We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect hotel for me.”
Review of Fortezza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fortezza Hotel
Ranked #31 of 165 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The perfect hotel for me.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have nothing but praise for Fortezza Hotel. The staff was more than welcoming, the rooms were clean and inviting, the breakfast buffet was plenty and delicious and the location was nothing short of perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    86
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
127
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, quiet, friendly service, good modern rooms that have been recently refurbished, the bathrooms are excellent with plenty of hot water. The air con works well and the shutters, double glazing and curtains provide a very dark, noise free room at night allowing a great sleep.

The breakfast is an excellent continental style selection (do not expect bacon and eggs) with plenty of rolls, toast, pastries, ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, (hotel style) cereal, yoghurt, fruit, jam and marmalade and coffee / tea on tap. Use the cereal milk for your tea as the milk provided near the tea / coffee is very thick and creamy. The fruit juice is more like squash and is either very sweet or watery.

The staff are always very friendly, smile a lot and are helpful... as I found to be the case with most Cretans on my visit.

The pool is plenty big enough for a dip and enclosed so very private with a lovely garden setting. The area is relatively small so it may get a bit crowded at peak times. There are plenty of public areas with a variety of seating and the bar area is very welcoming.

The location of the hotel is excellent, a mere 5 minutes walk from the old fort and even less to the nearest restaurant and shops. It is right in the middle of the old town but offers free parking to those who want to explore by car.

I'd highly recommend this hotel for couples or small groups of all ages, not so sure it would suit families as the pool area is not really suitable for running around and splashing as much as kids like to do.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side provide a much better view but rooms on the street side provide more dingy bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JonnyC93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a 3-Star hotel that we would rate as 4-Star! Location is excellent being in Rethymno Old Town, and adjacent to all essential (and other) services. All staff were courteous and efficient in their respective roles. The outdoor swimming pool and surrounds were maintained in ultra-clean condition. Free WiFi was fast and provided excellent connections throughout the property. A more than adequate buffet breakfast was included in our rate. Umpteen dozen restaurants are mere minutes away. Top quality food and wines, etc are the standard in this town. We are in Week 11 of a 15-week holiday in Europe and would rate Fortezza Hotel in the top 2 that we have stayed in during that time!

Room Tip: Any room at the rear is nice as they overlook the pool and surrounds (we stayed in Room 315)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clubclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I arrived in Rethymno without expectations and I found this hotel to be truly lovely. My room overlooked the pool and there were many common areas in the hotel that were spacious and beautiful. The staff were very helpful and polite and the hotel is located in a perfect position. I highly recommend this hotel. It was reasonably priced as well.

Room Tip: I think you could just ask for a quiet room. Mine faced the pool and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csdakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Cozy, very clean hotel with great, very helpful service. Very nice - but small - rooms (rooms facing the street are a bit noisy). Good breakfast - a buffet-style table. Nice swimming pool with towels. Hotel is situated in the best part of the town - in the heart of Old Town, close to restaurants, bars, harbor & bay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K'asia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Nicely refurbished hotel good location in old town, close to shops and harbour restaurants, pleasant swimming pool. We found the breakfast.disappointing - you have to pay extra for cooked items and fresh orange juice.

Room Tip: Our double bed was really two single beds put together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ombuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Fortezza hotel Rethymno is a really nice hotel in the old town of Rethymno. The upside is that there are a lot of nice restaurants close by. Also you can take some nice walks in the old town. As a small downside the beach is 10-15 minutes walk.
The hotel has been recently renovated. It offers a pool, free wifi and free parking. Especially free parking is a very good value in old Rethymno. The staff was very helpfull and friendly. The breakfast offers some fresh vegetables along with toast and yogurt and some sweets. It has not the biggest variety but everything is fresh.
The rooms are with air condition and have average size. The better rooms are directed to the poolside.
We chose this hotel because we didn't want to be only at the beach and wanted some night life too. For that it was a good fit. If you are more interested in a close beach there are probably better options.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the poolside. It is less noisy and offers a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nilmar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
0.1 mi away
Ideon Hotel
Ideon Hotel
#15 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzino di Corina
Palazzino di Corina
#21 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Achillion Palace
Achillion Palace
#42 of 165 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortezza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortezza Hotel

Property: Fortezza Hotel
Address: 16 Melissinou Ioanni, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#38 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortezza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fortezza is situated in the center of the old town of Rethymno. Its central position on the beautiful island of Crete, allows easy access to its natural beauties. Only 100m from the port and the archeological sites and 300m from the longest sandy beach. Hotel Fortezza is fully renovated in 2011, where someone may taste the world famous Cretan hospitality. It is owned and managed by the family Markos Liodakis since 1989 caring and willing along with the hospitable and well-trained staff, to make your staying as enjoyable as unforgettable. Capacity: 50 rooms and 3 suites, traditionally furnished, air-condition, plasma TV, bathroom hair dryer, bathtub, and telephone. Facilities: swimming pool, restaurant air-conditioned, two bars, snack, TV room playing cards room and table tennis, 24 hour guarded parking with charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fortezza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortezza Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing