We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$38
View deal
Expedia.com
Booking.com
$38
View deal
Priceline$38
eDreams$38
Trip.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
49
21
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
49
21
6
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 77 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just returned from a 10 day stay at the Marianthi which was superb. Maria and her family (Mama was a star!) looked after us without being intrusive. The season was not in full swing and the eight rooms were not fully occupied so the bar was not open BUT!!! we were allowed to 'help yourself' and make a note to pay Maria later. The room was immaculately maintained and towels were changed regularly and even allowed to use them around the pool. If you hire a car it is an ideal village to reach much of the island and no problem parking. There were no complaints regarding the apartments but as we did not have access to a car the local bus service was a bit hit or miss and to get aboard was an achievement and to get a seat a minor miracle. Taxis were reasonable especially if two couples shared. Rethymnon old town was an interesting visit with a range of products from typical tourist to good quality. If you want a taste of genuine Greek Cooking visit Stella's Kitchen in the Old Town. A Lidl store close to the apartments ensured a real good holiday made affordable. Beaches are within 10-15 mins stroll.
A return visit to this 'home from home' is definitely on our agenda as Maria,her family and every Cretan we met, showed us the utmost kindness and brought new meaning to the phrase 'Laid back'

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Our second visit and even more of a warm welcome from Roussa, Maria and family. The apartments look lovely this year with the welcome addition of hair dryers, new bedding and lovely fluffy towels. You are not so much a guest here as a member of the family....we just love it!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twosmiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Maria and her family runs this small hotel. They made use feel very good and did everything too help us to have a nice stay. Breakfast was placed in the refrigerator in the evening or served in the garden after request.
As the map tells Marianthi is placed between two roads so there is noise from the traffic. But if you are looking for a clean, friendly hotel outside Rethymno - we absolutely recommend Marianthi
:-) :-) :-)

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forthjort
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Wow! What a little gem we have found. Can't explain this lovely place tucked away on the outskirts. They say small is beautiful. It certainly is. Will be back...that's a promise!!!we found this quite by accident and thought that previous reviews may be a bit over the top but it couldn't be further from the truth and judging by the fact that people have been returning here for years, I believe that says it all!

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twosmiffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Really enjoyed staying here. Very relaxed and friendly. No holiday reps either, which is a bonus. The apartment we had was spacious with a kitchen diner and a large balcony. We were very much left to ourselves but Maria and Nikos were always on hand if needed and very welcoming and a lovely couple. They made us feel really welcome.

Lovely pool which is the prefect place to cool down from the baking hot sun. The beach is literally a 5 minute walk away and the small town just down the road has everything you need if you are self catering. Great location for transport too.

We arrived at 03.00 in the morning, the coach dropped us off a dark alley way and pointed to walk down the road, bit unsure, but keep walking until you see the lights and the swimming pool, you will not be disappointed. There was a note on the door, telling us what room, and water in the fridge, and what time breakfast was, so really laid back, and was given loads of breakfast most they have grown themselves or from their chickens.

It seemed a family run place, but don't expect 5 star treatment, but then this is what we wanted, so fitted our expectations. The area felt very safe and no problem walking around late night.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bacall00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews