. It was cleaned 3 times a week and bed linen and towels changed at least once a week. The beds were extremely comfortable. We hired a fan 10€ a week and this was a necessity as it did get warm in the room during the evening.
The bathroom was again basic but functional and typically greek with no shower curtain and a hand held shower head. ( We find this to be the norm in small self catering units).
The kitchen had a good size fridge and a kettle, we didn't use the cooker part as eating out is very cheap. There were plenty of utensils and even mugs for tea and coffee!!
We used the bakery (about 5 minutes walk) to buy breakfast and lunches and it was very good quality and brilliant value. We really loved the dawn chorus as before we opened the curtains we knew we were in Greece, with the donkeys, goats, cockerels all joining together to welcome another sunny day!!!
We were in apartment 12 and like the reviewer from last year who was in this apartment I too truly did not want to leave.
We found the Marva a perfect base for a truly memorable holiday, thank you, we will return.

Room Tip: Try for an 1st floor apartment, good views of the pool and mountains and get a fan!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theknightsthatgonee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountsorrel, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed a very nice week at The Marva Apartments. We went on a late booking and star rating reflects the price we paid. We stayed in a studio apartment which was basic but functional with a fridge, hotplate and kettle. There was a separate bathroom with bath and handheld shower, once again this was basic but functional. The pool area was clean and tidy with sunbeds available at any time. The location is great and is in a quiet residential area but only 5 mins walk from the main street of Platanes where there are plenty of bars and restaurants.
One thing however Hot water is provided by solar panels and tends to be available from about 11am to 8pm. I would recommend the Marva for a quiet relaxing no frills holiday for couples. There are no amenities other than the pool for children.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atlanticfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at the Marva 4-18th June 2013. We enjoyed everything about it especially the lovely clean pool which we swam in everyday. The owners were always helpful and very friendly. The apartment was kept clean and towels and sheets changed regularly. Platanes is in a good position to see the island as we hired a car for a few days and we found some really lovely places . We will definitely visit the Marva again and recommend it to all our friends and family .

Room Tip: first floor apartments great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micknriaclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.4 mi away
Apollon Hotel Apartments
Apollon Hotel Apartments
#51 of 175 in Rethymnon
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eveline Apartments
Eveline Apartments
#6 of 21 in Platanias
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marianthi Apartments
Marianthi Apartments
#68 of 175 in Rethymnon
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mantenia
Hotel Mantenia
#3 of 21 in Platanias
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Julia Apartments
Julia Apartments
#22 of 110 in Rethymnon
68 reviews
35.0 mi away
Ekavi Apartments
Ekavi Apartments
#34 of 41 in Agia Marina
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marva Apartments-Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marva Apartments-Studios

Property: Marva Apartments-Studios
Address: 11 Kidonion St | Platanes, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Marva Apartments-Studios 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marva Apartments is a family run unit located in a peaceful environment in Platanes, Rethymnon. With only 4 km distance from the town center, you can enjoy both the vivid and the relaxing side of Rethymnon. We offer the Cretan hospitality, relaxation and comfort and you have the opportunity to experience your vacation in Rethymnon, a traditional tourist destination from all over the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marva Apartments Rethymnon
Marva Apartments-Studios Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing