We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't recommend highly enough!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbara Studios

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Barbara Studios
Ranked #1 of 43 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can't recommend highly enough!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Staying at Barbara Studios was a highlight of our visit to Crete! Beautiful historic Venetian building, brilliantly used as studios around a central courtyard. Panos & Iro are so friendly and helpful, we made full use of their bar and restaurant recommendations which were all great. Their hospitality was also second to none with gorgeous personal touches like complimentary raki, homemade limoncello and homemade baking! Our studio was clean, comfortable and very well equipped for our needs. Our only minor issue was the small shower but this was hardly worth mentioning. The balcony was a true delight which we made full use of.
A definite gem!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    39
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
210
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The owners were SO nice. My friend and I arrived at the Rethymno bus station late at night and had no idea how to get there. One call to the hotel hoping for some helpful information, but the hotel owner actually comes by with his car and picks us up free of charge! We didn't expect that and we really appreciated the gesture as we were tired from the bus trip. The room came equipped with a kitchen. Although no breakfast, there was a few slices of bread, some homemade Greek desserts and even some raki to share! It was also nice that they gave us a map of the area which they pencilled in their preferred must-see places and places to eat. There's also a communal computer available in the hallway that can be used by guests. They were also very nice and kept our bags for us the next day until it was time for us to leave. I don't think you will be disappointed with Barbara Studios.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Suemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I were here for three weeks and it was awesome. You are in the middle of the old town but it is so quiet. Panos and Iro are so sweet and they care about every guest like he is a family member. So we come back HOME next summer!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ellada84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panos K, Διευθυντής at Barbara Studios, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Ellada84,
The title of your wonderful review, perfectly describes our main goal.
Thank you very much for choosing Barbara Studios again. We are looking forward to seeing you again, and chat about the year that has passed. Also, Iro has made some new recipies which you will taste.

Best regards,
Panos and Iro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Sadly had to leave after 10 days in this lovely place. The owners go the extra mile to ensure that their guests feel welcome. A little gift every day of a cake or honey and a drop of Raki have made this place even more special. Highly recommended. Thank you Iro and Panos.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JandBAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neapolis, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Panos & Iro are very helpful and friendly all the time from arrival to departure. Very chatty explaining all there is to see in Rethymnon. I only stayed one night as I was travelling from East to West along the island. If I ever stay in Rethymnon again it will be with at Barbara Studios, that is quite likely as I live in Crete.
I can honestly say that the welcome you get is very Cretan.. so kind, generous and they are fun to be with. You feel as if you have made friends for life.... which is probably true.
The house is situated close to the Fortezza and the port, a perfect place to be for easy sight seeing and local restaurants.

Room Tip: Room no 4.. Twin beds..... opening onto the patio when you can sit, drink coffee and chat to Iro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My friend and I just returned from a 4-night stay at Barbara Studios. Iro and Panos were absolutely fantastic. They made us feel so welcome, helped us sort out our day trips/transportation and provided with so many great recommendations of restaurants, bars, clubs and shopping. It was truly a lovely place to return to each night after a long day of sightseeing. It was like we were at home! Beautiful hotel, room and facilities as well. Very highly recommended for any type of trip. Thanks Iro and Panos !!!!! It was a trip of a lifetime :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vjk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panos K, Manager at Barbara Studios, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your nice words, which I have gladly shared with my family. We are all happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We always do our best to help all our guests find their way easier in our town and propose day trips all over Crete, according to their likings.
We also hope that we meet again real soon.

Panos Kargiolakis
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a really nice place in the centre of Rethymnon. It is a family house managed by Panos and Iro who live in the house, too. We stayed there for an entire week (7 nights) and had a great time. Panos and Iro were really helpful with recommendations as to where to go for day trips and for restaurants. Every day Iro cooked a little specialty of hers that was delicious and that awaited us in the room when we came back from the beach. Although they say there is no breakfast included, they provide butter, jam, crispbread, coffee and tea, so you can totally have breakfast.

I guess the only slightly negative point was the heat at night. We had one of the apartments with loft and private balcony, and because of the way the A/C is setup, it's hard to get fresh in the loft, where the bed is. Panos said they knew and would try to fix it, so this might be solved. But if not, I would recommend getting one of the standard room so that you don't have this problem.

Room Tip: Loft apartments have problems with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigschtroumpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panos K, Διευθυντής at Barbara Studios, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hi "bigschtroumpf" from Switzerland,
We are all very glad that you had such a great time in our family apartments, and we thank you very much for praising Iro's cakes and sweets.
We always try to respect the ancient Greek philosophy of "philoxenia - hospitality", and offer as much as we can, to our guests.
We have seriously considered the matter of the temperature in this specific room, consulted our technicians, and we already changed the air conditioner’s position, and made new adjustments to it, so that it will surely be cool and fresh next summer as all the other rooms are.
We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again to our family house and talk about your travelling experiences.

Best Regards
Panos Kargiolakis
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.1 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 166 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
37.4 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 166 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.6 mi away
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#3 of 166 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbara Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbara Studios

Property: Barbara Studios
Address: 14 Dambergi Str, Rethymnon, Crete 741 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barbara Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family house welcoming travelers from all over the world, respecting the meaning of the Greek word philoxenia.Guests can relax in our studios, in some of them, make their own meal, accompanied with raki, orange juice, bearing in mind that everything that they need to visit is less than 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Barbara Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbara Studios Rethymnon, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing