We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice renovated hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fortezza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fortezza Hotel
Ranked #30 of 167 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“very nice renovated hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Fortezza hotel Rethymno is a really nice hotel in the old town of Rethymno. The upside is that there are a lot of nice restaurants close by. Also you can take some nice walks in the old town. As a small downside the beach is 10-15 minutes walk.
The hotel has been recently renovated. It offers a pool, free wifi and free parking. Especially free parking is a very good value in old Rethymno. The staff was very helpfull and friendly. The breakfast offers some fresh vegetables along with toast and yogurt and some sweets. It has not the biggest variety but everything is fresh.
The rooms are with air condition and have average size. The better rooms are directed to the poolside.
We chose this hotel because we didn't want to be only at the beach and wanted some night life too. For that it was a good fit. If you are more interested in a close beach there are probably better options.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the poolside. It is less noisy and offers a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nilmar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    85
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
126
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guldborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Four years ago we stayed at this hotel and chose it again this year, mostly because they have a Good location and its own parking. Now it has been renovated into a more appealing and up to date hotel.
All rooms are updated with a Small fridge( with a lot of noise), flat panel TV with a good size, simple furniture( that does not collect dust and look dull). Good location of Aircon, the fan is not blowing on the bed, but the Balcony facing the road is very small. Modern bath, it lacks curtains the whole room will get wet if you take a shower. New and useful closet space, green profile with power saving lights all over the room. Free Wi Fi in the room, however, very variable quality and availability. Average bar and pool, friendly and very service minded staff, Perfect location and it is Super with its own free parking space at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ole_Millarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hotel Fortezza is located in the old part of Rethymnon in a quiet road. It is ideally placed for exploring the old town, fort etc. The old town is a labyrinth of small and even smaller streets, many lined with shops and restaurants and other residential with quaint architecture, doorways, plants etc. Do not confuse with the extended and commercialized hotel strip (10km long) outside the old town.

The hotel is newly refurbished with modern spacious rooms with air conditioning. Always kept clean (although sometimes the supply of shower gel etc was a bit slow). Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool and our son's was over the road but not noisy and had shutters anyway. Safe deposit boxes by reception, free (unless you loose the key!). Staff very friendly and helpful. Plenty of seating areas inside, outside around pool and also outside communal balcony. Friendly drinks service around pool and bar. Breakfast is continental and adequate. Free Wi-fi.

There are so many restaurants in the old town you would need three months to visit them all. Several literally three minutes from the hotel. Range from small friendly places (Taverna Kyria Maria's behind the Rimondi fountain is recommended) to more touristy ones but with genuine Greek cuisine (Symposium is a good one). Also La Boheme, To Pigadi and Melina by the fort. People are all very friendly although always trying to get you into their shops and restaurants but never aggressive. We stayed for 8 days and spent most of the time in Rethymnon, quite comfortable with the old town and the hotel.

So very positive about Hotel Fortezza for friendly and helpful staff, clean and spacious, ideal location. We very much enjoyed our holiday - although central it had a quiet, restful atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great hotel in a wonderful location. It was clean, comfortable and a lot of seating areas to rest. Very spacious, the pool was great and the location was an easy walk away from town and they helped with whatever things you needed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissamos, Greece
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

This hotel is housed in the shell of a former Venetian palace but inside, the rooms are bright and modern. Staff are very helpful and the atttraction for us was the private car park so no walking miles with bags as is the case in many hotels in the old town here. Price was reasonable for a large room with balcony. Has a pool and pleasant bar and price includes buffet breakfast. Will always be our first choice when visiting Rethymnon.

Room Tip: Try for a room with balcony (not all rooms have them) and overlooking the pool if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulK743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We did not book we just turned up. Friendly and helpful staff, offered a choice of room. Hotel car park just across the street. Room was spacious and bathroom a high quality. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool, we had TV and fridge and AC. Everything spotlessly clean. Breakfast was good ( orange juice weak and watery).In an excellent location, we would stay again without hesitation.Lovely pool, great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy22707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

I fell in love with the old town, it is so picturesque, the hotel fortezza is right in the heart of it all. The rooms are a little small and the beds a little hard for the price, but everything was very clean and newly updated, which I appreciated. There was a weird sewer smell coming from the drain in the bathroom, unfortunately that smell is all over old town rethymno, we closed the bathroom door and lit incense. I would stay there again just to be in close proximity to it all. I prefered swimming in front of the golden beach hotel about 20 minutes east of Rethymno.

Room Tip: choose the pool view room for less street noise is what we were told.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nataliastarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Vecchio Exclusive Residence
0.1 mi away
Ideon Hotel
Ideon Hotel
#15 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzino di Corina
Palazzino di Corina
#19 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#5 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Achillion Palace
Achillion Palace
#43 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortezza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortezza Hotel

Property: Fortezza Hotel
Address: 16 Melissinou Ioanni, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
#38 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortezza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fortezza is situated in the center of the old town of Rethymno. Its central position on the beautiful island of Crete, allows easy access to its natural beauties. Only 100m from the port and the archeological sites and 300m from the longest sandy beach. Hotel Fortezza is fully renovated in 2011, where someone may taste the world famous Cretan hospitality. It is owned and managed by the family Markos Liodakis since 1989 caring and willing along with the hospitable and well-trained staff, to make your staying as enjoyable as unforgettable. Capacity: 50 rooms and 3 suites, traditionally furnished, air-condition, plasma TV, bathroom hair dryer, bathtub, and telephone. Facilities: swimming pool, restaurant air-conditioned, two bars, snack, TV room playing cards room and table tennis, 24 hour guarded parking with charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fortezza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortezza Hotel Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing