We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whaddya expect?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rethymnon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marva Apartments-Studios
Ranked #114 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Reviewed July 9, 2012

OK, the studios are a bit basic; nonetheless very clean, and adequately equipped - just. The pool and garden surrounds are peacefully excellent. Imagine, rubber lined pool; concussion after racing turns now finished with. The family management team are good value; so is their minimalist bar. Stress minimalist.
Tour operators say nothing about mosquitos. Take repellent; buy Baygon sprays, rent the fan @ Euro 10/wk.
Self catering shopping is Platanes is good; eating out OK, however the 'village' does not have a whole lot in its favour. Rethymnon worth a day by local bus @ Euro 1.20 pp single.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 89 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2012

The Marva studios are situated on the edge of Platanes in a quiet area, but close to lots of tavernas and shops, and only 5 mins to the beach. Lidl is about 100 metres away and the local bakery is about a 3 minute walk away. The bakery has lots of delicious things at very reasonable prices! Although there is a main road nearby this was not a problem. It takes about 50mins to walk into Rethymnon harbour/old town but there is a regular bus service. A taxi costs 8 euros.

The studios are typical traditional Greek accomodation- clean and with all the basics, including a well equipped kitchenette with kettle. All the rooms have small balconies that overlook the lovely pool area and beautifully kept gardens. The sun stays around the pool from morning until evening and there are plenty of loungers and umbrellas for everyone so no need to reserve a place!!! The family that own the hotel are lovely and are very helpful -just ask if you need anything. Mum Georgia (the boss) is around most of the time and enjoys doing her tapestry, Dad Vagelis (a retired Maths teacher!) is always busy doing the gardening, maintenance etc. Son Vassilius pops in on his moped regularly to sort out the swimmimg pool and act as a translator for his mother! and beautiful Maria pops in after work to talk to guests and help out with jobs.

This accommodation is really good value for money, pretty, well kept, and in an excellent location.

Thanks to all the family for making our stay so memorable!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yorkshirecarolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

we stayed at the marva in the studio apartments, 1st week in june 2012.the rooms are very clean, nicely decorated with all the things you need to self cater, along with a lidl shop on the doorstep. it was a few minutes walk to the main strip where all the bars and restaurants are, whilst being very quiet in the evening for a good nights sleep,A 10 minute walk to the beach where a sandy beach awaits but you do need swim footwear at the waters edge due to it being pebbles to enter the sea,but once in it was beautifull with a cooling breeze which was very welcoming.A word of warning, have your evening meals on the main strip before you plan to go to rethymnon in the evening to walk round the shops, we had a meal in rethymnon and was charged 32 euros and it was the worse we had while we were there, could have had the same meal on the main strip for half the price.Apart from that the greek people are a credit to their country and the marva apartments should be re-named the marva-lous apartments, many thanks to the wonderful family who own them, we be back soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank howard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

My boyfriend and i just arrived back home from our holidays in Rethymnon! We stayed at the Marva Apartments and we really enjoyed our stay there! The apartments are lovely and the swimming pool a place to relax, sunbath all day long and perfect to have a nice nap under the lovely sun of Crete!!! The gardens are awesome, a place like paradise! The apartments are situated in the countryside, away from the busy part of Platanes.. Although the highway is close, you can hardly hear the noise. The apartments are clean and cosy and our balcony with the pool view is a perfect place to spend the night with wine under the stars. It was really romantic!!! Rethymnon is a nice town, with a picturesque harbour and old town that we walked twice and is only 5 km away from Platanes. We will definitely try to book again in August or September and go back there!! Thank you Marva!!

Room Tip: try the high floor rooms, there is a nice terrace that you can take your breakfast!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

I've been there last year with my wife and last week I booked again an apartment for this August. MARVA Apartments offer the oppurtunity to spend some days of relaxation and comfort, lying around the pool and gardens or taking a walk in Platanes. The family who runs the place are very friendly and happy to assist you with every problem you might have. The rooms offer the basic equipment but is far enough for cooking main dishes for breakfast or dinner. The maid comes twice a week and does a really good job actually. Our room was spotless after the cleaning despite the fact that she didn't change our towels. She might have forgotten to do so and eventually there were changed after telling Vasilis, the owners son.
There are plenty of choices in the area of Platanes to eat quality food or have a drink. If you are not happy you can take the bus (every 15 mins) and head straight to Rethymnon Town. I t only takes 10 minutes and you can spend the day walking at the endless beach, the shops, restaurants etc.
To sum up, we've loved the place and booked again for this year. 14 days of sun and relaxations is what we need each year. See you in a few months MARVA!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor apartment if you appreciate a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Where to start... well if I say we managed one night before we swifty departed the whole area you might get the idea. Firstly the apartments - well we were in the studios which i think were much inferior to the apartments. Noisy right next to the road, old equipment, dirty walls covered with squashed mosquitoes, and really really needed painting. There was no hot water at all, and when we asked a neighbouring studio-dweller they laughed saying they thought the vaguely tepid water was the hottest it got. The beds were old, but the worst thing was the linen - the Dad keeps the clean linen in his garage which is full of paint, solvents etc, so your bed ABSOLUTELY STINKS of solvents and makes your skin itch. He also keeps the garage door open at all times so there is a constant smell of solvents wherever you are, especially if your room is close by. The pool - there is no shower so i guess people go in with sun cream still on etc, so it was murky and had a greasy film on the top. There is a 'goldfish pond' where the poor creatures wade their way through green slime trying to avoid the wild cats' paws and competing with mosquito larvae. The poor family dog is tied up outside and pretty much ignored, and this was very sad as it seemed like a very sweet dog. Aside from this, the family really wanted to help, as did the Thomson rep, and there were a couple of things that were nice about the place (see other reviews) some of which i don't dispute. Other people we asked had had a lovely time, but really I just think our standards for a nice place to stay are far from theirs. The area - busy, touristy, lots and lots of cars. It's really just a road with tavernas and shops on either side, some of which are good and some of which are rip-offs. We fled to quieter areas of Crete in the south, where the weather was better, the accomodation was much nicer and the whole experience was much more pleasant and like the Greece we know and love.

Room Tip: don't go in the studios, choose an apartment near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cillablack21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Marva in Rethymnon thoroughly chilled out. The views are great, the pool area is very clean and there is loads of room to relax the gardens are lovely. Vasillis gave us a warm welcome even though it was pretty late and although we didn't need any help we knew it was there. These apartments are in a lovely quiet area but only 5 mins walk from the tavernas and shops.

The drop off point does not inspire confidence but once you get round the corner and see the apartments you can breathe a sigh of relief. It is important to remember that this is a budget priced accommodation so the cooking equipment is basic, but the apartment is clean and spacious, only criticism is that they don't provide hand towels and the towels are not changed all week.

Regardless of this the Marva is fantastic and if we return to this part of Crete we would happily go back. Don't be put off by negative reviews give this lovely little place a go!

Room Tip: Balcony pool views are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgwidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.1 mi away
Eveline Apartments
Eveline Apartments
#6 of 21 in Platanias
174 reviews
38.3 mi away
Proimos Apartments
Proimos Apartments
#7 of 11 in Gerani
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marianthi Apartments
Marianthi Apartments
#64 of 175 in Rethymnon
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mantenia
Hotel Mantenia
#3 of 21 in Platanias
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creta Residence
Creta Residence
#17 of 21 in Platanias
111 reviews
32.5 mi away
Nontas Hotel - Apartments
Nontas Hotel - Apartments
#7 of 11 in Kato Daratso
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marva Apartments-Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marva Apartments-Studios

Address: 11 Kidonion St | Platanes, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $29 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Marva Apartments-Studios 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marva Apartments is a family run unit located in a peaceful environment in Platanes, Rethymnon. With only 4 km distance from the town center, you can enjoy both the vivid and the relaxing side of Rethymnon. We offer the Cretan hospitality, relaxation and comfort and you have the opportunity to experience your vacation in Rethymnon, a traditional tourist destination from all over the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marva Apartments Rethymnon
Marva Apartments-Studios Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing