We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“27 Year old Couple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2013

27 year old Couple. We visited the Rimondi Grand between 18th and 25th May 2013. We flew to Chania/Xania/Hania Airport and we were quoted a price of 170 euros for transfers...when we got there.. we saw why..it was quite far from both airports...even if we flew to Herkalion/Iraklion. We instead hired a car from an international rental company for 124 GBP for 7 days.. which worked out cheaper. Driving there on the right side of the road was a bit difficult at first, but got used to it after driving at 30/40kmph everywhere..even on the Motorways. Crete has one main highway along the north coast and it has amazing driving views all along. When we got to Rimondi, we were really impressed, ample parking space for our hire car. Nice seren location locate dup in the Mountains.. not too difficult to find with a European Garmin Sat Nav. We checked in and they gave us a nice fresh fruit cocktail on arrival and the porter carried our luggage form our car to the reception area for us. Then he put it onto a golf buggy, yes a golf buggy and drove us around the winding hilly paths through the hotel complex as close as he could to our Room. Our room was the Standard Room and was very very well kept and extremely clean, couldn't spot a spec of dust in there at all! We had a sofa area with a 26'' LCD TV and a balcony with views over the Mountains and 2 chairs and a table on the balcony too. A lovely comfy suede Sofa was there and the bathroom had some nice smelly mango shower gels! :)
The bedroom was smaller than expected, but the bed was HUGE and really comfortable. The digital safe was easy to use and the Hotel Room felt secure enough to leave inexpensive belongings out. The Hotel restaurant served some good food for Lunch and I had the Buffet dinner one night which was pretty good. The vege choices weren't all that great, but the staff were accomodating and willing to make alternative vege options for my partner. The Breakfast buffet was pretty good too, Antonios was always there smily, chirpy and happy so early in the morning. There was lots of fresh fruit and different foods to try and the breakfast/lunch/dinner hall also had views over the mountains. The only downside of the hotel is that the beach isn't nearer/more accessible from the hotel. We got a parking ticket on our first day when we parked somewhere we shouldn't have. Rimondi Staff, in particular Vicky, were great and helped translate the ticket and assured us all would be ok, she even came outside of her working hours to help us appeal the ticket on the grounds that we were visitors to Greece. That is definitely Rimondi Staff going THE EXTRA MILE FOR US!!! We got a 40 euro fine as the authority didn't let us off so easily, but it didn't ruin our stay. The hotel is a 15-20 minute drive from Rethmynon which has a lovely beach (Ikarus) and had many outdoor bars/eateries and shopping! We drove to Heraklion one day and toured the town there too which was very nice. Rimondi is a great hotel to stay at, clean, great staff and the only downside is that the beach isn't more accesible and that the spa facilities aren't included for guests to use included in the price of the Hotel. Otherwise, I'd highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stick with the Standard Room, they're all amazing and the private swimming pool rooms look nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Traveller1234438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos A, General Manager at Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear Traveller1234438 ,

We would like to thank you for your detailed and constructive feedback. It is a pleasure to read how and why you enjoyed your stay in Crete and at Rimondi Grand. The team was really happy to read that you enjoyed the service received. We are all looking forward to host you soon again and to present you with another fruit cocktail!

Best Regards,
Nikos Asimianakis
General Manager Rimondi Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (772)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 772 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

I agree with some of the previous views in that yes the food was just OK but I thought breakfast was quite adequate but they do need to cover the food from the flies for a four star property this should be standard.

For me the one bedroom suites were of a very high standard and exceptionally clean, the only things that were missing were no iron and board in rooms for me this should be standard for a four star property, no safe as listed in hotel information, no on site shop as listed in hotel information, no room service menus.

The hotel is quite secluded so I would suggest hire a car or hire a driver to take you about. As previous reviewers have stated you can get a cab into Rethymnon, the old town is beautiful and here you will find some great places to eat and proper cocktail bars. There is also the village of Platanis where you will find loads of places and bars if you do not want to go into Rethymnon which is a 15 mins drive and 18Euros each way in taxi.

The hotel bar does not do great cocktails I am sorry to say but hey the beers are good.

Not withstanding what I have said it is a great property, excellent staff in all areas and nothing was too much trouble they really want you to experience Crete and enjoy the hotel.

If you take the free car service to the beach there is a store to buy most things you would like in your fridge and some good Tavernas

I would say if you want a good quality property with peace and quite then this is for you.
Also be aware this property is quite elevated so there are quite a few steps and a steep walk to reception although there is a buggy cart for those who may have accessibility issues.

You must try the Spa which is excellent, great facilities and an indoor pool.

I just maybe think a few of the points I have raised may be just teething problems and as they get more feedback this will improve.

Room Tip: If you do have accessibility issues ask for a room near the bar and restaurant at least you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonGirlcalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos A, General Manager at Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear LondonGirlcalling,

Thank you so much for your detailed feedback and comments. We constantly look for improving our service and such advices are always very welcomed. Your final sentence, “I would say if you want a good quality property with peace and quiet then this is for you”, exactly describes what we want to transmit to our guests. Thank you for putting it on paper, we couldn’t have said it better. We are also pleased to read that you enjoyed the spa service. It is indeed very new and full comfort.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the hotel and I hope to see you again next year on Crete!

Best Regards,

Nikos Asimianakis
General Manager Rimondi Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms, possibly the most comfortable bed/pillow I have slept on in a hotel, and an amazing swimming pool (good length, with a view and stylish).

On a more negative note, the food really was nothing to write home about; the risotto especially was not edible as it was extremely salty. To be fair they did not charge for it after mentioning it.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennisbier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos A, General Manager at Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear dennisbier,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your great review. We are very glad that you appreciated the service offered by the hotel. We are also sorry to read that the restaurant service didn’t meet you expectations. We will work hard to improve this aspect.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rimondi Grand soon.

Best Regards,

Nikos Asimianakis
General Manager Rimondi Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful weeks stay at the Rimondi Grand and have to say this is a truly exceptional hotel! It breaks the mould of routine holiday hotels by combining top quality with an individual and personal service of the highest standards.

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday either as a couple or a family there can be no finer place to stay! The most comfortable beds ever and a beautiful pool and spa, set amongst olive groves with mountain and sea views! What more could one ask for?!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos A, General Manager at Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Lisa P,

We are very honoured to be described as “truly exceptional” ! It is so gratifying for us to read that you and your partner had a great and relaxing holiday at our Hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon!

Best Regards,

Nikos Asimianakis
General Manager Rimondi Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed with my wife and daughter for a week at the beginning of April. Our two bed apartment was spacious and well equipped. The hotel is set out like a small hillside village. Beautifully landscaped. The pool area is lovely with views to the sea and the terrace offers the same and views to the mountains in the other direction. I have to confess the water in the pool was far too cold to tempt me. Ate breakfast every day and had dinner at the hotel twice. Always good but made all the more so by the remarkable staff who made us feel so welcome. The manager went the extra mile setting us up with a space at the local taverna to watch the Manchester derby game and bought us our first drink! Such kindnesses came naturally and made our stay a pleasure. As the resort expands I imagine the facilities will multiply. Early technical glitches such as internet reception were quickly resolved.
Hire a car so you can visit nearby Rethymnon. Enjoy a relaxing holiday in a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRG25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos A, General Manager at Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear DRG25

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay at Rimondi Grand and would like to thank you for posting your kind comments. As you pointed out, hospitality and friendliness comes natural for all the Greek people and we proudly make ourselves ambassadors of this culture.

Once again thank you for posting your review and I, along with all the staff, look forward to welcoming you back to Rimondi Grand in the near future.

Best Regards,

Nikos Asimianakis
General Manager Rimondi Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

As a family of 3 we stayed for 4 nights at the Rimondi just after Easter. It was largely as we expected: smartly presented, very clean + excellent pool area. All staff were very attentive and helpful.
Couple of points feel I should raise -
- the Rimondi is easily missed as you go through Nea Magnisia, it's tucked below the hillside with car parking just off the road.
- despite the resort being open since last August, we felt the hotel was not fully set up for its guests the week we were there - a number of things were not available : eg: no wifi in room till later on in week, no safe (fitted immediately asked after it though) or parasols. Admittedly we were at the start of the season.
- breakfast was not what one would expect for standard of hotel - whilst pleasant, the same was served to us each morning , thus there was no choice, plus bacon + eggs had obviously been cooked a while, coffee was warm at best + bread a little dry! This didn't encourage us to eat in the restaurant for an evening meal - especially as it was quite expensive. However we understand from other guests that meals were OK.
- Definately need a car - did get fed up of trecking to Rethymon in the evening for a meal, but nearer tavernas would be open later in season.
In all - we enjoyed our stay, loved the area + Rethymon.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank sinclaireDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos A, General Manager at Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear sinclaireDerbyshire,

Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review of your stay at Rimondi Grand,

We sincerely apologize if our restaurant service did not manage to meet your expectations. I personally take your remarks up with the staff and will aim to improve your experience.

We keep all good from you feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon!

Best Regards,

Nikos Asimianakis
General Manager Rimondi Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was quite a surprise. The hotel has a cosmopolitan atmosphere. It is spotless and the staff, who treat you like visiting family, work very hard to keep it that way. My room was wonderful space, and lots of it, to move around. Two balcony view to choose from and what views you get. For those with a keen party eye you'll love it. The food is not freezer fresh but daily fresh and cooked how you like it, what a treat. The restaurant staff were very knowledgeable about the local area and very willing to help you plan your day, if needed.
The great thing is that you get the holiday you want without paying a fortune for it. The pictures are not inhanced. What you see there is what you get.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank HelenS7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikos A, General Manager at Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear HelenS7,
Receiving such an enthusiastic review is always a great gratification for us. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you very much for appreciating the quality of the service along with the ambience. We are also glad you pointed out in your review the freshness of the food served. We always try to serve local and fresh products in order to give our clients an authentic Cretan experience. We have already planned for next year to organize guided tours for our clients to the local producers who supply us.
We hope you’ll come back to visit us as soon as possible. Best regards from the whole staff of the Rimondi Grand Hotel.

Best Regards,

Nikos Asimianakis
General Manager Rimondi Grand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
7.4 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
656 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kriti Beach Hotel
Kriti Beach Hotel
#24 of 175 in Rethymnon
254 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#16 of 175 in Rethymnon
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
2.3 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#12 of 175 in Rethymnon
963 reviews
6.5 mi away
Swell Boutique Hotel
Swell Boutique Hotel
#30 of 175 in Rethymnon
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa

Address: Old National Road Rethymno, Rethymnon, Crete 74052, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rethymnon
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Rethymnon
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rethymnon
#24 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: $121 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful 5 star deluxe hotel is situated on the slopes of an olive tree plantation, overlooking the Cretan Sea, close to the historical Venetian town of Rethymno. High quality service and outstanding hotel facilities makes our hotel the perfect accommodation for you and your family in Crete. Enjoy our Spa, swim in our infinity pool or have a typical Cretan dinner at our restaurant...Experience the real Crete at Rimondi Grand Spa Resort & Hotels, a luxury all-suite boutique hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimondi Grand Resort & Spa Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing