We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, tasty, sea view and character of an owner”
Review of En Plo Rethimno

En Plo Rethimno
Ranked #50 of 376 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: En Plo ..... A Journey of Flavours En Plo, is one of the best restaurants in the Rethymnon area, located 100 meters from the old harbor, under the castle, Fortezza. Facing North-West you can enjoy memorable sunsets while enjoying your dinner with a glass of chilled wine and a delicious meal or drink a glass of Ouzo with traditional Greek meze right next to the sea front. We use only fresh Cretan products for our cooking and our chef promises a unique gastronomic experience. A large variety of selected Greek wines will also help you get into the holiday mood and the laid-back Greek way of living. We are open all year-round and look forward to seeing you. Manos Vinichakis Manager
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Lovely fresh sea food, seasoned to perfection with fresh herbs, top house wines, sea views and tastefully done in beachy style. Would defo recommend En Plo salad. Character of an owner with great banter..couldn't ask for more :)

Thank hikeandbike-gsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 337 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

Chose this restaurant because we wanted fish. Decor lovely and very clean. Very pleasant girl served us and was quite attentive. Unfortunately the food let them down. Our fish platter consisted of a mixture of fish, a dessert spoon size of rice and three slices of vegetable. The fish was decimated. My partner did not recognize he was eating salmon as it had the consistency of a crispbread. The one sliced potato we had was raw. I complained about this but was met by a shrug by the waitress who was not sure what the problem was.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Misheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiMyPlace, Manager at En Plo Rethimno, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your review, it is helpfull to point out our mistakes.
Our policy is, if a customer is not happy for the meal we offer, to take it back and replace it, or not charge for it at all. I wish you had done this. At least we would be able to make it right.
Thanks once more for your review and hope to see you again.
Dimitris Petrakis
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is definitely one of the better quality restaurants in Rethymnon and should definitely be much hight in the TA rankings. The interior is cool and fresh and the setting is just lovely. The menu specialises in fish and I ended up having the most delicious tuna encrusted in sesame seeds. Good value, efficient service and great food make this one of the best restaurants in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank declanjhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We looked at many restaurants in Rethymnon, before settling on this restaurant as recommended in TripAdvisor. Its calm exterior and location on the hill above the port was a far cry from the bustle of the port area. Frankly we were put off the restaurants in the port by the rather aggressive tactics of the "front of house" -- pulling you in, telling you how good they were and how other restaurants were "cheats"!
At En Plo everything was much more measured and calm. The fare was a little more interesting than some of the basic Greek meals we had enjoyed elsewhere, was good and the price was reasonable, including the wine. and overlooking the bay from half way up the hill meant the location was also good.
Staff were generally helpful and efficient, save that when it came to pay the bill, when despite the signage for Cardlink clearly referring to Amex, when presenting my Amex card, it was not accepted, and, suddenly, the English of the waitress faltered when I pointed out the sign referring to Amex. Luckily I had other means of payment. A pity at the end of the meal.
But it is worth a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank AKW5457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Amazing place to have your lunch/dinner! The most fresh seafood, and you can smell the sea right next to you! The owner goes fishing every night so the fish is always fresh and incredibly delicious :)

Thank Daria-nutella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed En Plo Rethimno also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to En Plo Rethimno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing