We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, helpfull personel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2014

I booked the hotel over my travel agent and it was as he had descreibed. New buildings, homy and quiet. My family and i had a great time. We did a lot of sight seeing and we had a very good time a the private pool.
The private pool was great for my 4 year old son who enjoyed it the most!
Breakfast was more than good and so were meals, as used everywere in Crete.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 744 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 10 days. The view was amazing, our room was clean and spacious, the staff so helpful and accommodating. Fabulous pool with stunning views and excellent food! They truly made our stay memorable. We left with a promise to return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ReniaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We booked this place through a timeshare exchange with Interval International. We have been timeshare owners for over 20 years and we can honestly say that this was our worst experience. First, the room: It reeked of tobacco and we were unable to air it out because there were no screens and too many very loud flying insects outside. Also, the floorboards were warped. We asked for another room but were told there were none available. There was no coffee pot as stated on the resort accommodations list (a water kettle was eventually provided after we complained). In fact, there were many things listed on the resort accommodations that were not available: CD player, BBQ facilities, laundry facilities, dry cleaning service, table tennis/ping pong, bicycles, room service.

Secondly, the staff were either unhelpful or downright hostile. There were two main people that we dealt with: Miss “I’m sorry” and Mr. “Eye roll.” It seemed that whatever we requested, we received one of these responses. We eventually gave up and took care of our needs by going into town. The only food available at the resort was a buffet. We were told that since we were timeshare customers we would have to pay for the buffets. Apparently other guests had an all-inclusive plan. We tried it one night…not very exciting. We preferred eating out in town after that rather than having the same buffet meal every day.

Finally, this resort is in an isolated area and you will definitely need a car to get anyplace.

We would not recommend this place. Caveat emptor!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank fozzyb1292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I would have to agree with another review which said there were some finishing touches missing in this hotel. Liked the concept of the village feel but our room had 2 dining room chairs in the sitting room with the TV rather than a sofa and there were some finishing touches in the room which were not well done. The pool and views were delightful and a good end to each day. The staff was very nice and helpful to us, the bartender was especially friendly. We did rent a car to explore but enjoyed the hotel beach and the shuttle was dependable. For a buffet I thought the food was very good and although there was a set schedule it didn't bother us. The bed was comfortable and we had entertainment one night out on the patio which was a nice treat. We had a long journey & needed to relax and we were not disappointed. All and all a good time!

Room Tip: if you have difficulty walking up hill get a room closer to reception as this hotel is built on a cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank priscilla s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

If you want to be relaxed at an affordable but aesthetic experience, choose this hotel! They have excellent accommodation and friendly staff that can make you feel at home (like your home away from home).

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maegan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were very disappointed in our visit. We were booked here through a timeshare exchange through II. Additionally, my husband book an additional day on the front end of our stay due to the fact our cruise ended a day before we could check in. He had emailed an assistant manager earlier this year to arrange our extra day hoping to not have to change rooms. We had an email from the assistant manager with the date and rate. When we arrived, they did not have our reservation and nor did they have a room available at the rate we were quoted. They refused to honor the email we had from the assistant manager saying that he no longer worked there. They did have a two-bedroom villa that they said we could have for 140 euros more than our quoted price. Since we were in the middle of nowhere, we had little choice but to take it. We were not happy and asked to speak to the manager, but he was not in and they said he would get back to us, which never happened, but I’ll get back to that later.

Now you would think that at 250 euros it would be great, well it wasn’t. Yes, it did have it’s own pool, which was nice, however; that is about as far as it goes. First, the two level villa was at the far end of the resort with steep inclines. Second, there were no curtains on the first floor-everyone can see right in. Third, the air conditioning on the first floor did not work very well. Fourth, there were nails in the wall where pictures were missing. Fifth, were was a nice dining table with chairs, plates, silverware but no where to wash use items unless you took them upstairs to the bathroom. Sixth, the staircase was tile and there were no handrails. Seventh, I fell part way down the stairs because the light switch to illuminate the stairway was a reach beyond the top step. Luckily, the stairs turned and I hit the wall instead of going all the way down. Eight, the bedroom had a nice balcony but no chairs. Ninth, the second bedroom had no bed in it. Tenth, the bathroom sink has no counter space, just shelving under it. Eleventh, the internet was awful. Finally, they did not have basics such as tissues or washcloths.

The next day, we were moved to our one bedroom unit. I had requested our unit to be near reception because we had a very early morning pick up when we were leaving and they did honor my request. Our room was a first floor unit. I’ll start with the positives.
We had curtains, it was clean, the bed was comfortable, there were many outlets, there was a balcony with two chairs and a table in the front and there was a fridge in the unit. Cons: the internet was awful, the pillows were hard, no wash cloths, no tissues, water was not working one night after dinner, hot water ran out in the am, the sink had no counter space, the sink did not drain well, the glass in the bathroom was filthy, and the back patio had no chairs. The worst thing was, there was no sofa in the living room, just two dining room chairs and that is were the TV was located. The only comfortable place to sit inside was on the bed. Some days they just made the bed and removed the trash, on other days they did straighten up the bathroom. Near the end of our stay, we returned to find a new very large counter top toaster/convention oven (not a microwave) with two hot plates on top of it. We have no idea what that is about.

The restaurant was pretty good, however; it is only open certain hours, and it is a buffet for all meals. They had a variety of food for each meal, some of which were staples and some of which changed each day. They did sign the hot items, but the other items such has dressing, jams, condiments, etc. were not signed and since many looked like the one next to it, you were not sure what they were. The staff in the restaurant was very nice. I did find out they charged different prices for the meals depending on if you booked the rooms as a hotel or if you were there as a timeshare-2 euros different per meal per person.

You really need a car if you want to go anywhere-there is nothing within a walking distance. They do shuttle you to the beach-they use a car that holds 4 other people besides the driver. They make the trips every hour from 10 am to 7 pm except between 1 and 4pm when they do not run the “shuttle”. The beach is okay. There are lots of rocks in the water and lots of seaweed. The chairs are fine and the view is beautiful. The beach is part of another hotel they own, so there is a restaurant to buy lunch and a pool.

The pool at the resort itself was nice. I was surprised that it was salt water. It is lit up beautifully at night.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped.

The spa was nice, but I did not use it because of the issues we had on the first day with check in-they already had an extra 140 euro of our money, I did not want to give them more.

Now back to the issues with the initial check in. My husband went to the general manager since the general manager did not contact us as we were told he would. He said knew nothing of the problems we had and he also did nothing to resolve the issue of us having to pay an extra 140 euros. He said he’d get back to us, but never did. In the past, we have had times were a hotel did not have the room that we booked or that a car rental company did not have the car we reserved, but they always upgraded us without charging us more without the blink of an eye. All these people cared about was getting more money from Americans.

I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't go. If you must, get a room closer to the reception or restaurant especially if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank robinmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I went to Rimondi hotel with my husband on August. We booked a double room with a private piscine. In the past, we had visited many hotels around the world and We were so excited for these vacation... But unfortunately it wasn't as we had imagined it. First of all there was no privacy at all in our room. The two main windows next to the door, did not had any curtains ... And of course anyone who wanted could see inside. Second, the piscine had little nasty things from outside and no one came to clean them. Also, I have to say that everyone could see us from our "private" piscine when we were in. Another thing, is that in the night we wanted to light the piscine and ask to the reception some other information to. The result??? There was no telephone device in the room!! Who could imagine that! And of course, in the middle of the night, it was difficult to go to the reception. Our room wasn't near to it. Finally, in the morning we had our breakfast at the restaurant. Thank god we managed to go there at the correct time... Because other customers had to wait in the queue for just to have their breakfast. And of course the reason was just because the restaurant didn't had enough tables for everyone. And one other thing for the breakfast: it had several marmalades but without any labels in front of them. They could imagine that anyone knows what the marmalades were?? And what could happen if someone was allergic in any ingredients of them?? And of course after all these we decided to check out earlier! To much money for nothing!! This hotel is a new builded place but without management for our opinion.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
8  Thank Eleni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
7.4 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
646 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#16 of 175 in Rethymnon
722 reviews
3.1 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#12 of 175 in Rethymnon
952 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kriti Beach Hotel
Kriti Beach Hotel
#24 of 175 in Rethymnon
253 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rethymno Palace
Rethymno Palace
#2 of 15 in Adelianos Kampos
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa

Address: Old National Road Rethymno, Rethymnon, Crete 740 52, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#24 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $100 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful 5 star deluxe hotel is situated on the slopes of an olive tree plantation, overlooking the Cretan Sea, close to the historical Venetian town of Rethymno. High quality service and outstanding hotel facilities makes our hotel the perfect accommodation for you and your family in Crete. Enjoy our Spa, swim in our infinity pool or have a typical Cretan dinner at our restaurant...Experience the real Crete at Rimondi Grand Spa Resort & Hotels, a luxury all-suite boutique hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing