We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marva Apartments-Studios
Nearby Hotels
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aquila Porto Rethymno(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pepi Boutique Hotel(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$162
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$351
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$162
$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments(Rethymnon)(Great Value!)
$154
$140
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$406
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
45
24
12
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
24
12
4
5
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 90 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked the Marva apartments as a last minute deal, and didn't really expect much from it, as the pictures and description didn't look encouraging! BUT we had a wonderful time here. The apartments are quiet, clean and well equipped. We had a one bed apartment overlooking the pool. Our daughter had a sofa bed in the living area - which was comfy. There was no air conditioning, but we hired fans from the owner, which worked really well - I'm not sure I don't prefer them to air-conditioning... Kitchen was well equipped. Good fridge and two ring cooker. The pool was a good size. Nice gardens. There is a little 'bar' where the family sells beers and cokes, but does not stay open late, so no noise! The whole place is very quiet. Platanes is a nice little town, and there is a fab local bakery quite near the apartments, just in the town centre. There is a taxi rank here too, and bus stops into Rethymnon.The great thing about this place is there is a great Lidl's supermarket at the end of the road (about 100m), which sells just about everything at reasonable prices. There is a 'little train' - road train with various trips - well worth it - especially the one that goes right up into the hils to a monastry. Rethymnon town is a great place to explore, with both an 'old town'with cobbled streets, and lovely little tavernas hidden away and markets; and a new side with modern shops etc. There is also a very useful large balcony space with seating for those with late flights - and a shower room (keep your towels on the last day to use here). You can leave your cases in the reception area if you wish. The beach is lovely with well ordered bed chairs and brollies at a reasonable price. BUT I didn't like swimming in the sea here - it is steeply shelving with rough sand/corse shingle and some large stones in the shallow water. You can be out of your depth in just a few steps. The sea can be really rough too - one day we weren't allowed to swim at all - it was too wild. Not really suitable for little ones to potter in the shallows! The sea was not clear either, and snorkelling was no fun, what with poor visibility and large waves. Luckily, the pool in the Marva was lovely, and had plenty of bedchairs and brollies. All in all we had a great holiday...shame about the sea!

Room Tip: Apartmets overlook the pool. The studios are separate in another block, some overlook the gardens, some have a pool view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Magicratgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We arrived at these apartments quite late at night and was a little worried as it was set back from the main road and the coach had to reverse down, however when we were been shown to our appartment we could not have been happier as they are so welcoming, we were met by young Versilles who carried our cases up the steps and into our room, and what we thought was a bad thing to start with turned out to be the best thing because the area was so quiet and relaxing and we could escape the hustle and bustle of the town but was only a 5 minute walk from the main strip. The rooms are quite typically Greek and very clean, the rooms were cleaned and bedding changed every other day, the pool area is very clean and well kept, there are alot of bugs in Crete but Georgia and old Versilles (owners) were always out with the net getting any stray bugs out of the pool. The pool bar is very cheap ( you could get a large bottle of Amstel for 1.50 euros) and there is usually always someone around to get you a drink, if not you can help yourself and leave the money on the bar and Maria will sort it when she gets back from work (usually around 4 lol) The family own a dog called Dex which i knew some guests did not like but he is lovely, he is kept away from public areas and does not make any noise, i played with him most days and he was so adorable, they also have a kitten called Lycurgus who was very amusing and so playful. The best place we found to eat was skyparks, the food is so delicious and very reasonably priced - we got a half litre of wine, 2 main courses and dessert for around 20 euros and yugos is brilliant! Would recommed using the train booth on the corner for excursions as we used them twice and were not disappointed, the all day bus excusion from them is a must as it takes you into the little villages in the mountains and it is an eight person minibus so it was alot more intimate and we learned so much about Cretian culture. Another place not to miss is Kournas Lake it is spectacular and if you go to it from the village above the view is incredible. The only grumble we had all holiday was one of the trips we went on took us to Georgopolis which not to soud snooty but its dreadful, the beach (if you can call it a beach) is horribly over crowded and the bar/resturants we found were more expensive and try to add things on for example they brought us bread we had not ordered with our salads and a glass of water with our coffee and charged us for both!! however this was only 3 hours out of our holiday so soon forgot about it once we were back in Platanias, All in all we had a fantastic time and could not have asked for anything more from our rep Leanne (who was awesome!!) or the family who own the apartments. Will definately be returning here again next year.

I have had to select this was a family trip but it was myself and my mum aged 25 and 51 and wouldn't really recommed young children as there wouldn't be much for them to do lol.

Room Tip: We stayed in apatment 9 which was fantasic but i imagine all rooms are the same.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pedro5058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

we are just back from a wonderful holiday in cretewhere we stayed at marva apartments
the family run place was so laid back we thought we had hired our own villa lol
sunbeds avail every morn in aug pool empty enough to relax in or swim in as well
also rooms were clean and tidy although we hired a fan for 10 euros as they were warm whitch did the trick
close to lidl app 100 yards away as well which is very cheap for food we saved a fortune on diet coke alone!
bus takes you into the main town from the bottom of the street for 1 euro 20 cents each way
we are going back asap

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jimsteele_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

A lovely family run property close to the centre of the resort of Platanes some 4-5km from the old town of Rethminon.
Rooms are very clean with seperate living area and bedroom. Furniture of the greek style but one of the better apartments we've stayed in on visits to greek islands.
I never had a problem with mosquitos and we've just come back from the temperature bordering on the 40's when we had to leave patio doors open all day and night. Got bitten twice out in resort but I didnt see a biting critter in my room or wake to any bites.
Nice pool area with a view across to the mountains in the distance makes your time on the balcony very relaxing though there are studios to the side that just look out on to a side street.
Recommended and for the price was above and beyond what you would expect.

Room Tip: Try and get a 1st floor balcony facing the pool for best views though theres a possible price to pay if that if its hot there's no air con and your 1st floor room might get hotter than a ground floor
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jibsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

OK, the studios are a bit basic; nonetheless very clean, and adequately equipped - just. The pool and garden surrounds are peacefully excellent. Imagine, rubber lined pool; concussion after racing turns now finished with. The family management team are good value; so is their minimalist bar. Stress minimalist.
Tour operators say nothing about mosquitos. Take repellent; buy Baygon sprays, rent the fan @ Euro 10/wk.
Self catering shopping is Platanes is good; eating out OK, however the 'village' does not have a whole lot in its favour. Rethymnon worth a day by local bus @ Euro 1.20 pp single.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews